We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will like it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Britsh Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You will like it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Summerland Resort. It is located right beside Okanagan Lake in Summerland, not far from Penticton. The best thing we like about it is the large rooms with everything in them, a suite really.

At first it doesn't seem like there is much parking but there is a large underground parking lot under the building. I think the main lobby should have a larger, more significant main door, at least from the parking lot. To get to some rooms you follow a combination of inside and outside hallways/walkways.

The rooms are the best. The beds are great, bathroom good, views great. It was quiet and clean. Everything we used worked including the gas fireplace. Check in and out was fine. The restaurant is high end with awesome food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWind12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    343
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
360
505
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Waterfront Resort and Spa for Valentine's Day. We received a decent off season rate on a suite with a view of the water. It had a galley kitchen, fireplace in the living "room" and an enormous soaker tub in the bathroom. The suite was nicely appointed, clean and the staff was friendly. The outdoor pool was closed for the winter but the hot tub was open. We had a walk on the boardwalk along the lake. Nice to see a small marsh area was preserved for water fowl and turtles. I can see this property being very busy in the summer. Great location for families as well as couples looking for a getaway. Close proximity to the restaurant and the lounge that used to be Shaunessey's Cove but is now called Local Lounge and Grille.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueiris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a wonderful time. Our room was great. I asked if an upgrade was available and the front desk clerk said he would upgrade our room He assured me I would not be disappointment, although I would not be getting the lakeview as my booked room would be.
I was not disappointed. They were short staffed but the staff available was very friendly and helpful. The bed was amazing but the outdoor furniture was not so much. It would be so nice to enjoy the patio with quality and comfortable outdoor furniture. I've enjoyed this hotel in the summer and in the winter. This was not our first time staying there and certainly will not be our last.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

summerland waterfront resort is great. Rooms are amazing with the view of the lake and the dock. There is walking trails around it with looks of birds. The trails also connect to the public beaches. There is a resterant there also. You can drive your boat up and stay at the resort.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms that face the lake they are amazing thats why they cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We decided to take a drive to the Okanagan and stay for a night. We got a great off season rate. We loved our 1 bedroom suite. Fireplace, big comfy chairs Well stocked kitchen and we were able to enjoy a cup of tea in the moring Gorgeous view of the lake a bird sanctuary. The mattress was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever had. The room was very quiet.
Check in was quick and staff were very helpful.
I must add, it was Valentine's day and we were still given the terrific deal.
Parking is free and underground.
We will be going back very soon.

Room Tip: Any room that faces the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Rooms were nice, but the heat in our room was unbearable...at 2am it was 25 degrees even though we turned the thermostat off and opened the window and patio door...hard to sleep. We had a lakeview room, but the room access was outside, so it was kind of noisy

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, General Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the resort and its team for your stay. Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded room to you on a different floor as we do try to always reallocate guest to other rooms if they encounter issues such as you have. You may also be interested to learn that all of our guest rooms are heated with GEO Thermal heating as well as the rest of our resort. In regards to the heat spike that you experienced, we do recognize that our units have spiked recently and we are doing our best to isolate these. We are currently replacing cross loop valves in each unit to rectify this issue. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed in late March or when fits your schedule best so that you could experience our resort as it was meant to be. Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details so I may place notes on your profile about room location and If you are travelling to Okanagan again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to the Okanagan area was most enjoyable.
Kind Regards,

Jason Brown

Email: agm@summerlandresorthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have been going to Summerland at least once a year for the past 45 years. This is the first time we decided to stay at the Summerland Waterfront Resort and Spa. What a great deal! We got a fabulous off-season rate on a studio suite, but when we arrived, the pleasant front desk clerk stated, "oh, we upgraded you to a 1 bedroom suite on the third floor". The room was overlooking the Okanangan Lake and had a great balcony. The bedroom was upstairs in the loft with an awsome soaker tub in the ensuite bathroom. Our dog loved barking at the birds and frogs around the lake. In January, it is very peaceful and calm...not so much in the summer, I'm told. The free underground parking was very handy. The pool and hot tubs are not open in the winter as advertised, however, there is a nice gym and sauna. You can do your laundry for free. If you need housekeeping, you can get it, for a price. Our room was spotless. The furniture could stand for some repair and the kitchen supplies were limited, but for the price... loved it!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lake side with a balcony. Beautiful views. Third floor is at the top and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Property: Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing