We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Heliconia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Heliconia
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our arrival in Grenada on our way to St Lucia. We had asked for a quiet room and were told we would be put at the back but it was still noisy from traffic going to and from the airport. The buses that pass the hotel are great and it is very cheap to travel into St Georges. The room although spacious had no fly screens and we were bitten here more than anywhere else during our three and a half week stay in the Caribbean although we were not sure that it was mosquitos as we never saw them. There is a good beach close by and within walking distance but I don't think we would stay here again. Their website states "free transfers from the airport" but a sign on the wall declared that they had stopped taking people to the airport and not from although they never picked us up and we walked from the airport on our arrival.

Room Tip: It is so close to the road that it won't be quiet but it is within walking distance of the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    39
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
19
60
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Grenada's sister island, Carriacou and again for one night upon return. The place is extremely convenient from the airport, in fact, it is a 10 minutes walk! The primary and exceptional thing about this hotel is the ownership! Debbie and her husband, and their entire family who happened to be there at the same time we were are AWESOME! They are soooo welcoming and friendly. You immediately feel like you are included in their family. After a long trip, its really nice to feel so nurtured and cared about. Everything was lovely, the apartment was more than sufficient, it was reasonably quiet and convenient as well. we took a bus into town which was super fun, as Grenada is a GREAT island to visit and people are so incredibly gregarious I loved every minute of it. Particularly the spice market; not to be missed! I would move to Grenada in a heartbeat should the opportunity ever arise! THANK YOU to La Heliconia!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are likely quieter, although I do not know for sure as I did not stay in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraBG40894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

we stayed there for 1 night on our way to Carriacou, the owners met us at the airport and took us to the ferry the next morning, the room was good and the owners were very welcoming. as we were only there for 1 night we decided to get the bus into St Georges, had dinner in the "Crabback" restaraunt and got a bus back. altogether a very pleasant evening and stay at the la heliconia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Thank you for taking time out to review our property. It was great having you here with us. Thank you for your kind comments.

Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maturin, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recommend this lovely hotel, for those who want peace and good attention while visiting Grenada. Debbie and Francis know how to make people feeling like at home. I specially recommend their full Breakfast and their massage service!. The Apartments are beautiful and they are a really good deal for family trips. All the staff is really helpful. Debbie and Francis, my Family and I will always appreciate your dedication for helping us to find our relatives in Grenada, It was not your duty but you did assume it as yours. It speaks about the quality of people you are and makes you successful in the lodging business.

Marialejandra Reyes Valerio
Venezuela
mrv82008@gmail.com

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in La Heliconia for five nights during a recent visit to Grenada. The hotel is very close to the airport but don't let this out you off as you really wouldn't know that you are that close. It is very quiet with very few planes coming in or taking off each day.
Debbie, the owner, is an excellent host who clearly does all the work between her and Francis. Debbie made us feel very welcome and always had a smile and kind words to offer in what was a difficult time for my family (my father had been taken into hospital in Grenada whilst on holiday).
So if you want anything doing, ask Debbie. Francis will be the one with his backside on the sofa in reception.
The hotel itself is okay. There was no hot water in one of the rooms we had and by little in the other, and this was only in the shower. There are no hot water taps in the sink. Rooms are air conditioned but lounge areas are not. I also had to sleep on one of the sofa beds for the last night due to availability of rooms and this was by uncomfortable. The beds themselves are firm but fine to sleep on.
The rooms are reasonably well kitted out but could do with more glasses for guests to use. There were a few areas that would make a lot of difference to guests but cost very little, such as a small hotel soap in the bathroom and perhaps a small shampoo. Some general bits that you expect in a hotel were missing and that was a shame. There is also no telephone in the rooms.
Thee is also very little that you can walk to from La Heliconia which leaves you a little stranded if you don't have a car.
I can't thank Debbie and her staff enough for the excellent hospitality shown to both my mother and I during our stay. Thank you so much.
Would I recommend this hotel.........just about. Great value compared to other hotels but could offer a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot water! And ask Debbie, not Francis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night early November en route to Carriacou. We flew in late and were leaving early in the morning, so we liked the proximity to the airport. We had booked a night layover four weeks later and ended up cancelling and staying elsewhere. There were several reasons why. We were told that the restaurant would be open when we arrived late, but it wasn't. There was absolutely no hot water, it was freezing! Our friends, who also had a room for the night skipped showering because it was so cold. We had asked for a king bed, and were told it would be no problem. Ended up with less than a double. Bed was very hard and pillows were horrible. The hotel was clean, and normally we could live with some discomforts, but this was too much. We won't stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McIntyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I am sorry that the restaurant was closed on your arrival. The restaurant is closed at 10pm as staff has to get home by local transport. As it was 4 of you I suggested the Beach House Restaurant which was a 10 minute walk around the corner.
Not sure what happened to the hot water. We do run on solar, and may be as you had to leave very early, it was not hot as yet. Maybe the previous day had lots of rain and not very hot, so the water first thing in the morning may have been on the cool side.
You booked 2 Standard Apartments, and one of them has a king size bed and the other has a double bed. So only one of you would of have a king size bed.
Sorry the bed was not up to your standard.

Regards

Debbie and Francis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hello Debbie and Francis! I will always fondly remember the absolutely fantastic week we spent at your hotel in August 2013. Your location turned out perfect for us. You made it possible for me to get a rental car when everyone else said it was impossible during the busy carnival week. Thank you so much for taking care of my teenage son in so many ways, including feeding him and taking him to the carnival!. It was nice to be able to stroll over to the nearby magically beautiful Groom's beach in the early morning. Coming in and going out of your hotel felt like home with your readiness to meet every need; you guys truly represent the best of Grenada. Without reservation, we will certainly come again and recommend your hotel whole heartedly. Best wishes and lots of love always, Karis and son, Ethan.

Room Tip: Roof top room was nice -- great view and cool breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments. So nice hearing from you! We also enjoyed having you both here with us. I enjoyed having your son around, as I had just dropped off my son in the UK to finish his schooling, I missed him very much, so your son was like my son. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we are also looking forward to seeing you soon again. I am glad that I was able to help you with a car.

Take care, see you soon

Regards

Debbie and Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint George Parish hotels
1.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
#1 of 10 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Heliconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Heliconia

Property: La Heliconia
Address: Point Salines, Maurice Bishop Highway, 1115, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Saint George Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Heliconia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Holiday apartments, at competitive prices,with spa, bar and restaurant ,free high speed wifi connection,located on the beautiful island of Grenada in the West Indies.Situated close to the airport and walking distance to fine golden sand beaches, we are ideally placed for self-catering holidays,over nights or visiting your friends and relations in Grenada and at St. George’s University.La Heliconia is on the local bus route, which takes you into the town of St. George. We provide a free pick up service from the airport between the hours of 9am to 5pm. We also provide an early check inn service from 7am, and late check out service to 4pm.There is also an in house taxi service, which we provide for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Heliconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Heliconia Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing