We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personel seervice and great food”
Review of The Heights - CLOSED

The Heights
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“personel seervice and great food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

ask for the nutmeg ice cream with chocolate sauce.

he likes to be notified of what you want to eat in advance

all the food was served with a smile and tasted great

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stopped off here for lunch on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and were very glad that we did so. The view from the terrace out over Carriacou and various other small islands is stunning and we enjoyed it while drinking Harriet’s homemade (ie from home grown fruit) citrus juice. We arrived rather late for lunch and without booking and DJ and Harriet were about to go out. Nevertheless, they insisted on us staying and on preparing us the most delicious lunch of proper Grenadian food. Highly recommended but it’s probably best to phone first as the dining room is very small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“First class food in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I booked to visit 'The Heights' on the basis of the excellent reviews posted on 'Trip Advisor'. Although we were based in the south of the island, we felt it would be worth coupling having lunch at the restaurant with some sight-seeing en route. After exploring Sautere with its pretty beach and vibrant town, we headed to the restaurant. Following the directions to 'Petite Anse', we encountered the sign for 'The Heights' as indicated on its website. I'm glad we had a car as to walk up the hill would have been a challenge. On arrival, we were greeted as house-guests. There was a very chilled vibe about the place. We sampled the guava and sorrel fruit juices and even relaxed in the hammock. We both ordered lobster, which was served with a very light rice accompaniment and a side salad. The food was cooked to perfection and the portion size was ideal. Having left room for dessert, we couldn't resist the nutmeg ice cream and the lime pie. It was a memorable dining experience, both for the quality of food, the setting and company. We felt that it represented good value and the plaudits the restaurant has received are fully justified.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must when in the north”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our third visit to the north of Grenada and a visit to the Heights was a must.
We went for dinner and Harriet picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel. This was just one part of the excellent service offered at The Heights.
Not an enormous menu but then everything is prepared to order using fresh fish purchased on the day.
The food was delicious and Harriet and DJ as charming as ever.
We did plan on a return visit for lunch but didn't manage it.
Thank you Harriet and DJ you have a very special place and I am sure we will be back.
A BIG THANK YOU>

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlandsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, marvellous views and lovely people”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed near by to the Heights and had been recommended that a visit would be a good idea. Well it certainly was - and we returned many times during our three week holiday. Harriet and DJ are exceptionally warm hosts, who make time to get to know their guests and were very helpful in giving local information. BUT THE FOOD!!!! wonderful! Fresh from DJ's home grown produce. Fish is literally caught to order, so it's exciting to see what is available on the day! The shrimps are to die for!! If only I could cook them here - I don't know what magic occurs in that kitchen - but it's pretty special. Acki and salt fish was another memorable dish. We loved the entire menu, which we steadily worked our way through, along with some pretty excellent wine and delicious nutmeg ice-cream!

If you are anywhere on the island, take time to go to the Heights - remember to ring ahead and book same as many places on the island.

Thank you so much Harriet and DJ for wonderful evenings under your large expanse of sky, eating and drinking at your very special place, star watching and looking at the islands. We won't forget and we will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captain454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heights also viewed

Saint Patrick Parish, Grenada
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Saint Patrick Parish, Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing