We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful and comfortable retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bel Air Plantation Resort
Oxford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A peaceful and comfortable retreat”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This is a very quiet hotel, rather remote (albeit on a small island), and with nice gardens and waterside location. The accommodation is very comfortable and spacious, although it has not been updated for some years. The restaurant is small but very pleasant, with a good bar. The current chef must be one of the best on the island. Lunch and dinner are excellent, sophisticated, and make full use of local produce. There is no beach at the resort, so you need a car. The housekeeping service is outstanding; the restaurant service somewhat laid back. Breakfast was a little disappointing but they are working on it. The American owner is very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

From the happy hour tapas menue to the dinner menu , you will not be disappointed , best chef on the island and lovely location. Villa's and pool look lovely a real gem .

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank petersgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

I stayed at Bel Air Plantation for a few days with my girlfriend as a birthday present I planned with the assistance of the staff at Bel Air. I must say that it was one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have ever stayed. The owner of the place was great when it came to helping me plan little things for my girlfriend's birthday. The staff at Bel Air was also very friendly and very hospitable.
Bel Air is not really for those looking for an exciting night life but if you are interested in the total feeling of utter relaxation along with the ability to slow down and just enjoy the true essence of your surroundings this is definitely the place. My girlfriend and I stayed in a one bedroom villa overlooking the infinity pool overlooking a beautiful view of the ocean. The villa itself was flawless. The food was great and if you do get a chance to take a walk out to the end of the property overlooking the ocean you should do so because it is very secluded and the views are to die for; a great place for a picnic, which the staff can prepare, or if you would just like to enjoy the environment in a peaceful setting.
All in all Bel Air is just a wonderful place to unwind.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garrako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauchamp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We are on our last day at Bel Air Plantation and don't want to ever leave! After a week of bliss it is hard to imagine going home to everyday life.

Where to start? This small hotel is just perfection for those (like us) who are looking for a quiet retreat. Our cottage is cozy yet spacious, plenty of room, clean as could be and beautifully decorated - best of all very private. The pool is to die for and we have spent many afternoons lazing in and about the pool enjoying the chirrping birds and wonderful views.

We have really enjoyed the restaurant, food is excellent and the staff very attentive and friendly. I was feeling worn out one evening after a long day touring about the island and the chef was incredibly gracious, prepared a wonderful meal for us and personally delivered it to our cottage!

Beautiful island, wonderful hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I recently needed some work done on our 56' sailboat. We were in Grenada and choose Grenada Marine in St. David's.
While the sailboat was on the land being worked on, we decided to stay at the nearby Bel Air Plantation.
We rented a perfect little cottage, the service and staff was great, even surprising us a delivery of movies a few times a week. The food and staff in the restaurant are both great.
But, most impressive was the atmosphere. Wow, we have sailed south from Maine and have stopped at almost all of the islands. Grenada is great and there is absolutely no better place than the Bel Air Plantation to come to relax and enjoy the sea and the sun.
It is really paradise! Just go to the pool and look out over the bay, you will know what I mean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriSant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landlocked Pirate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Eight couples on two chartered bareboat catamarans intended to sail to True Blue Bay last Thursday, but the sun was setting so we dropped our anchors in St. David's Harbour. It was the smartest decision we made on the entire trip.

Fred and Susan have created the absolute perfect getaway on the southeast tip of Grenada. We only stayed one night but the accomodations were flawless. Huge, comfortable king-size beds, totally secluded cottages with all amenities. With no notice beforehand, the Water's Edge Restaurant (on the grounds) was able to serve up 16 of the best dinners had during the trip. The reputation as the finest restaurant on Grenada is well-earned and I'd go farther - dollar-for-dollar it's the best restaurant in the Windward Islands.

Next time we'll be skipping the boat charter and spending a week here. If you're looking for the ultimate Caribbean getaway, you should too.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IronTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We had two weeks in Grenada, one at the above and the other in True Blue.

Bel Air comprises of beautiful cottages situated amid tropical foliage and very secluded. We stayed in the most stunning villa, extremely well furnished, very comfortable, the bedroom with en suite, shower and separate bath. The decor has been carefully thought out, with generous room. The air conditioning is fantastic.

A maid came in every day to make the bed, wash up and clean, she made an excellent job of it, and each evening we returned it was spotless.

The front of our villa had a balcony with table and chairs, plenty of room. Fench doors from the living room and bedroom oped onto the balcony.

The restaurant only really opens on the odd few days as it is so quiet. I personally found it rather soulless, and pretty expensive with limited choice for me. What it is like during the high season I am unsure about.

Bel Air does not have a beach, just a landing pier for RIBS, with a sandy area and chairs, not Grand Anse Beach.

The swimming pool is delightful, very warm and clean. The gardens are really stunning, lots of wildlife, we would return early evening and have a swim after sunset. There is lovely views from the pool over St David's Bay.

We did not have a car, so my advice to anyone thinking of staying is to hire one. Whilst Bel Air is lovely, it is not near the tourist hotels and quite isolated, also there are not that many restaurants nearby.

The owner is very pleasant, anything you need is dealt with promptly. We loved our stay here, our Villa was delightful. Whilst we relaxed, there is no spa as such, I believe there is a lady who does massages.
Sadly for us, we only stayed here a week and then went to True Blue, this was going from Upper Class to economy.
A very pleasant week.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirMgmt, Owner at Bel Air Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Thank you for such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Bel Air Plantation and we hope to see you again.

Just to clarify – our restaurant is open every day from October to June. We reduce the opening days in the summer months only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint David Parish
5.8 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & B...
#1 of 4 in Saint David Parish
188 reviews
14.8 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
5.8 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,069 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Plantation Resort

Property: Bel Air Plantation Resort
Address: St. David's Point, LB 125, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint David Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint David Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel Air Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bel Air Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Plantation Hotel St. David
Hotel Bel Air Plantation
Bel Air Plantation Resort Grenada/Saint David Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing