We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Chugging along!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kettle Valley Steam Railway

Kettle Valley Steam Railway
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Chugging along!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a great time on the Kettle Valley Railway. A 90 minutes return journey with plenty of time to get off half way for photographs or to buy some delicious fresh cherries being sold along the track. We sat in an outside carriage which was perfect as it was a very hot day. A bit of breeze was very welcome.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    78
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly staff/volunteers, beautiful scenery and very affordable. We booked ahead to get the open air car which I highly recommend - you could almost reach out and touch things as you went by them (but don't try doing that!). One of the things that I really loved was as we went long and passed some residential areas the homeowners would all wave at the train as it went by - I just thought it was nice to see genuine friendliness.

Due to our limited time in the area we did just the train ride - no robbery or lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suebee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome train robbery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very well done. Had my 15 year old and 7 year old with us from out of town. The sheriff and crew entertained us throughout the ride, the live music was a special touch. Valley scenery is stunning.

Real horses and realistic gangsters showed up to rob us to the delight of the 7 year old. It was so fun watching the kids as gangsters rode up beside the train, on horses shooting into the air .

Very good buffet afterwards with really nice food choices, and efficiently run to feed everyone quickly.

Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sask123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our second journey on the Kettle Valley Railway and it doesn't get old. Both my children who are under 5 loved every second!

This trip brings you back to a much simpler time. The sound of the whistle, the smell of the old coal.........it is really something else.

We cannot wait to come back next year for our third visit!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank britishpride16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spending time in a real life time machine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I live in Kelowna but only thought of doing the train ride to entertain our daughter and her visiting friend. Fifteen year old girls are not easy to interact with but they really enjoyed this ride. We did too and we will go back and try the Sunday run when the train robbery happens. We also went back a few days later and rode horses on the trail ride there which is the same scenery above the tracks but a lot different from horseback. The staff from both places were really wonderful and we'll make it a thing to do when we have visitors from now on. The train is appropriate for all ages and levels of fitness and something the whole family from newborn baby to grandma in a wheelchair can do together. Need to call ahead though and reserve. We didn't do that and couldn't all sit together.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenGoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kettle Valley Steam Railway also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Kettle Valley Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing