We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Horizontes Soroa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cayo Levisa(Pinar del Rio Province)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$99
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Palco(Havana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
16
71
85
53
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
71
85
53
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboth nightshamwalkshillcubansbathsparadisebats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were put here as the Mocha eco Lodge was full and we were pleasantly surprised having read some negative reviews. 2 nights in a basic but clean cabin with meals included - dinners were simple but eatable breakfasts better. Large clean swimming pool with good lunch time snacks. Visited orchid gardens - stock depleted but an amazing place to climb up and enjoy the views, then further up to castle in clouds with magnificent views. Next day a guide took us on an interesting 8km walk where we met a family who were reclaiming the Forest and establishing a smallholding. We were at weekend - no trouble with locals.

Room Tip: a spread out site - if you do no want to walk get rooms nearest front desk
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pleinmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a terrific place for birders and other nature lovers. In addition to the hotel's own grounds, which include a stream, there is a lovely botanical garden next door that also provides nice habitat. The setting is beautiful. The rooms are simple but include the basics, including hot water and typically worn-out mattresses and weird long, thin pillows. Not the Ritz, but there is no Ritz in rural Cuba. TRAVEL TIP: If pillows are important to you, pack a roll-up camping pillow because Cuban pillows are just bizarre, even in the fancy city hotels. The restaurant here was okay -- nothing special, nothing awful. We were there during a rare cold snap and froze. There were no extra blankets, and the staff felt our pain. Very nice people. We had laundry done for a very reasonable price. The maids apparently take it home and set their own prices. It's a nice little sideline for them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cynthia010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The first impression of the Villa Soroa hotel was good, nice cottage style rooms surrounding a large swimming pool and shady area. The interior of the room though was awful. Everything is old, paint peeling off the wall, mould and stains etc. The bathroom was very basic without a proper shower head. Worst was the little bugs that ran through the bed, along with the cockroaches that ran over the floor. These rooms need serious cleaning and updating! The restaurant served a decent buffet, also in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a cycling tour so we are here to cycle not sit and laze by the pool. Good location - good hike up to a viewpoint overlooking the resort and towards the coast. Orchid garden next door is worth a visit as well. The pool was a great welcome after sore legs and saddle sore travellers at the end of the day - clean and pleasant temperature and good size. Our room was fine - we were warned there would be bugs and insects and the odd frog around so not much of a surprise. Good standard and use insect repellent - be warned bushman insect repellent with DEET doesnt make a blind bit of difference to the mozzies - i was mauled even with aircon on at full blast they had a feast. Dinner was ok - it was a buffet and breakfasts were fine but not blow you away fantastic. There is a local paladar to eat in up the road which does amazing food. We cycled to Las Terrazas about 24km away which was interesting and a good place to have amazing vegetarian food.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chuck1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is our third stay in these Cabins in Soroa, this is a lovely peaceful stop over when touring Cuba and we stayed for two nights. The cabins are basic but very clean, there is a great swimming pool which is maintained to a very high standard. Remember, this location is in the hills with nothing much around, dont expect continual hot water and 24 hour room service, this is rural cuba. Visit the Waterfall and the Orchid Gardens both are great attractions. The staff and accommodation at Soroa are great, we look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TGTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews