We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Amazing!.what can I say!..my husband and I stayed at Pagua Bay House for 5 wonderful nights at the beginning of April. We have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean over the past 4 years and I have to say: hands down...the most comfortable beds ever...anywhere in the Caribbean!! Not only are the beds an amazing luxury at the end of a busy day spent hiking and driving all over this wonderful unspoiled island, but I simple can not say enough about Alicia and Rick's hospitality. Our most memorable and best trip to the Caribbean yet and our two hosts made that happen for us.
In the mornings we would drive up to their restaurant (soon to be located on the same grounds as the stylish cabanas) enjoy an amazing breakfast: local fruits...wonderful coffee!...the best eggs/bacon/skillet around if you ask my husband... homemade bagels (so yummy!).... put the island map on the table and Alicia and Rick would be there to give us all sorts of advice about where to drive to, what to see, how long to expect to drive, what roads where better than others etc...... and most importantly where to eat along our travels... : ) ( even going as far as phoning ahead to other restaurants for us to make sure they were open).... they then would pack us an ice cooler full of local bevies and water and wished us a wonderful day! Fantastic!!..
The cabanas...wow...pictures of them online do not do them justice...we stayed for one night in Cabana #3...gorgeous...cozy...cavernous shower...shutters... so you can feel the breezes of the Atlantic and listen to the waves crashing, and lulling you to sleep at night. Cape Cod feel in Dominica??...is that possible??....I loved it....we sat on our porch and watched the ocean waves...we had the best sleep you could imagine......and then:....Cabana #4....this is to be experienced!!
Larger layout...spacious.... same clean lines...luxurious dark high gloss floors....same comfortable feather top bed....gorgeous!!....concrete counter tops... shutters to feel the fresh breeze and hear the pounding surf (you won't need to put on the air conditioner)....bathroom fit for a king and queen...huge..unbelievable closet space gals!...the shower was enormous!...I floated around our private little chunk of island living like we had discovered a rare gem, and then discovered the bar fridge!...cracked open a great mini bottle of wine, poured it in a glass and joined my husband on the hammock in the front yard of the cabana! Heaven!
I can not imagine a better place to stay whilst exploring the island...honestly...we would not have experienced half of what we did had it not been for Alicia and Rick's knowledge and own personal experiences of Dominica. You know those tourist pics of loan hikers experiencing incredible displays of nature and wonder???...where no one else is around??...well..we got to experience that because we stayed with Rick and Alicia and they knew which direction to point us in. Waterfalls...rain forest hiking...little off the beaten track (to die for!) restaurants...beaches...yes thank you!
There is no denying that the 4, (soon to be 6) sublimely stylish and extremely well executed cabanas are private, cozy island get aways which will enhance your vacation experience...but in all honesty, and with sincere warmth....it's the hosts, Rick and Alicia who will make your stay a most memorable one.
We simply can not wait to go back and visit....

Room Tip: Cabana #4 is the biggest and most private as of April 2012....Cabana #3 has an awesome view of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PipCheedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recently my boyfriend and I came for a long weekend to PBBC and we left with great memories, a perfectly aligned back and neck and amazing pictures from one of the most beautiful islands and hotel we have ever visited. Dont be put off by the construction that is currently taking place on this property as you would still have the most amazing time here. Im sure the place will look even better once construction is finished, The grounds are beautiful and there is a great view of the Atlantic Ocean...especially from their restaurant just up the road from the hotel.

The cabanas are rustic chic and have a decidedly modern/functional feel to them that can be lacking in quintessential Caribbean kitch hotels. They are well constructed and beautifully appointed with quality furnishings and building materials. Im a stickler for beds, towels and linens and Rick and Alicia hit a home run in that department as well. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (including my own which I used to think was pretty comfy :(...you spoilt it for me...;)

Rick and Alicia are also one of the more interesting and genuine people I have met, they make you immediately feel comfortable around them.Their service was also pretty amazing as they really helped us navigate the island and even arranged a tour for us to the boiling lake. Testament to their general good nature is that they seem to be well liked by their neighbours and the neighbourhood children seem to gravitate to them...everyone knows them!!!

I will definitely stay here again and Ill highly recommend to anyone who is visiting Dominica!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KhafW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here with our children in cabanas 1 & 2 which are ideal for families or friends if you want to have your own little area . With regard to Rick & Alicia what can you say but great hosts who could not be more helpful & kind . They were full of useful information & seemed to know everyone on the island. The refurbishment work being carried out at the time did not effect us in the slightest & I am sure when it is finished it will look great .The location is great & you can get to south & the north of the island with ease , so if you you are coming to Dominica it is the place to stay !! If you are worried about food the restaurant is great I am sure you will not be disappointed Happy holiday

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplicity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in early March. The owners, American expats, were some of the nicest, most accommodating people we’ve ever interacted with at a resort or hotel. They were truly invested in making sure our stay was pleasant.

The hotel restaurant, which is a mile or so up the road from the cabanas, was excellent. We ate there several times and had only great meals.

The cabanas are well-appointed with a super comfy bed, nice furnishings, a large bathroom, walk-in closet and cable TV. The aesthetic is very modern, which we liked. The room was a little dark, especially the first day we were there because we had the windows closed (it was a rare chilly, rainy day).

The owners are in the process of expanding the resort, and it sounds like it will be even more fantastic once completed. There was a little construction going on during our stay, which didn’t really affect us, but the owners discounted our room, none the less.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The experience is complete. Waking up, going to sleep and be located as close to the sound of waves constant is wonderful. In addition, the owners, Rick & Alicia, the most exquisite hosts a hotel may have. Their incredible hospitality and their exclusive cuisine and great service restaurants made ​​us want us back immediately. We will definitely go back when the rebuilding of the site is ready! If you are very sensitive to noise at night, remember that you are surrounded by the sound from the ocean. (You have to try their breakfastburrito when you go there!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent a night at Pagua Bay as we had an early flight off the island in the morning and it's located 5 minutes from the airport. Upon arriival at 3pm we were told there had been a late check out and our room wouldn't be ready for an hour. We did get our room at 4pm. Right outside our door was a major construction zone. We had not been told. the restaurant is located a 5 minute drive up the hill. Unless you had your own rental, it requires them to pick up and drop off each and every time. Rather odd. The rooms themselves are fantastic. Brilliantly designed, and very, very comfortable. Overall we felt like there was very little connection or care from the staff - they did what they had to do.

I applaud what Alicia and Rick are trying to do. Its a great island. They have all the right ingredients. All that's missing is the service attention to go with accommodation quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Pagua Bay deserves all of the accolades contained in these reviews. Rick and Alisha are a first class couple that have the talent to manage a big scale luxury resort. Instead they choose to use their talents and very engaging personalities to run one of the finest small scale boutique properties that you will find on Dominica. You will not be disappointed with Pagua Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
6.7 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: £105 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica’s tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. The ideal place for the holiday of your dreams, for those in search of unforgettable moments. The four Cabanas and two Suites are wonderfully inviting with ocean views and upscale amenities, including Wi-Fi. Choose between A/C or enjoy being caressed by the natural, cool sea breeze. The rooms are large, furnished with king-size feather beds. The Ocean Suite with outdoor terrace includes a private plunge pool. Indulge your senses, where nature meets luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing