We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fraser River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fraser River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I spent 7 amazing days at the lodge during the Pink Salmon run in early September. The service from start to finish was fantastic, with high quality three course evening meals served by very friendly and helpful staff. The views from the lodge are breathtaking and the whole environment is relaxing and designed to enjoy the outdoors. The fishing experience was out of this world catching 20+ salmon per day and then a few Sturgeon in the late afternoon. The guides are highly knowledgeable and very friendly. I would recommend this to all levels of fisherman. Lastly I found management and especially Frank very helpful and flexible always going the extra mile. What a holiday and I will definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GilesNewmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    7
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

So I am clear, the lodge was sold out so we used accommodation ("The Chalet") which was 15 mins from the lodge but was organised by the lodge. The Chalet was fantastic. It was a clean, 4 bedroom house with a beautiful landscaped backyard and a BBQ.

We ate at the lodge for breakfast and dinner. The food was way better than my expectations. The food would have been at home in any good restaurant, anywhere in the world. The fishing excursions we had were great, the people really looked after us and helped us.

They have all the gear that you need and it is all in good condition.

Frank runs a great business, makes you feel really welcome regardless of your skill ability (in my case none!). Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soapdodger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

i recently spent 7 nights at the fraser river lodge as part of a salmon fly fishing holiday. i can not reccomend the experience, the peole and the lodge more highly. key highlights were as follows:

the lodge: a fantastic all inclusive facility sitting directly on the fraser river, the views are awesome. truely 5 star accommodation. the rooms are modern, clean and very functional. very comfortable beds, air con and free wifi. the food was a stand out for me. breakfasts were huge and just what you need before a good days fishing. lunch was either a packed lunch or bbq on the river bank, just fantastic! the 3 course dinner in the evening are first class and so varied. good local wines too!!

the fishing: just amazing. we caughted 15-20 salmon each per day. the guides (1 guide per 2 fisherman) were very knowldegeable, knew the best spots to catch fish and provided great tips on local techniques and fly patterns. we also tired strugeon fishing whcih is a must even for the most traditionalist fly fisherman. i caught a 6 ft sturgeon which was so exciting. the fraser lodge has multiple fishing options (locations, rivers, adventures). we also had a day trout fishing on remote lake accessed via helicopter (we were the 5th people to have ever fished there). this experience is a must if you love your fly fishing. just ask frank about options, tell him what you want from your trip and he will pull together a tailored itinerary.

the service/staff: the people who run the lodge made the trip! they are so friendly, welcoming and accommodating. the lodge provides a really personalised experience due to the attention and dedication of the staff. we even went fishing with the staff when they finished their shifts. frank the owner has created the ultimate fishing experience. he is crazy about fishing and wants his guests to enjoy their fishing experiences as much as he does!

book now! you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alistair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This resort is a definite must when booking with a company to go sturgeon fishing. My friends and I had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to book with them again for a return visit. We went out with owner/guide, Frank Staiger, on the first day and couldn't have asked for a better day. He took us out to the canyon and we caught a total of 9 sturgeon. There were 4 of us on the boat, not including Frank, and we each caught 2, ranging from 3 to 6 feet. Each morning, we had a delicious breakfast, then grabbed sandwiches, fruit, and snacks for lunch. Each evening, we were presented with an exquisite meal that words could not describe. Truly gourmet selections and plentiful portions. Steffi was our server and she was the best!! We had an incredible view of the mountains and top notch accommodations, so on behalf of my friends and I, we would like to thank Frank and his staff for wonderful, memorable experience that we will always rave about :)

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 8 were perfect. Originally I was placed in room 4, which was right up against the bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Strommer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay!! Fabulous room with stunning views. Every meal was outstanding with great flavours and fresh local produce. Fishing and whole team were world class and welcoming. We felt like one of the family. Thank you Frank and team. We will be back Al and Jo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Am7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I got married at the Fraser River Lodge at the end of June and it was absolute perfection. We chose this venue because of the location and the incredible views. Wendy and Jenna were so helpful along the way responding to emails quickly and allowing us to bring family to see the venue several times. The food is amazing and the staff is top notch...all of our guests were blown away with the quality of food and level of service by all of the staff. This is not your usual banquet/wedding venue and food - it's on a completely different level. We rented all rooms at the lodge plus the Outpost Lodge for our wedding party and everyone loved their rooms. They even allowed guests to bring their trailers to camp on the property to avoid having to drive or cab home.The honeymoon suite is very romantic. You have the option of having the lodge provide breakfast in the morning but we opted not to and just brought fruit and pastries instead. The lodge does however provide coffee and tea in the lounge in the morning. I organized a last minute sturgeon fishing day trip for hubby and his family a couple of days after the wedding. Frank took my husband, his brother and dad plus his two young nephews out for the day. Frank was an incredible guide and had great patience with the excited young nephews and they were lucky enough to catch a couple of good sized Sturgeon. Hubby is talking about organizing another trip with Frank very soon because they had such a great time.
I would highly recommend the Fraser River Lodge. A big thanks to Wendy and staff for organizing the best day of our lives and to Frank - those boys are still talking non stop about the sturgeon trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandInMyShoes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just spent 2 days sturgeon fish for our sons 16th birthday celebration. Fantastic lodge! Great food prepared by Lucky. Ranks right up there with any gourmet restaurant. Staff are friendly and make you feel relaxed and at home. Our guide Brad worked his butt off to find the big ones for us and after a slow start we nailed two at 7'6" & 7'11" . What a thrill for our son (and us as well)! We will recommend to all our friends. Were there any negatives? Not enough time to try salmon fishing! Will plan that for our next stay.

Thanks to Frank, Sandra, Brad and the rest of the staff

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has a king bed and huge spa tub to rest your aching muscles after landing a big one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agassiz
5.7 mi away
Harrison Beach Hotel
Harrison Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harrison Lake Hotel
Harrison Lake Hotel
#6 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chilliwack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eagle Tree Lodge
Eagle Tree Lodge
#2 of 2 in Agassiz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#29 of 261 in Vancouver Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser River Lodge

Property: Fraser River Lodge
Address: 7984 McDonald Rd, Agassiz, British Columbia V0M 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Agassiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Agassiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser River Lodge is a little piece of heaven surrounded by the majestic Cascade Mountains, on the shores of the Mighty Fraser River.We invite you to join us for a stay at our Lodge, and experience the fishing vacation of a lifetime, a romantic getaway, a corporate event, or perhaps a unique one of kind Wedding venue!Fraser River Lodge is located just outside the town of Harrison Hot Springs & the picturesque farming community of Agassiz, and just over an hour away from Vancouver in beautiful British Columbia, Canada.Come join us and Relax...in style.Enjoy our "outdoor playground" and the endless opportunities that our area has to offer, such as hiking, horse riding, golfing, river rafting and beautiful sight seeings by car or helicopter... Our Lodge guests can also expect gourmet dining, a great selection of Single Malt Scotch Whisky’s, Cuban cigars and award winning BC wines.Set among 18 private acres with 2,000 feet of private riverfront, our Lodge is a warm and inviting log home retreat. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be captured with its spectacular view of the Fraser River and the majestic 7,000 foot high Mt.Cheam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser River Lodge And Resort
Fraser River Hotel Agassiz
Fraser River Fishing Hotel
Fraser River Lodge Canada/Agassiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing