We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
20
8
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charles airport gas stove natural environment the river self catering close to the airport stayed longer an early flight stayed nights melville hall airport sandra douglas grid civilization hosts property hurricane
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed at Garden View Villa for 1 month with our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children age 11, 2.5y, and 10m). There truly is no place on earth like Dominica. Beautiful rivers, verdant rain forests, beautiful waterfalls, & diverse beaches are 2nd to none. In this place Nature is constantly moving in & will quickly reclaim anything that is not meticulously maintained.

The grounds at Coffee River Cottages are located 8-10 min drive down a VERY rough road. The road is lined by farms, & a few typical Dominican homes. As you drive along you pass goats, cattle, plaintain farms, coconut palms, & a busy body shop near the intersection with the main road. We didn't have any trouble navigating it with our four wheel drive. A well maintained concrete rd. begins at or near the Coffee River property & takes you the rest of the way to your villa. It took a few days to get used to this commute; after a week or so we barely noticed the bumps & became pros at bracing ourselves so we didn't bonk our heads on the car. I feel bad mentioning the road, because it is beyond the control of the home owners, but If you are considering staying for a while like we did you may want to factor this into your decision.

The grounds are well maintained, Stephen is a meticulous gardener & has kept nature tamed in their little corner. You will enjoy the insect orchestra performance that begins every night at dusk. Don't worry, they don't bother you with their presence - but they will sing to you all night long. The sound of the river is also soothing - and varies in intensity based on the amount of rain. The swimming hole in the river is beautiful, clean, and enjoyable to swim in. We loved spending time down there.

CONS
There is not internet service in the villas. It is available on owner front porch. The owner prefers to limit the access so as to keep expectations in line with reality when it comes to the speed of internet service in a third world country. This is only a minor inconvenience for short stays - but if you plan a longer work-n-play stay this is not a good option. I would recommend getting a data chip from Flow/Digicel and arranging for your own service.
No laundry on site and no laundry service in a close distance. For longer stays this is a considerable inconvenience.
Missing Screens. The open air concept is fine for a few days - but not for living w/ babies. Every window needs screens.

We love our hosts. They have poured their heart into CRC.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SnowbirdieLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeeriver C, Owner at Coffeeriver Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi there
Thank you for the kind words & a great review, reviews are important of course we can't always be a 10 ha ha we do try. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed your company as well. That is what we are all about, social life comes to us and we do enjoy people. Most people anyway. The river is still crystal clean and clear, I just love it myself.
Our road all of 1 mile of it is now being repaired by the Government. Yeah !
We are lucky to have our own OFF THE GRID electricity, fresh water the most important things in life.
Thanks again for staying at Coffeeriver, please come again and spread the word
Cheers,
Sandra
Coffee(our dog) is still great little friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed in Coffee River's smaller cottage, which is still very large with room for four. It has a full kitchen, bathroom, and two bedrooms upstairs in these funky lofts.

The property is very close to Charles-Douglas airport, making it a great place to stay when you first arrive or before you leave, especially if you don't want to drive a long distance in the dark. If Coffee River is the first place you stay and you're arriving in the dark, make sure you get good directions (or maybe you'll be as lucky as us and have the owner meet you at the airport to guide you!).

The owners are lovely and happy to help guests navigate the island.

Note that the property is off-grid.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Westend_diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeeriver C, Owner at Coffeeriver Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hello,
Thank you for your kind words writing such a great review, we appreciate it. Was fun having you stay here. That is why we are so fortunate that we don't have to go out to meet wonderful people they come to us.
Thanking you again, please consider us if you holiday on the Island, come back and stay with us.
You have our card, drop us a line anytime.
Cheers,
Sandra & Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Coffee River is a one of a kind. First of all, there are no airport hotels in this country. There are no chain restaurants or grocers either. When you arrive, this is the place to stay, especially if you are renting a car, as after dark you should not drive. Be prepared to make your first meal out of what you have brought from home. That being said, you will have landed in an exotic paradise complete with one of the best river swimming holes on the island. The bird watching is non-stop. Sandra and Stephen are your hosts and they truly do care about you. They can give you tips about the island as they have lived there for over 20 years now. I would also suggest that before you come down, ask your innkeeper, be it Sandra and Stephen or your next location, whether you can bring something down from the States or Europe as UPS doesn't exist there and the mail is sketchy. Although booking.com and /or Expedia can be used for your reservation, we found it much easier to book directly with the proprietors throughout our amazing journey in this wild country.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sightseer809815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeeriver C, Owner at Coffeeriver Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi girls,

We have been keeping in touch but wanted to thank you for coming to us at Coffeeriver Cottages as we enjoyed you so much.
Thank you for the bird pictures, great. Loved having you guys, hope we will meet up again.
Cheers,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Can you say, "Bats in the Belfry"? We got in late and when we opened up the cottage, there were a couple of bats buzzing through. I didn't mind it, but the girls in my group were not impressed. The location is great and the natural environment is excellent, but the absence of screens and us getting there after dark made for a long warm night with the windows closed. The gang on the grounds were super friendly and helpful. I would stay again, just better prepared next time.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeeriver C, Owner at Coffeeriver Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

I first want to thank you for kindly writing a review. You certainly had your hands full with all the persons and I know it was your organization skills that made it happen.
I do appreciate your efforts. I hope the event went smoothly that you all came for.
Maybe some day you could come without all that organization and just have yourself a holiday. You would be most welcome here again.
Cheers,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We wanted a place to stay close to the airport and found this - a mile away but would never know civilization is that close. The grounds are beautiful and our cottage was huge! Lots of room with a full kitchen and large patio. The owners, Stephen and Sandra were so sweet and shared their homemade rum punch with us while sharing their stories of the island. Definitely a gem of the island.

Room tip: Road is very bumpy, so drive slow. Be sure you bring food and supplies as there are no amenities.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeeriver C, Owner at Coffeeriver Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

I am so happy you found us. As well you enjoyed the the grounds and our wonderful little bit of Paradise. Yes the places at Coffeeriver can hold up to 15 people on beds alone. We enjoyed having you over, we always enjoy our guests, getting to know people from all over the world. Please come again. Will have the rum punch and floral arrangements just for you.
Once again thank you for finding us and coming to stay.
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews