We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Apples N Wine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 22 Summerland B&B and Inns
British Columbia Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Apples N Wine Bed & Breakfast September 2013 when we attended the Penticton Jazz Festival. Our stay was amazing. Wonderful view of the lake, bed was very comfortable, suite is very clean and the breakfast.......What can I say.....WOW! Three course breakfast which is different every time you stay. Liz keeps track of what she has served so you never have a duplicate breakfast. She has over 700 cookbooks!! We were spoiled with good china, crystal, silverware and the most amazing meal. I could not finish it. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the LV Suite. In the wine makers suite, Liz & Denis supply the food and you cook y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Postie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well, I must begin with the amazing breakfasts which were accompanied by a printed weather report and menu (weather for both Summerland and the guests' home town) and a local paper..nice touches!....Not only was the food at a Four Seasons Hotel level in terms of prep, variety and presentation, but it was consumed at a dining table with a backdrop of beautiful Lake Okanagan viewed through a wall of windows in the dining/living area...Each breakfast was served by the hosts on different dishes daily and featured a variety of creative offerings that was quite remarkable. This very friendly, sincerely committed couple make most B and B hosts look like absentee landlords!

The accomodation we had was a clean, bright one bedroom apartment with a large balcony looking over the lake. It came with a very comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom , even a closet area with ample hangers, not to mention an excellent computer, Wi-Fi, 46 inch TV and DVD player including recent DVDs plus a very helpful array of books and magazines of local interest.... everything a traveller could want.

Liz and Denis made themselves available for any kind of question and their recommendations were right on for restaurants, wineries, etc.

There is another unit , also with lake view, but a bit smaller and offering a self catering breakfast (at a lower price of course!)

When we departed we felt like we had made some new friends and we were left wondering if the local tourism authority knows what enthusiastic ambassadors Liz and Denis are for the Okanagan area!!

As a previous reviewer said: " a hidden gem"..... indeed!

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment is for those wanting it all with lots of pampering....the smaller suite be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyinBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was contemplating not writing this review only because I wanted to keep this little gem to myself. But in the end here I am sharing- a bit a little late as I have been travelling. Last month was the second time we stayed with Liz and Denis on our way out to the West Coast. Last year we found out about Apples-N-Wine from the Summerland visitors centre. The owners were gracious hosts right from the get go as over the phone he explained the 2 units at the Bed and Breakfast- one was self catering and the other was full cooked breakfast. We found that he explained it well to us. We were on a bit of a tight budget and took the self catered option. The unit was totally self contained and they have thought of everything- popcorn popper, snacks, teas, coffee, soap, shampoo, up to date magazines, dvd's and so much more! He met us on check in and pointed us to the local attractions as well as the 'locals' favourites that were not in our guidebook. We loved that! As well the balcony right outside was lovely and we saw lots of quails. The options we for our self catering breakfast and were explained to us and the next morning we were greeted with such a spread and the BEST coffee and muffins. My husband opted for the egg McMuffin like sandwich. We were sad to go but . So this summer once again we were off to the West Coast and wanted to stay with them again. This time we opted for the Lakeview Suite as we wanted the full meal deal. They remembered us from last year and treated us like old friends. Denis told us about a couple of new wineries we had to try out as well as some new restaurants. Again the suite was lovely with THE most peaceful lake view where we sipped our wine and watched the sun go down. The breakfast was AMAZING. I felt like I was at a fancy restaurant. Liz's cooking and attention to detail was out of this world. And the courses kept coming. We spent 2 lovely days exploring around Summerland and being entertained by Liz and Denis who have travelled all around the world. You can tell that they have travelled a lot as their bed and breakfast has all the little things that make your stay comfortable. I disagree with the previous reviewer about signs around the unit. We did not find there to be "rules". Yes there was signage but keep in mind that the Okanagan attracts people from all over the world and some of the signage was just informing people of things like the septic tank, how to work the popcorn popper, etc. Things that are not known to everyone. I think they have made a little bit of paradise in the Okanagan. We cannot wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you take advantage of the hot tub with the lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a nice stay there in June. The weather could have been better and the room was a bit chilly in the evening but overall our experience was a good one. The room and the kitchenette were well appointed with even a popcorn maker and a wine fridge.

If you are into e-books check this one out on Kobobooks.com: "High Tea With Castro".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We knew this was going to be an interesting B&B once we saw the seemingly endless rule book in our room. "Women must wash make up off their face before bed" and "Do not leave hair on the sheets" were two of the more memorable rules that governed our brief stay.

For breakfast, we were shown by our military commandant-turned-B&B opertator how to use the walmart Egg McMuffin maker, even though it came with two pages of rules. Instead of just making it for us (Bed and Breakfast, right?) we had to make it ourselves. And then clean it. As we finished up, the owner remarked that the people staying in the room above us had been served breakfast because they paid a little more. I guess we hadn't read that rule.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank van10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed two nights and were surprised and pleased each day. Breakfast and special service is fantastic. Location is centrial, can't wait to return,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandersin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a wonder stay at this bed and breakfast, centrally located near all of the Summerland wineries. The breakfasts were over the top, plentiful and very delicious, dishes you've probably never seen before. This is not for those who are watching their waistline. Be sure to have dinner at Zias Stonehouse -huge portions, great seafood, good prices. Also a must visit is Sonoran Winery, have a delicious lunch on the patio. The view is breathtaking. If you like ice cream, visit Summerland Sweets, 2-1 coupons often available. The Kettle Valley Railway ride gives you the most beautiful views of the entire valley. Skip the Great Train Robbery unless you have kids and really want to spend your money.
Ps try and get seats on the left side of train if possible.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereisNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerland hotels
0.5 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sundial Bed & Breakfast
Sundial Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in Summerland
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summerland Motel
Summerland Motel
#2 of 4 in Summerland
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#3 of 4 in Summerland
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harvest Moon Guest House
Harvest Moon Guest House
#8 of 22 in Summerland
3 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Iris B and B
Blue Iris B and B
#1 of 5 in Summerland
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Apples N Wine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Apples N Wine Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Apples N Wine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5680 Hespeler Rd, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult oriented B&B offering luxury suites in the Okanagan Valley Wine Region of British Columbia, Canada. Surrounded by orchards, vineyards, near award winning wineries and sandy beaches ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing