We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pagua Bay House is the Shangri-la of Dominica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great views and location, well designed, fabulous food, attentive staff. Great hospitality and boutique chic. Third hotel experience on this island. Highly recommend. Hard to leave and can't wait to return! Pure Bliss!

Room Tip: Cabanas 1 & 2 are perfect for two or more couples or families with a shared porch. Terrific ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Two current residents of the US east coast joined two expats living on Dominica at Pagua Bay for a delicious dinner and a much-needed respite. After a long day of travelling we needed a relaxing, comfortable venue and were pleased to find one. Our advance reservations assured we would occupy the cabanas that share a spacious porch, complete with sofas, chairs and a hammock. We looked watched the stars with the security guard, enjoyed either lighter (coconut curry shrimp) or heartier (curried goat) dinners marked by friendly, responsive service, and collapsed into soft, welcoming beds. Our view of the bay was stunning, and our relaxed breakfast was served with a smile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

AWESOME ! Thanks PBH for making the first three days of our 10 day vacation fantastic. We loved the Ocean Suite and found the Atlantic Ocean (although you advised it was rather TAME while we were there) very relaxing. The view from the Ocean suite is super NICE. Your staff is first rate and dining/drinking at the bar was always enjoyable. PBH is a great location to enjoy the sunrise and have a hearty breakfast before enjoying the Island. My friends that met us on the island later in our stay, could not help themselves but to stop by on their way to the airport and have breakfast and a couple of your Coconut Rum punch's. Thanks Rick for the MAP with the hot spots on it while we we on the west coast. ZAM ZAM's showed us great hospitality as you advised they would. We are planning a trip next year in May and we will be sure to make PBH our destination while on the east coast. Just a note, it is not a bad drive from Pagua Bay to Roseau, for those people that choose to have their Base at PBH. Rick and Alicia thanks for the hospitality, it most certainly laid the groundwork for our life changing vacation. Till next Time!! Keith & Tina Harris

Room Tip: The Ocean and Garden Suites are really close to the Bar and Pool. But all rooms are really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Pagua Bay was our 'base' for our second visit to the island of Dominica and it was perfect. Located close to the airport and along one of the better roads on Dominica, we were able to explore the whole island with our 4x4 and adventurousness. Rick and Alicia were wonderful hosts and great conversationalists. Their openness and friendly attitude has allowed them to create an inviting and comfortable experience for all their guests. Our experience was raised to the next level when Rick and Alisha would call ahead or know who we should ask for for the best tour, best conversation in neighboring villages, or best meals outside Pagua Bay. However, even with all the local fare on Dominica, some of our best meals were at Pagua Bay. Dinner was perfect. Genny was a gem. She took great care of us after our long days exploring and was genuinely interested in what we did. I cannot recommend this resort enough! 6 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Where to start? Well, first off, the service at Pagua Bay is sincerely the best I have ever received -- on any trip, personal or business. Alicia and Rick are extremely helpful -- with great support before you arrive, and tremendous hands-on service and tips on the island while you are there. The setting is fantastic -- and perfect for those who want a chance to truly "get away from it all." Beautiful views of the ocean and the greenery that defines the island, and so peaceful and quiet. Dominica is an island worthy of exploration -- so you'll want to consider that in planning car rentals and day trips to various parts of the island. Again, Alicia and Rick are fantastic with their support in this regard. Cabanas live up to expectations and the online photos. Definitely plan a few meals at the on-site restaurant -- I'm still looking for some of the tropical fruits back home ;-) -- food is excellent and the staff reflect the care that's been put into the rest of the hotel.

The island is beautiful, the people are friendly, and, being a little bit off the beaten path, the experience remains unique amongst Caribbean vacations.

This was our first time to Dominica and we're already planning our return -- including our second stay at Pagua Bay -- Mark and Corinne

Room Tip: While I'm sure all the cabanas are excellent [as the two we stayed in certainly were], Cabana 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkCS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Pagua Bay House in June of 2012, and upon returning home, had every intention of leaving a RAVING review... but regrettably, we let a combination of work, life and procrastination get it in the way.

Our experience can be captured in one sentence... "We fell in love with Dominica, Pagua Bay House and Rick and Alicia".

If the lure of the natural beauty of the island and its people are not enough to sway you, rest assured that Pagua Bay House and Rick and Alicia will make your experience one that you won't soon forget. In all of our Caribbean traveling experiences, we have never left somewhere feeling as though we were leaving good friends behind... as well as the feeling that we had found "our place"... a place that we needed to return to.

All that said, here are our tips:

Tip #1: Don't make Pagua Bay House your last stop on the way to the airport – you will leave the island wishing that you had spent more time there. PBH has SO much more to offer than its proximity to the airport.

Tip#2: Rent a car. Explore. The island has amazing things to offer. If you're not comfortable with island driving, Al (PBH's go-to-guy/hotel driver) is an amazing person who will graciously share the beauty of his homeland with you.

Tip#3: Take advantage of your immediate surroundings. Grab some inner tubes and a cooler full of Kubili from PBH; have Al drop you off on the Pagua River for a private excursion that is beautiful, serene and unforgettable. This is one of many (but our most memorable) excursions available on this amazing island!

Bottom line - there is a reason that PBH has outstanding reviews: your hosts making you feel like old friends, the AMAZING view, good food and the rooms... well thought out character and comfort! A truly unique experience, leaving you with the desire to return as soon as possible.

Brandon and Megan

Side note: We stayed in one of the cabanas closest to the water and we did not feel that the sound of the waves was too loud. We found the waves to be soothing; so much so that we will request those same cabins again when we return. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mportr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A beautiful spot on a beautiful island... Dominica is a bit different from other Caribbean islands, less beach focus, much more nature focus. And Pagua Bay Oceanfront Cabanas is a beautiful spot from where to explore this paradise. Friendly owners who are very eager to help, great rooms, a very good kitchen, and a stunning collection of Caribbean rums for those who like them. Proximity to the airport is another plus for late-night arrivals. This is a place to return to, again and again, or, alternatively, to spend a once-in-a lifetime vacation. Thanks Alicia and Rick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
505 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
16.9 mi away
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portsmouth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: £178 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica’s tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. So much has happened since Hurricane Maria swept through Dominica nearly three months ago. And we couldn’t be more thrilled to tell you that the news is good. Thanks to the hard work and enduring spirit of so many people, island life is returning to normal. Including the reopening of Pagua Bay House. Visit us so you can discover what the magic of “Nature Island” is all about. Please be assured, the island is lush and green once again and there are plenty of activities to do. Roads have now been cleared, businesses are up and running, most of the allure of “the Nature Island” are accessible and unchanged. We welcome you to enjoy Dominica and appreciate the support you bring with your tourism dollars to help the locals get back on track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing