We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed for a week of relaxation and skiing (Apex mountain is a lovely hour drive from the hotel).
Upon arrival, the hotel not only met our expectations, but exceeded them, and only continued to do so throughout the visit. I would certainly stay here again, perhaps in summer when we can take advantage of the lake a bit more than simply staring at its beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
There are newer reviews for Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed in a lake view suite in the spring. Quick check in. Underground parking. Beautiful suite, we slept with the windows open and heard the many birds singing in the reserve at the back. Very clean, much better than Spirit Ridge in Osooyoos. Excellent kitchen with all you need. Good bed. Quiet night, but I think it would be noisy in the summer as the lakeview rooms overlook the pool.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EliannaRiverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves during your visit. It certainly sounds like you had an amazing time with us this time around. We are very proud of our green space and that people really take the benefit and just experience the true location beauty of our resort. We certainly do appreciate the very kind comments in our housekeeping areas; I will pass your kind comments on to the entire housekeeping team. I must say, it is beautiful at this time of the year and without the heat we experience in the summer time, quite relaxing.

We hope we can welcome you back soon, for another great experience.

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed in room 247, a studio suite at the north end of the hotel over Christmas 2012. The price for the room was only $86 per night, which was excellent value for what you get.

Booking can be done on-line at their website - not just an email to the hotel, it is a confirmed booking that can be completed immediately, secured by credit card.

Check-in was efficient, although in the winter it appears they only keep one person at the desk, perhaps due to low occupancy.

The room itself was on par with what you would find in a 5 star hotel, with the addition of a full kitchen. I suppose it is bit odd to find a full kitchen in a regular sized hotel room, but it was fine with me, and it is quite useful for cooking your own meals if you want to save money and/or don't want to eat in a restaurant for every meal. The kitchen is *very* well stocked, with plates, bowls, cups, glasses, lots of cutlery (quite good quality), pots, pans, toaster, can opener, etc. etc. Everything I needed was there. In the closet there is an ironing board and iron. The bathroom has a hair dryer. (The motion sensor night-light in the bathroom is also a thoughtful touch.) There is a list of room amenities on their web site.

There was some serious thought put into the design and furnishing of these rooms, and it really shows.

The only minor inconvenience about the hotel is that to get to/from the north rooms, there is about a 30 meter traverse across an outdoor balcony, like at a motel. It would be no problem in the Summer, but in the winter it is a bit chilly. Also there is only one elevator, located at the south end, so it is a bit of a hike getting bags from the garage to the north rooms.

Check out was very efficient and quick. Less than one minute, I think.

So overall I was quite happy with my stay, and considered it excellent value for the money. But I stayed in the winter when I assume prices are at discount rates.

Room Tip: To get from the elevator to the rooms at the north end of the hotel, you must walk through a 30 mete...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting this outstanding review of the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa. The Crisp White Mountains are certainly a sight to see this time of year. I am very happy to hear that you found our accommodations of great Value and the service exceptional. It is nice to see that our website was very useful for your booking experience and accessible for your needs of information about the Summerland resort.

We hope to see you back at the property to enjoy a summer getaway as much as you did during your recent stay. The summer only gets better!

Thank You

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Lovely suites, 1 bed suite with lakeview. Great kitchen and large bathroom. Off season so nice time to enjoy the quiet.

They didn't service our room, that's my only conplaint. I suspect it was due to it being off season and limited staff. Aircon a bit dodgey!

Very good and would recommend! Summerland is nicer than penticton, close to wineries and Iga (for supplies)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked a one bedroom bluff view unit for four nights at this property because of it's peaceful location. We absolutely needed rest before a two day business event that would be exhausting. At somewhere around 4 am on our first night, we hadn't slept because the room was a stifling 28 degrees C and would not cool down. The front desk agent confirmed the problem and moved us to a basic room next door for the remainder of the night, apologizing for the situation, and promising to comp the room for that night (we didn't ask him to do that). After 4 hours of sleep, we were wakened by leaf blowers operating directly outside or our bedroom. The hotel moved us to a one bedroom water view unit without charging us extra, but again we were awakened the next morning by a screaming child in the hot tub directly below our unit. Upon check out, we were charged for the first night after all, so the promise to comp the room was not honored. We are frequent business travelers and do not often encounter situations in Canada where a promise at an upscale hotel is made and not honored. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the setting is beautiful, but broken promises are something that turns a positive experience into a negative one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Gent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa. I see from the comments that you have made that this review comes down to the one issue about not having the comp room and what seems to be an enjoyable night’s sleep. I do apologize for that. However we cannot control city workers and tell other guest to quiet down during normal operating hours. I am very grateful to hear that the Staff went above and beyond to accommodate you needs and we truthfully appreciate those valued comments from our guests. I did look at your reservation and noticed you did receive 50% by the Night Audit Agent that helps you that very same night. I do hope to see you back at the resort in the future.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was pretty clean, but I was unhappy to note that for such a highly-rated property, so many of the furnishings were worn out. The lampshades had holes in the them and the bedding was stained and old. The walls were thin and we could hear any conversations from the hallway and it was noisy in the morning. The location was wonderful, though, right near the boutiques. There was a public beach nearby and the resort's beach, while small, seemed fairly adequate. I didn't get to use the pool, but another guest was quite enthusiastic about it. The restaurants were pricey for the menu selections, but they appeared well-attended.

Room Tip: We opted for the ocean view but there is music on the patio that you can hear in the room. The town...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at summerland resort several times. We came down from kelowna to relax 1 day and have dinner at local lounge. The rooms are clean and comfy. Made use of the hottub and gym twice. If you want to cook in the unit it has everything you need. Great lake view over to naramata and penticton.
We will be back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range: £84 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing