We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Marigot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My boyfriend and I booked the "Adventure Package" with HV and had a wonderful time. The bungalows are charming; they have electricity, mosquito nets over the beds, they provide you w/towels and you have your own private bathroom! Compared to our last trip, this was luxury! The bathrooms have no hot water but there is an outside hot shower if you really wanted one. The meals are quite good but can seem a little light if you like to eat a lot. The staff was very approachable and friendly. Corina can answer any questions, and Nigel and Vincia are the friendly cooks. The tours were well organized and we enjoyed them very much. It does take an hour to get to a few of the tour sites but it's nice being able to sit back and just look at the scenery. Our tour guide was Cecil and he was awesome. He'd stop to explain plants and fruits and let us stop and take pictures along the way too. Bring plenty of sunscreen, bugs were minimal and your swimsuit! We were in them ~75% of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAlittlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

My friends and I had a wonderful experience in Hibiscus Inn. They were very kind in providing us with rooms when we didn’t have a prior reservation. When we landed in Dominica, we found out that the hotel that we had booked thru hostel world has been closed for a year. So our taxi driver took us to Hibiscus Inn. The staff there was really helpful specially Nigel and Venicia. While we were there, the owner’s family was visiting from Sweden but we had no problems. In fact we enjoyed their company. It was like a big family re-union.
My special thanks go to Cecil who took us on the tour of the island and introduced us to the most beautiful place on earth. People of Dominica have made a conscious effort to keep their island as natural as possible and as a result, it is the most serene place that I have ever seen. The location of Hibiscus Valley Inn is perfect, with a river running just across the street, where we went swimming and tubing. Agnes, our tubing guide was very helpful and knowledgeable.
Our room at the Inn had a balcony with an exceptional view of the garden surrounding the inn. I spent countless hours on the hammock listening to the sounds of the river and the rain forest. The food was great, though a little expensive. Everything we ate was naturally produced in the island. The pumpkin soup prepared by Nigel on our first night at the inn was exceptional and we still compare that with soup that we eat at other places. My review won’t be complete if I don’t mention Bob and Scotty, the “guard dogs” at the inn. Bob had a broken leg so he couldn’t move much. But Scotty was always with us, sleeping outside our door, going on walks with us and entertaining us by chasing lizards and other sundry animals that came within his range.
I would love to go back there and stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We arrived at night with no place to stay because the hotel we had booked had been closed for two years! The taxi brought us to Hibiscus Inn and they took us in and fed us. They were gracious hosts and the place is absolutely beautiful. It's in a rural area and the rooms are on stilts in the trees. The grounds are picturesque and you feel like you're really in a tree-house in the rain forest. The meals are gourmet and the hospitality is excellent. The hotel will provide tours of the island and other activities if you want. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

We spent 7 nights at the Hibiscus Valley and it was great. It just fitted perfectly to the whole Dominica experience, and it is a truly uniqe island.
The staff at HV are very friendly and helpful. The lodges/rooms are charming. Our first impression was that the street is a bit close, but there are almost no cars after 8 pm, so you don't even feel there is a street during night time.
We usually had breakfast and dinner at HV and it was outstanding.
Anybody complaining about lack of comfort did not understand the true value of Dominica as a travel destination and should probably rather spend time in Antigua, Barbados or similar places.
The only thing I personally would pay attention to next time is the fact that the excursions HV offers seem rather expensive and many things can be done much cheaper if going individually, i.e. renting a jeep.
We would definitely choose HV again if returinig to Dominica.
Thomas and Janine, Switzerland

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My all too brief stay was amazing. I had no idea I would fall so much in in love with the island and the Inn. Truly the most relaxing time of my 2 week trip. Vincia and Nigel-I miss you and your wonderful food!! Thankfully the pictures I took remind my of the Paradise I found in Dominica. Thank you Daniel for being such a gracious host. I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Inn to fully experience the beauty and tranquility of the island. I hope to be able to return someday soon.

Rose

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosesmx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We stayed at Hisbiscus for 6 nights as part of their adventure package. Our first impressions upon arrival were slightly disapointing. The lodges were a little on the rustic side, THERE'S NO HOT WATER, and, after drinking 3 bottles of Kubuli beer, we'd drunk the place dry!

In addition Concord isn't really ideally placed for the activities they offer. A lot of the tours take place in the south of the island and so each trip starts and ends with an hour/hour and half drive along the quite scary mountain roads in a 4x4 Nissan minibus.

However there are some positives, Scottie and Ben the resident dogs are lovely, the food is tremendous and swimming and tubing in the river is great.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Thanks for the great time at Hibiscus Valley Inn, the stay at your lovely bungalows and the adventure package were outstanding great! Every day was offered a new exciting tour with many impressions and information covering all different topics: hiking trails, waterfalls,
plants, flowers, animals and untouched nature, shown by the guide Cecil…and nevertheless very friendly native people and guests. Great adventures were e.g. the Whale watching (we saw them!) and the hiking
tour to the boiling lake via the desolation valley. Last but not least especially thanks to our 5 Star***** cook Nigel for the great lunch packages and dinners!

Experiences collected over this week cannot be described, you have to
see yourselves! It is really highly to recommend. The places are so great and fascinating that they were chosen also for the movie Pirates of the Carribean part 2.

We saw a lot of things and collected many impressions, but we are convinced that there remain a lot of things we did not see and that is a good reason for coming back to Hibiscus Valley Inn. Sabine, Bernd and Julia Kunzmann from Germany July 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marco_Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
15.9 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
13.5 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
8.0 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
9.0 mi away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Valley Inn

Address: 10 Min South of Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Valley is a Swedish owned guesthouse with its Dominican family atmosphere. We offer 3 different types of accommodation and 12 min from the airport. With three "Nature bungalows" in Dominican ECO country style, with two rooms in each with own bathroom and exotic veranda, they are situated in a beautiful and calm area next to the beautiful Pagua river, with a natural river pool, the rainforest and the Carib territory.All rooms are situated within a minute walk from the beautiful Pagua river with its natural pools. At Hibiscus Valley Inn, we try as hard as possible to take advantage of what the nature offers without encroaching on comfort. The beautiful garden is seen from all the rooms and the hummingbirds sucking nectar just outside your exotic veranda. Four semi-deluxe rooms with AC and other amenities and a spacious bathroom.A wooden cottage by the riverside, can take 7 persons. Open air restaurants specilize in local cuisine with an international touch. An extended tour program with our popular guides, who will take you to known and unknown sites.We cater for English, Swedish, French, Creole spoken and have a German guide on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Valley Inn Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing