We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quaint. Perfect getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agassiz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Agassiz B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quaint. Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My girlfriend and I spent our first-time trip together at South Garden B&B for 3 nights while touring Harrison Hot Spring. It was my first time at a B&B in BC and was blown away by the owners' quality of service, the provided amenities and their effort to making each guest feel special and comfortable.

We stayed at the Sunflower Suite and love that we have our own private door. The room was monstrously spacious. There were different sized hand-knitted socks in a basket by the door. One queen sized bed and a large futon bed. Every morning, we enjoyed a full breakfast of our choice that we'd selected on the previous day from a picnic basket. Complimentary snacks such as potato chips, tea bags, hot chocolate, coffee, kisses chocolates, water bottles, juices and soft drinks were provided and replenished daily. We often packed our unfinished home-made scones and/or muffins from breakfast with their free juices as afternoon snacks while sightseeing. At the corridor, they have a selection of old DVD movies, microwave and extra glasses, plates and utensils for guests to help themselves. I did not have a chance to try their outdoor hot tub because of the cold wet weather but I had hot tub in my own private room.

For the same room rates as offered by Harrison Hot Spring Hotel, I find South Garden B&B more favorable considering their rooms are more comfortable to stay in. Moreover, they include FREE breakfast, snacks, hot tub, parking and DVD movies which are not inclusive in any of Harrison Hot Spring Hotel's deals. I would definitely stay at this B&B again.

The only reason why I took off a star is because my girlfriend, who slept on the futon by the door near the corridor, reported that she was woken up several times very early in the morning upon hearing someone's footsteps and toilet flushing from upstairs. Although it was not loud enough to be heard at my end, it was loud enough to awaken my girlfriend at her side. Otherwise, everything else exceeds my expectations.

Room Tip: I think Sunflower Suite is the only suite that offers private door. September is a great time to tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damevenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for your review on South Garden. During low season, we often offer a discount for a second night for guests and it was our delight to do this for you as well. We are near Harrison village, yet a quiet ways distance. Welcome again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I spent our 5th Wedding Anniversary at South Garden B & B. The gardens were gorgeous! We are both outdoorsy types, so the hike up to the upper deck was wonderful. And what a beautiful view it was! We finished with a dip in the hot tub. The Meadow Suite provided excellent comfort, and the breakfast choices were delicious. Jacquie and John were great hosts, allowing us the privacy we were looking for on this very special occasion. We would certainly love to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Awesome to receive your response on our behalf, here at South Garden. Indeed, a few steps up into the forest on Green Mountain bring our guests to another world of beauty, quiet, and a bit of a steep climb up to the Upper Deck. The view from the Upper Deck is the reward. From there our guests sneak into the forest, exploring the loop trail. Welcome back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed for one night, 11th September in The Sunflower Suite, we used it as a stop off before driving to Vancouver on our tour of western Canada.
The suite had everything that you could expect or need, the gardens were lovely, they have their own walk through the woods which we did, quite hard going.
John and Jaquie were very welcoming and friendly but the highlight was the home cooked breakfast delivered right on time and presented so beautifully.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your response directed our way here at South Garden. We do believe a Bed and Breakfast should pamper guests with a delightful breakfast of their choice, delivered to the suite...a restful way to begin a new day. You are most welcome to stop by again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night just to get out of the city (we're from Vancouver). We stayed in the cottage and found the room to be excellent. The bed was comfortable and the huge soaker tub was excellent. We were super late to hand in our food menu for breakfast, but the hosts were very accommodating and took my order anyway, which was nice. Breakfast came exactly when we requested, and it was delicious. Hand-made smoothies, muffins, and omelettes.

It was nice not being right in the city, and instead surrounded by trees and mountains.

I'd go back in an instant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage, which was very nice but if a big truck came rolling by you could hear it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you so much for your review for South Garden B&B. It's so true, our guests from Vancouver area have just a short distance to drive out here, but feel like you are truly away nestled right next to Green Mountain. The evergreen forest surrounds South Garden estate area. Welcome again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a lovely place to drop out and sit back, relax, and reflect. Beautiful gardens, lovely suite, excellent breakfast in room, lots of treats to eat if hungry. 5KM to Harrison Hot Springs and nice not to be in the full tourist zone. Hoping to return soon.

Room Tip: The Sunflower suite is a bit bigger than the Mountain Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
It was certainly our pleasure to be serving you. Our guests do appreciate being near, but quietly away from the hustle and bustle of lovely Harrison Village. Thank you for your comments for South Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon night. We were married at harrison hot springs and had our reception at the community hall. This location was perfect, it was a short taxi ride at the end of the night.
The place didnt need a key, just a code that I called ahead to get. That made it very nice being so busy with the wedding not to have to coordinate an extra stop.
The cabin was beautiful! We loved the stylish but cozy decor. The bed was really comftorable. And the breakfast was amazing. The food was really fresh and tasty.
I would highly recomend staying here and would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaalysewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Welcome to South Garden on your honeymoon night. Our Cedars Cottage is its own unit offering ultimate privacy. Thank you so much for your kind words. You are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liege
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

southgardenbandb is an incredible memory for us, it s a excellent and charming place.

The beauty and the comfort of the room , the excellent and diversified breakfast served in our room.
The surroundings with the point of view, and the hot tube.
I recommend it, it is a wonderful place.
;;;;;++++++++)))))))))))))))

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at South Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking time to direct comments our way here at South Garden. With this beautiful fall weather the gardens and lawns are looking awesome, a wonderful treat for our guests. We welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agassiz
3.0 mi away
Harrison Beach Hotel
Harrison Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
543 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
10.0 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
3,533 reviews
5.6 mi away
Woodside Inn
Woodside Inn
#5 of 7 in Agassiz
6 reviews
7.3 mi away
Harrison Hammond House
Harrison Hammond House
#2 of 3 in Harrison Mills
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3048 Hot Springs Rd, Agassiz, British Columbia V0M 1A3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Agassiz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agassiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrison Hot Springs, a vacation destination, is just 4 km from our country inn, which is nestled beneath Green Mountain, on a lush grassy meadow, surrounded by a mature forest. A queen bed, as well as a 4 piece bath area, are included in the privacy of each suite. 'The Cedars', a selfcontained, romantic cottage getaway, is ready for your arrival. Breakfast will be served to each suite. Enjoy the yard, patio, and hot tub areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Garden b&b
South Garden Hotel Harrison Hot Springs
South Garden Bed And Breakfast Canada/Agassiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing