We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We had a one bedroom suite over the waterfront. Recomendation is pay the extra money and get a waterfront view as the mountain view looks at a fairly steep cliff less then 200 feet away. So really there is no view to the back side at all. The rooms are well appointed and were very clean. The on site Resteraunt called Locals was very good but quite the limited menu. I had the deconstructed lemon pie and it was excellent.
If you are staying for a few days bring your supplies with you as there really is no shopping close to the resort. Thou Summerland town Center is only about a 10 minute ride away.
I don't remember the web site saying it but this resort and grounds are all totally smoke free. If you smoke you need to go to the parking lot across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    334
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
354
488
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Close to the water. Close to the shops. Close to the highway... yet still out of the way. The rooms are nice... not inexpensive. The rooms are well maintained and the staff are friendly. We stayed in rooms with kitchen and laundry. It was very convenient. The whole family enjoyed the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guyQualicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We got upgraded from a cliff view to a lakeview without asking. Not sure why but already I liked the place. The room was well laid out and roomy. Comfy bed. Great kitchen. The restaurant on the property had some great food. Few cons. The place is on the waterfront but the beach is pretty small. The lake was pretty weedy. The heater on the pool was busted so very cold. Still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FactoringGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a hockey camp in Summerland. We loved everything about our room and how modern the whole resort felt.
We will definitely stay again, as we are thinking of moving our yearly Osoyoos trip to Summerland.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This is such a great spot and I have stayed here many times. The rooms are almost all like small apartments with kitchenettes, open fireplaces and flat screen televisions. The hotel is right on the water and if you get a waterfront room you will wonder whether ou should ever leave your balcony. At night, having a glass of wine on the balcony, looking out onto the lake in the warm summer air is pure heaven.

There's a nice little Bistro in the lobby and a great restaurant "Local" on the property but not associated with the hotel.

This hotel is excellent for families, but is equally great for a romantic getaway or a relaxing week of boating, swimming etc. truly one of the nicest hotels in the Okanagan Valley.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our unit was like an apartment. We only stayed for two nights during our honeymoon, so we didn't take full advantage, but everything seemed to be clean and in good condition. Our bedroom and closet doors opened into each other, so that was sometimes awkward. Property is right on the lake, but we didn't have a chance to take advantage of any rentals or lake activities. The pool and hot tub were nice - both outdoors - but very busy with lots of kids. It seems that many families will stay during the summer while their kids do hockey camp in Penticton.

We booked the wine tour package, which was a nice bundle, though I don't know if it saves you any money. The tour was with Top Cat Tours and our guide was very good. The Naramata Bench tour was recommended to us (rather than Bottleneck Drive).

The location is great in that it is right on the lake and walking distance from some larger beaches, but you will need a car to get around, even to go into the main part of Summerland itself.

If I was staying for a longer time with a family, needed a kitchenette, and wanted to be on the lake, I would book here again. Otherwise, if I was just looking for a place to stay, I would look for somewhere cheaper and closer to things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'm posting this as an advisory to travelers that might need to use the Internet while away from home. This hotel advertises "High Speed Internet". We've been at the hotel for 3 summer vacations and each time it is next to impossible to get any Internet service. When you can actually connect the speeds are so slow that it takes about 45 seconds to load a text email.

I've run some speed tests and consistently got about 0.12 Mbps when it's actually working.

Each year that I voice my concerns they say something like "When the hotel is at full capacity it takes up most of the bandwidth".

We've stayed at hotels all over the world and this one by far has the worst connectivity. It would be an easy fix on their end to add another T1 line or two to deal with the bandwidth issues. I even think that the guests would be willing to pay a fee for acceptable Internet service.

Bottom line - if you need to stay in touch with the outside world while away then look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 1FamilyTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Property: Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing