We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Caribbean Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Caribbean Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

A truly exceptional stay in a haven of sensitive and subtle design with an strong eye to preserving what is special and unique about Unspoilt Dominica. Personal plunge pool in front of the room, where the bathroom the size our our living room in London! Ibiza-style chill and laissez-faire, perfectly lethal Rum based cocktails, best food on the island, and owners whose boundless enthusiasm for sharing their love of this exceptional island and its people seems eternally renewable. This is THE Go-To destination in Dominica, whose owners also know where, why and what to go to for those of us who are/were Island Virgins - this is THE Value Proposition For Dominica. High quality, safe and super scuba iving, secret deserted waterfalls and rock pools (to unlock the treasure - you need a key - and never, ever ask...). Stay here. Chavs, headbangers, Computer gamers, Nouveau Riche types, those who might ever consider a Cruise Ship holiday and Loud People need not apply. Bring what's in your Holiday Head only, and let Rick, Alicia, Gaby, Kalima and friends - and Dominica (still a Virgin, bless her!) make it work for you. It certainly did for us.

Room Tip: We adored room 5 - your own personal compound with a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DogsinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
233
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

First time in Dominica and the choice of hotel couldnt be better. We found out about Pagua Bay thorugh a friend of us that had posted some pictures in Facebook and the place looked great so we gave it a try. Also the location was superb since it was just about 10min from Melville airport.

Well well well, what a great surprise this was. No picture can describe how beautiful, inviting and soothing this place is. Located in a series of terraces opposite the ocean to maximize the views and breeze, this place is relaxing and envigorating all in one. There are plenty of options to go hiking or just river/waterfall bathing nearby.

Pagua bay has a well stocked bar (specially rums) and superbly managed kitchen able to satisfy many tastes. I tried a really good ceviche, tasty thai calamari, caribbean shrimp curry and fish tacos during our stay. All dishes were quality food. For breakfast one must try their pancakes, homemade, not the crappy thing that comes in a box.

Regarding the rooms, truly charming wood/tin cabanas, very spacious (about 240 sqf) with gorgeous wooden floors and a bed that has nothing to envy to a five star hotel anywhere (same quality as a Sofitel type of bed). Bathrooms are also very comfortable and cleanliness is the norm throughout.

But I think what makes Pagua Bay truly special is its owners, Rick and Alice are not just owners they ensure each guest feels like if it was their best customer, no matter what. We found the service to be really good, far superior for any Caribbean island. Pagua Bay is not a boutique hotel, this is more like a tailor-made island retreat.

I highly recommend this place if you plan to travel to Dominica, specially if you want to stay in the East coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thegabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just returned from Pagua Bay resort. This was our second time staying here, we loved it so much. I especially like the super comfortable beds and the extra large showers. We stayed in the cabin over looking the ocean with an extra large patio and our own chairs for privecy and relaxing. It also had a hugh soaker tub. Rick and Alicia helped us plan our car rental which was dropped off right at the resort for us. And we drove around the northern part of the island for the day. I must say driving should not be taken lightly in Dominica there are many hairpin turns and narrow roads to contend with. We hardly saw any turists driving around. Also note driving is on the left side of road. We drove to Portsmith and had lunch at Le Flamboant restaurant it was excellent with a beautiful view of ocean. Rick and Alicia also organized a fun day of tubing down the river which was so much fun I cant wait to do again. I loved the fish tacos and Ricks home made bagels.

We stayed at Pagua for 3 nights then drove south of the island to stay another 3 nights at Jungle bay, you will see my review on that separately . It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get from the north to south end of island. Its a good idea to break up your stay over 2 or 3 hotels. The town of Roseau is inbetween and is busy spot , but also has cruise ships coming into port on certain days.

We will definetly return to Dominica and Pagua Bay..

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Really comforable beds. Some of the larger rooms have there own pool and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

5 stars just are not enough! We stayed in 3 places while in Dominica. Did lots of research. Happy with all our choices, but ending our stay at Pagua Bay made us wish we had more time there. We were there only about 24 hours, way too short of a time! Stayed the night before our flight out.

Our room, Oceanfront suite, room 5, was the perfect up- scale, relaxing room to unwind from our adventurous trip. Bed was super comfortable, huge soaking tub, large beautiful deck over- looking the sea. FYI, the deck also is near the kitchen, but this did not bother us at all. There is a privacy railing, and you can't hear them from your room, just the deck. NOT a problem at all. Worth it to have the view.
The hosts: well it has been said before, but I must reiterate , they are the very best, helpful, friendly, warm people you will ever meet! I usually wouldn't pick a place to stay just on the owners, but they truly add to the wonderful experience here.
They arranged for their driver/ handyman, Mikey, ( great guy) to drive us to a spot on the Pagua River for a wonderful, fun, river - tubing ride. They provided brand new tubes and life- jackets. Mikey picked us up at the end, about 11/2 hours later. Alicia and Rick have many awesome tips for things to see and do on the island. Alicia must have responded to at least 10 of my e- mails to help me plan our trip. Thanks, Alicia, your are the great!
The food was tasty, fresh, well- prepared. The atmosphere great. Try the Centipede Rum Punch, it's a killer!
Stay at Pagua Bay House, you will not regret it. Say Hi to Alicia and Rick for me!

Room Tip: I think any of them would be nice. We loved the oceanfront room, 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmkathnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at Pagua Bay twice now, and I have to say, we'll always stay here when we're in Dominica. Alicia and Rick make the place what is: warm, relaxing, inviting, friendly and fun. They know each of their guests by name. They go out of their way to make your stay at Pagua Bay and in Dominica as wonderful as possible. Additionally, the grounds of Pagua Bay House also keep getting more and more beautiful. The new suites are amazing though we chose to stay in Cabana 4, which is our favorite. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean is breathtaking. Also, having the restaurant on-site is so much more convenient than having it down the road. I don't know how Rick does it but I hope he keeps on building, sanding, sculpting, creating. I can't say enough good things about Pagua Bay House. You'll just have to go there and experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I spent the last two nights of our eight day Dominica trip at Pagua Bay and were absolutely blown away by Rick and Alicia’s incredible hospitality. They are genuinely interested in every single guest that stays there and treat you like you’re their long lost friends. The place is smaller and they have the ability to make each and every guest feel special . . . and they do! They go out of their way to make your stay in Dominica memorable as well as comfortable and problem free. The cabana we stayed in was new and modern. The bathroom was huge and the water in the shower was nice and hot. The outside bar and dining and small pool overlook enchanting Pagua Bay – you’re practically on top of the ocean. The food was very good and the drinks fabulous. I loved Rick’s homemade bagels at breakfast. And try the Peanut Rum Punch – best dessert drink ever! One tip – this was my first trip to the Caribbean and as Dominica does not have “all inclusives” as many of the other islands do, I had to do some adjusting to the local lifestyle and way of life. If you think you might get a little homesick or are looking for your home away from home, then Pagua Bay is the place for you. We met a lot of nice people in beautiful Dominica, but bottom line, the staff at Pagua Bay were the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed one night with Mark and Alicia on the final night of our trip to Dominica to hike the Waitukubli Trail. Pagua Bay house is conveniently located right off the section 7 of the Trail. We loved our stay. Mark and Alicia were wonderful hosts, and even offered to do our laundry at no extra charge. They also provided us a complimentary ride back to the airport with a great driver. The rooms/pool/view were fantastic as well. I would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
6.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Property: Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica's tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. The ideal place for the holiday of your dreams, for those in search of unforgettable moments. The four Cabanas and two Suites are wonderfully inviting with ocean views and upscale amenities, including Wi-Fi. Choose between A/C or enjoy being caressed by the natural, cool sea breeze. The rooms are large, furnished with king-size feather beds. The Ocean Suite with outdoor terrace includes a private plunge pool. Indulge your senses, where nature meets luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing