We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great products, excellent service!”

Sumac Ridge Estate Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.90*
and up
Beat the Bottleneck: Summerland Full-Day Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are celebrating our 34th year as an estate winery in 2015. Sumac Ridge was the first operating estate winery in British Columbia. We have been dedicated to producing wine from 100% BC grown grapes since our inception. We are home to three unique brands in one iconic location. Sumac Ridge Private Reserve wines have welcomed you home for over 30 years. The traditional method sparkling wines of Steller's Jay are wonderfully vivacious, perfect for any occasion. The bold wines of the Black Sage Vineyard speak to the terroir, telling the story of 20 year-old vines planted in the right place at the right time. Visit the winery for a tasting, tour or picnic. We are open for tastings year round, tours and picnics run from May to October.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great products, excellent service!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We just stopped by as we knew some of their products. We tried the Sauvignon Blanc, Gewürztraminer, sparkling Gewürztraminer (loved that one!), Cabernet Franc (superb, but could get better with a couple of years aging). The lady was very helpful, giving great amount of information and tasting was free with purchase. On the top of that, $10 rebate with TD infinite visa on $50 or more purchase that day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    40
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This is what it's all about!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Well worth visiting, this smaller, personal-touch winery exemplifies the true nature of Okanagan wines: great wines in a beautiful setting. The staff (that's YOU, Jim!!), is most helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vino4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“No lunch here”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stopped to try them for lunch. Apparently the restaurant has been closed, and we were told that it wasn't just for the season but a permanent decision. Too bad as they would have a fantastic spot. Enjoyed the wine tastings with a happy, friendly, informative attendant. Will be trying more wine varieties as a result of the education. Thanks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinyVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sumac ridge tour”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

very friendly staff with a nice selection of wine tasting Nice decor I really liked the different chocolates to taste with wine and all the different cook books. Not too far a drive. catered well to wine tours and indavidual tours. loved the scenery. I would stop again


Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Winery has excellent wines at very reasonable prices. Have been for tastings and lunch here and have always enjoyed the day! Worth a stop as you enter Summerland!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BertiBoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumac Ridge Estate Winery also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Sumac Ridge Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing