We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss out on St Thomas' best kept secret!”
Review of The Pie Whole

The Pie Whole
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss out on St Thomas' best kept secret!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the BEST place to eat in St. Thomas! We keep trying to find another contender but have returned there 3 times (and will be our choice our last night, too) since finding this restaurant. Laura and staff do everything to make sure you have a great dining experience. Don't miss out... make a reservation and enjoy. Easy on the budget.......delightful on the palate!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    143
    44
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food Bad Location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The pizza at The Pie Whole was great. We had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated and then ended up having to eat at the bar...which was cramped. However, the food was well worth the wait!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCHoward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great service, great beer”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Pie Hole came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The selection of pies was great, and they offer gluten free pies with 24 hour notice. The Spanish pie was like nothing else I ever had and was awesome. All that said, the list of Belgian beers was longer than most wine lists. We tried three and they were all great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG - must go here!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My only regret is that we didn't find this place early in our trip - I would definitely have gone back again (maybe even twice). Was lucky to find this place via TripAdvisor (Marriott Frenchman's Reef Adventure Center is zero help unless you want to buy a timeshare) and it was SOOOOO GOOD!

Wide selection of beers and great service but the food is the star of the show. Their dough, the sauce - all great - but I think it was the quality of the toppings that cinched it as the best pizza ever. Yep, best ever and I'm not exaggerating. We sampled the menu with the spinach artichoke dip, hail twisted Caesar salad, fresh herb spaghetti, and hurricane earl pizza. Every single bite of everything was to die for - so very good. Oh, the crime brûlée was a hit too. Perfectly done. I felt bad for the folks who were turned away without reservations knowing what a delight they were missing. Way to go Pie Whole, you're the favorite meal of the trip!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thus was the best pizza and beer I've ever tasted! The bartender was really friendly and this was a quaint little place in Frenchtown that I would highly recommend!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Klprose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pie Whole also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to The Pie Whole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing