We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken promise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked a one bedroom bluff view unit for four nights at this property because of it's peaceful location. We absolutely needed rest before a two day business event that would be exhausting. At somewhere around 4 am on our first night, we hadn't slept because the room was a stifling 28 degrees C and would not cool down. The front desk agent confirmed the problem and moved us to a basic room next door for the remainder of the night, apologizing for the situation, and promising to comp the room for that night (we didn't ask him to do that). After 4 hours of sleep, we were wakened by leaf blowers operating directly outside or our bedroom. The hotel moved us to a one bedroom water view unit without charging us extra, but again we were awakened the next morning by a screaming child in the hot tub directly below our unit. Upon check out, we were charged for the first night after all, so the promise to comp the room was not honored. We are frequent business travelers and do not often encounter situations in Canada where a promise at an upscale hotel is made and not honored. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the setting is beautiful, but broken promises are something that turns a positive experience into a negative one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Gent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa. I see from the comments that you have made that this review comes down to the one issue about not having the comp room and what seems to be an enjoyable night’s sleep. I do apologize for that. However we cannot control city workers and tell other guest to quiet down during normal operating hours. I am very grateful to hear that the Staff went above and beyond to accommodate you needs and we truthfully appreciate those valued comments from our guests. I did look at your reservation and noticed you did receive 50% by the Night Audit Agent that helps you that very same night. I do hope to see you back at the resort in the future.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was pretty clean, but I was unhappy to note that for such a highly-rated property, so many of the furnishings were worn out. The lampshades had holes in the them and the bedding was stained and old. The walls were thin and we could hear any conversations from the hallway and it was noisy in the morning. The location was wonderful, though, right near the boutiques. There was a public beach nearby and the resort's beach, while small, seemed fairly adequate. I didn't get to use the pool, but another guest was quite enthusiastic about it. The restaurants were pricey for the menu selections, but they appeared well-attended.

Room Tip: We opted for the ocean view but there is music on the patio that you can hear in the room. The town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at summerland resort several times. We came down from kelowna to relax 1 day and have dinner at local lounge. The rooms are clean and comfy. Made use of the hottub and gym twice. If you want to cook in the unit it has everything you need. Great lake view over to naramata and penticton.
We will be back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

friendly people, nice facility. lots of attention to detail. the only things to make it a little more perfect is the morning coffee offerings. i like the old kind of coffee, so that had me and the wife searching for a local market to get a can of maxwell house coffee. then we had to rip off the local mcdonalds to get sugar bacause there wasnt any in our room or avaliable at the front desk....its okay though because it gave us lots of opportunity to meet people here.

i would definitely come back here though. lots of creature comforts, a great nights sleep....quiet.

surrounding area has good night life and wine tours that are open year round. tomorrow has us checking out the crowsnest pass highway toward hope,b.c.

Room Tip: pick a different room each time you come to visit....keeps things interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidsonwithoutkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review with the Trip Advisor Community. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your time with us. We could have done some things better, such as the sugar in the suite so you did not have to rip off the McDonalds. A memory it will be I am eager to share this review with our Team at the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa. Thanks again for choosing us as your holiday destination and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband booked us into this resort as part of a surprise getaway in August. It was very family friendly, which wasn't ideal for a romantic getaway, but with that being said it's the only decent place to stay in Summerland. The rooms were clean and modern. We had a King suite facing the water. All the suite have full kitchenettes. Only downside to the kitchenette (which we didn't use other then to keep bottled water cold) was that the previous guests had fried bacon in the suite, which left quite a strong smell in the room. I was 36 weeks pregnant at the time & very sensitive to odours. Housekeeping immediately helped me with dealing with the smell once I complained. I would highly recommend a room with a balcony facing the water- worth the extra $. The pool was nice but due to the layout of the building it was highly shaded during the daytime, which was not great for tanning.The location of this resort is awesome. Right on the water, secluded & close to all of the wineries. The Local restaurant, which is on the property but not run by or affiliated with this hotel was overpriced for the quality of the food but we ate there everyday due to the close proximity to the hotel. The Beyond Wrapture spa was great for the price. They even brought in a freelance reflexologist for treatments for us when we enquired about Reflexology. A great stay. We will return again, probably next time with our children.

Room Tip: Top floor suites with water views and balcony worth the $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Summerland Waterfront Resort was wonderful! The rooms are neat, well appointed and decorated tastefully with very nice colors and art. The staff is pleasant, the cafe reasonable with a good selection. We love staying. And it's pet friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for making time to write a review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. We do love our little piece of heaven right here in the Okanagan. We are having some of our first overcast days in many weeks, but the lake is as smooth as glass. We hope the sunshine returns very soon! I am glad to hear the staff treated you well and the Bistro was to your liking.
Please do come back and visit us soon! We run excellent specials during the winter months.
Regards,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just back from a weeks stay at the Summerland Waterfront Resort. We had a great time. The accomdations were 5 star in our books, Large one bedroom unit with a great deck overlooking the lake. Could not have been better. And the food next door......"Local"...great menu, great service, just what we like.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a lake view and not overlooking the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range: £81 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing