We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream cabana on the Atlantic coast of the "nature isle"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My fiance picked this island as our next Caribbean island to visit and we both selected Pagua Bay Beach House as our first choice to stay in ... and were we well rewarded for our choices!
The island is very different from many other Caribbean islands in that it is very unspoiled and uncrowded by tourists. Because of these factors and the inherent natural beauty of this island, it has become known as the 'nature island.'
Pagua Bay Beach House was a dream spot for us for several reasons. First of all the hosts/owners are a delightful couple as well as extraordinarily helpful, charismatic and a great team. Second comes the location on the Atlantic coast where the surf and sea breeze are constant and interesting places to visit and hike are nearby while the bustle of the island capital is an hour drive away on the opposite side of the island. If you are interested in surf, hiking, nature and a place to sleep with soft sounds of nature and the ocean to lull you to sleep at night and culinary treats prepared by talented island chefs, Pagua Bay Beach House is #1.

Room Tip: Suite # 5 is exceptionally nice with a great view from the huge shower out the window to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

First of all, Dominica is pretty isolated. Not a lot of flights there from major airlines. But we were island hopping and that is a lot easier on small commuters between islands in the Caribbean. We chose this hotel because it was closest to the airport. There are NO major brands of hotels on this island. They are all Mom & Pop operations. This ones is perfectly ran and managed by the owners in great shape and a wonderful experience. Stayed in a cabana and it was very nice. Hotel is located right on the ocean with views abound. A very good restaurant too. This is a great place to unwind and stay a while. We certainly wished we could stay longer. I don't know about the rest of the hotels on the island. But I do know this one is a great choice in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited Dominica in Feb 2014 for our honeymoon and stayed three nights at Pagua, but wished we could stay longer. Before reserving rooms here, we just happened to stop by the restuarant to use the wi-fi access. We were not even guests yet, but Rick and Alicia already could not do enough to help us. They are truly OUTSTANDING hosts.

Importantly, the location of Pagua is great. It is very conveniently accessed from the Melville Hall airport, and it's very easy to find. It's also just a short drive to many of the beaches on the north coast of the island.

The cabanas are absolutely superb. They are aesthetically beautiful, with very comfy beds, beautiful showers, and all the amentities you could possibly need.

The restaurant is fantastic: great view of the ocean and pool, delicious food, really great espresso/coffee, and a nice cocktail menu. Of course, the restaurant service is outstanding.

Rick, Alicia, and all of the Pagua staff are just really amazing. We can't say enough great things about everyone there. They are all so warm, welcoming, helpful, and generally hospitable.

We would highly recommend Pagua to anyone planning to visit the beautiful island of Dominica! We can't wait to go back!!

Thanks for making our trip to Dominica so special, Pagua!

Room Tip: If you're able to splurge, stay in the Garden Suite - it's so, so, so beautiful and complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed there three days in January 2014. Pagua Bay House is a beautiful and tranquil place located at the atlantic ocean. Alicia and Rick our hosts were available when we needed any advice, they also arranged trips for us and helped us with everything (booking of ferry tickets- what seemed to be very difficult, rental of car...).,
The food in the restaurant was delightful and the view and the seabreeze were amazing. We had a great time staying over at Pagua Bay House, we were greeted with friendly staffs, the moment we arrived.there the place was well maintained and our cabana had a comfortably and nicely design.Overall the service from the owners, staffs and cleaners was excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 715TiNa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

great rooms and location. we had so much planned and Alicia and Rick made is so easy for us. They had a rental car delivered right to the hotel with short notice, and mapped everything out for us, which was great as a lot of the roads and sites are not marked. great food as well. this is a full service hotel and they are better than travel agents. thanks again Rick and Alicia we will return again

Room Tip: #3but they all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

One word sums up our experience at Pagua Bay House...amazing!! The staff, the food, the rooms, the location, the view..and most of all Alicia and Rick were wonderfully amazing :-)

We spent 7 days at the beginning of January at Pagua Bay House. We didn't want to leave Pagua bay house or Dominica. The personalized service you receive from Rick and Alicia you will not find at any other small resort..Their attention to detail is outstanding. They helped us with everything from our flight into Dominica to organizing our rental car to recomending the best tour guides. One of the hikes we did was Boiling Lake..they recommended we use Elvis as our guide. He was absolutely by far the greatest guide we have ever used. If you're in Dominica looking to hike some good mountains be sure to use Elvis, you'll have a great time!
We ate all our breakfasts and dinners at Pagua Bay bar and grill and they were all wonderful! Be sure to try the ginger glazed mahi mahi, the lobster ravioli and even the different tacos...all were lovely and also a must try is the passionfruit smoothie with rum..so delicious!
The accommodations and the grounds are also wonderful. The cabanas all have great views and are kept spotless. The beds are cozy and comfortable. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves was so soothing!
Staying at Pagua Bay House for our trip to Dominica definitely added to our great experience. The friendliness, hospitality and attention to the little details of the entire staff at Pagua cannot be beat anywhere else....

Pagua Bay House is by far your best choice to stay at.. when visiting this island! We hope to return real soon!
Thank you Rick and Alicia for helping to make our trip an extremely memorable one :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We travel a lot and have stayed in many places all over the World. We must say that the Pagua Bay House in Marigot, Dominica was truly a wonderful find. The views from the entire property are breath taking. The cabanas are all very nice, comfortable, clean, roomy, and well equipped. The staff are all extremely nice, knowledgeable, and eager to help. However, the best part of Pagua Bay is Alicia and Rick (the owners). They truly strive to make every one of their guest feel totally at home and to feel very special. They really are wonderful people.

Max & Lana of Tampa, Florida, USA

Room Tip: We recommend staying in cabana # 3 or 4. But you can't go wrong staying in any of their cabanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxandAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: £187 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica’s tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. The ideal place for the holiday of your dreams, for those in search of unforgettable moments. The four Cabanas and two Suites are wonderfully inviting with ocean views and upscale amenities, including Wi-Fi. Choose between A/C or enjoy being caressed by the natural, cool sea breeze. The rooms are large, furnished with king-size feather beds. The Ocean Suite with outdoor terrace includes a private plunge pool. Indulge your senses, where nature meets luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing