We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous rooms and view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms and view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were stranded one more night in Dominica due to our flight being cancelled and the owners of these cabanas and the restaurant were more than accommodating. They picked us up from the airport and even waited for us to eat dinner at their restaurant before going up to the cabanas. Once we got settled in the cabanas, they even picked us up and took us back down to the restaurant for some drinks and dessert. What an amazing couple that has such a vision for this place. I would GLADLY travel back to Dominica just to stay at the cabanas once more. Thank you so much for a special last night in Dominica.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollienims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
231
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

On May 5, 2011 we stayed at the Pagua Bay House when American Eagle canceled all of their flights due to weather. After we called, as well as calling a couple other places nearby, we learned that they would pick us up and bring us back to the airport at 6AM. It was a bit pricey but I figured for our last night, what the heck. But I did save on taxi fare which is per person in Dominica.

The driver picked us up on time; he was very courteous and got us first to the owner's restaurant. Rick is an ex-pat who has a great vision for this property and a nice person as was his wife.The meals were very good by the way and he had a nice menu. Upon finishing, Rick drove us a short distance down the road to two tin buildings connected by a breezeway. Well... the outside of the buildings wasn't much but the amazing work and amenities inside and landscaping outside was amazing. Gorgeous comes to mind. The grounds were very well manicured and maintained with indigenous plants and flowers. Awesome! I really was impressed. The metal industrial look actually added to everything in hindsight.

I would love to go back to this gorgeous place overlooking the bay. Especially with another couple to share the other adjoining room.

Rick and his wife, Alicia I believe, were very accommodating and offered to make sandwiches for us to eat the next day as we again waited for American Eagle who again canceled all flights. Thank goodness for LIAT. I do recommend this place and again we would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Expected and loved the tropical island vistas. But what really made this 10 day/9 night trip was the unexpected.

1. Rick and Alicia's unmatched hospitality, taking care of every need, yet never intrusive. Sharing a vibrant passion for their new life, people that you wish could be your neighbors or friends.

2. Sleep, deep profound sleep, on a bed better than any top hotel with waves crashing, frog song and cool breezes calming at night. Awake to stunning beauty, birds chirping and coffee sipped on your own front porch, gazing at the waves.

3. Adventures big and small all arranged by the owners... they have a wonderful way of making arrangements flexible, easy and carefree. Al took us all over the island. Some of our best experiences:
- Daniel's cassava bread cooked over the open fire in the Carib territory.
- Fresh fruit and stories from a memorable character that goes by the name 'Sexy Bones'.
- Floating down the Pagua river on a tube, just the two of us, with a guide that told us all about the valley, popped open a freshly picked coconut with expert rock strikes, pulling aside later for a cool beer, watching the birds fly by.
- Jazz in the Jungle at River Rush with Mo and hitching a ride home with a Rastafari named Armstrong.
- Massage from Lindy on the deck with the waves lulling you into that final stage of relaxation was unbelievable and highly recommended.
- Hanging out on Easter Monday, meeting two local business owners, Pearl and Randy, many other locals, learning how to dance with some rhythm!
- The boiling lake and valley of desolation hike was a story unto itself, so check out that separate review!
- Soaking in sulphur hot springs at Screw's Spa, gazing at hand placed rock walls and listening to reggae music, wrapping up with a plate of fresh fruit and cool water. Screw is an amazingly generous person.
- Swimming under waterfalls, like a movie, at the Emerald pool and Spanny Falls.

We stayed in cabana #3 for 9 nights of bliss. Pulse dropped down to about 50. Sun kissed our skin and kindness filled our hearts. Ate majority of meals at their restaurant, best we found on the island. Be sure to enjoy the fresh juices! Cherry, passion fruit, coconut water, pomme citte, grapefruit...different options depending on the day.

Alicia has an amazing wine list and Rick is a rum officianado amongst many other things. Also has a killer selection of single malt scotch. Then again, there is always a Kubuli or Mackeson beer. Ask for a bucket to go for your room.

Simply spectacular vacation, best we've had in years. Thank you for everything!!

Room Tip: Couples, room 3 or 4. Friends or family, 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

The owners are warm and inviting. The hotel is situated in a breathtaking bay surrounded by vegetation. The rooms are stunning with a level of detail found only in five star plus hotels. The suites are so comfortable, so luxurious that you forget where you are once you enter except for the sound of gentle surf outside. Dminica is a hidden treasure in and of itself with wonderful hiking, waterfalls, snorkelling, people, and incredible jungle and mountainous vistas throughout the island. This is the perfect place to stay after a wonderful day hike or whale watching tour. It is pure luxury and you instantly feel at home. It is simply a must stay and play when visiting dominica!!!!! I cannot say enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent 3 nights at Pagua Bay House and we had a great stay. The cabanas are perfect (confortable, lot of space inside, very clean...). The best hotel to visit the north of Dominica
Alicia and Rick are very nice. They know very well the island and they help you to plan your day each morning.

They also have a restaurant with a great view at 2 minutes by car from the rooms.
The food is very good, (cocktails and beakfast are great)

I strongly recommend this place !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lioben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

My wife and I planed a 5 day trip to Dominica while staying at Guadaloupe. The island is way different and laid back compared to neighbouring french islands. We arrived to Rosseau, fetched a car and took the inner route to Marigot. And got hit by amasing and warmest hospitality of Alicia and Rick. Both americans and very welcoming in their restaurant on the hill overlooking the Pagua bay. The cabins are all planned and constructed by the owners and are amasing, nicely arranged, private and with interesting fusion of neocolonial and south american style. Staying there was so pleasant that it took as a while before leaving each morning to discover the rest of island beauties. The cabins are down the hill from the restaurant just steps away from the bay (not really a swiming place). There is a constant breeze from the ocean, which may get a bit noisy durring the night but on the other hand very charming and mesmerizing. And on top of that the owners made our trip to Dominica unforgetable. Rick is a source of valuable information when it comes to sightseeing and dining, while Alicia takes care that the guests are never hungry. Ask for home made pepper sauce (not the Bello brand!). Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Alica and Rick are great and helpfull. We made use of the great beach stuff they borrowed us (cayak, boards) & had a lot of fun at the river beach close by.
The cabana was excellently maintained and had all the things we could have wanted (coffee maker, safe,..)
We loved the style and would definitely recommend the Pagua Bay House as a great base for northern Dominica.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
7.9 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
6.7 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.9 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Property: Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica's tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. The ideal place for the holiday of your dreams, for those in search of unforgettable moments. The four Cabanas and two Suites are wonderfully inviting with ocean views and upscale amenities, including Wi-Fi. Choose between A/C or enjoy being caressed by the natural, cool sea breeze. The rooms are large, furnished with king-size feather beds. The Ocean Suite with outdoor terrace includes a private plunge pool. Indulge your senses, where nature meets luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing