We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for Summerland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pho Vietnamese

Pho Vietnamese
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Summerland
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good enough for Summerland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Being a Vancouverite having access to so many good pho places back home, I didn't have high expectations for this place. However it was right across from my motel, and the craving for a hot bowl of beef noodles hit, so I had absolutely no choice but to check it out! Overall pretty decent with fast service. I think the owners are Vietnamese, if potential authenticity matters to you. As expected, the soup was high in MSG. The noodles were also a bit clumpy, and the slices of beef were overcooked. But it still satisfied my craving, so I was still a happy camper! You'll be happy if you're not picky and just want some nice hot noodle soup :).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGL112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We had Pho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The Pho as delicious white the exception that all the green herbs were already added to the Pho. I prefer to add little bits at a time and use no cilantro. They had plenty of cilantro and little lemongrass.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for the Pho!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A bowl of Pho is a great lunch on a cold fall day, and Pho Vietnamese is the place to get it. Unpretentious and comfortable, they serve tasty Pho at good prices. I had the house special Pho (Pho Dac Biet, #1) which was excellent, and they have seven other varieties on the menu. But don't think that you are limited to Pho; there is a variety of items on the menu sufficient to please anyone who loves the food of Southeast Asia. Servings are generous and the prices are quite reasonable.
There was one young gentleman taking orders and tending tables when I visited. He seemed shy and uncomfortable but was helpful and courteous. Warnings in other reviews about the service are rather overstated.
Sometimes ambiance is a critical issue for diners. Pho Vietnamese is comfortable enough but the restaurant is fairly basic. If you want good, fresh food at very reasonable prices then you won't mind. Just relax and enjoy the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good warm soup on a chilly fall day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hubby and I were on our way back from a trip to the 'States and I was sick of American food (fried, fried and MORE fried!). I suggested we try and find a Pho restaurant in the area and he came up with this little gem of a restaurant. Food was good and reasonably priced (loved the spring rolls and seafood soup!) Hubby had a pork sandwich and bowl of beef pho (he had ordered one dish but accidently got another instead; English seemed to be an issue, so Hubby just ate the soup; it was still good he said ;). We would certainly go back if we wanted Pho and were in the Summerland area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PussycatBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

One of our favorite restaurants in the area. Authentic Vietnamese food. Have tried at least 4 or 5 different kinds of their soups and all are delicious. Also, great stir fries. Always find the vegetables very fresh. Mom's in the kitchen and the son is the server. He can appear to be a bit matter of a fact,but it's just his manner. The location has been several different restaurants in the past, it's not fancy but well worth trying. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Vietnamese also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Pho Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing