We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience at Summerland Waterfront Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience at Summerland Waterfront Resort”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently stayed at this resort, looking for some rest and relaxation. We were very disappointed, as they seem to have squeezed the maximum number of units possible onto this piece of waterfront property. The pool was long and narrow, squeezed between the hotel and the lakeshore with no shade at all, no trees and not even any umbrellas. There were 2 very small sandy beach areas, but the combined length could not have been more than 50 feet.
In addition there was almost no green space, and they didn't have enough parking for all the guests. We were told that if the underground parking was full we could use their overflow lot, and if that was full we could park on the street.
There was a restaurant on site, but it wasn't actually part of the Resort, so there was no room service available; instead they offered "take-out", ie you could go and wait in the restaurant lounge for your food order.
Needless to say, we only stayed one night and moved on to something better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to, and if you do, don't get a room overlooking the asphalt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I regret to hear that your trip was not a satisfactory one. Based on the comments that you have shared you recognized that you needs and expectations would not have been met to a certain extent as we cannot change some things i.e. The Building and layout of the property. You are right about the restaurant being a separate business from the hotel; this is not at all uncommon in hotels throughout Canada and the rest of the world. We do our best to provide services that our guest will enjoy but with the design of the property it is just not feasible to offer room service that is why Local Lounge & Grille offers Local to go service so you can enjoy takeout in your room. Our parking is an ongoing issue that is recognized buy the hotel and will continue to be during the summer months, as you can appreciate that guest come from all over Western Canada and Northern U.S and use Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa as a meeting ground which equates to our parking problems.
You have made some great suggestions about having more umbrellas and improving the green space around the pool and rest of the property which we will take into consideration.
We appreciate that you have taken the opportunity to at least try out the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa.
I would like to once again offer my apologies for this unfortunate experience. Please feel free to contact myself via email or phone to discuss further.

Best Regards,
Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    353
    101
    31
    29
See reviews for
375
530
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spending a few days beside a lake is a must to do when you visit Canada in the summer.It is the rule which Canadian is also follow in their country.There are two main choice for accommodation,first is camping which is very exciting and fun and second is going to Hotels which is relaxing and comfortable .Location is excellent. This hotel is in Okanagan lake which is 6th largest lake of Canada( some times more similar to sea).This lake is very suitable for swimming and water sports . Water is silent and acceptable temperature( of course for Canada which some famous lake like lake Louise has the temperature less than 10 degree c ).Also it is near to Pentincton ( about 10 km) which is best place for night life around Okanagan .
The hotel has some different type of rooms .I had a loft with exceptional view from inside and balcony. a very large kitchen very good equipped. You will find everything you imagine like Laundry in side the room, coffee maker.
The summer is short here so you should book your room at least 2 months in advance to find something you find August is the best time.
Water sports facilities are limited and like other hotels more expensive .
Beside the Hotel there is lovely restaurant ( the owner is different) which I highly recommend it for at list one meal may be breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alireza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is a welcome high end oasis in a small town. you can't find a better full service place right on the lake. The staff were great and so very helpful. The rooms are a little small but we still were fine with a full house including kids running abound. Condition of the place is very well maintained. We couldn't ask for more.

The kid's camp was amazing. Friendly staff who accommodated us and our kids' requests with a smile. The restaurant was just as nice, great ambiance, good food and friendly service.

Highly recommend if you want a first class experience on the lake. I found it a little steep for my pocket but everyone has their own price they'd like to pay. I would go back for certain.

Room Tip: Ground floor units have less view but easy and free access to parking or just walking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous spot on the lake. Great condo style hotel. Very handy to have a full kitchen with 2 small children. We got a free upgrade to a 1 bedroom. It's great that it's pet friendly. They made special accommodations for us to store our golf cart in their staff parking lot. Nice gym and pool. Fab restaurant right next door. Free laundry on site! Very close to park and spray park which the kids loved. Only issue was they made multiple errors when booking the reservation but got it all worked out with multiple phone calls before our arrival.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great views and right on the lake. Beautiful and spacious condo style rooms with all the amenities of a home, it would be perfect for families. The beds were incredibly comfortable! Wasn't the most soundproof hotel, could hear people in room above.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I was travelling with my wife, year and a half year old daughter and 4 and a half year old son. Very good location as it is close to the beach and another 10 minute walk to a beach with small water/spray park. We had bachelor type room that was well layed out and overlooked the pool. Microwave didn't work. Each room at this resort is owned by someone and the resort takes care of renting them out. Excellent restaurant nearby called 'Local'. Boat rentals are very close and the city of Summerland is a 10 minute drive for groceries. The room was very clean and well looked after. It had a dishwasher, dishes, dvd, tv, wifi (no charge), nice bathroom, etc... The AC unit is nice a quiet as well.

Room Tip: If you have kids I would get at least a one bedroom. There are two bedrooms available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for my Bachlorette party. It was amazing. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a lake view and big balcony. The kitchen was excellent and had almost everything you needed. The two barbecues in the picnic area were also very handy. We only went out for dinner once because we had such great opportunities to cook our dinners. We went to The Local, which is a restaurant across from the hotel. The food was great.

The hotel is very clean, and the staff are friendly. The hotel is located in a wonderful residential neighborhood. Its also a close drive to a shopping centre.

Basically, you should look no further. if you want to stay in Summerland, this hotel is by far the best option. We loved it!

Room Tip: Must get the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudytaStepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Property: Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing