We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Island Boat Tour

Bird Island Boat Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loads of Puffins, plus seals and bald eagles - boat tours daily from May 8-late Sept. 40th year operating, with a new tour boat, 'Puffin Express'. A coastal experience all in the family will love with lots of open windows for great photos and fresh sea air. We'll even puppy-sit your pet while you take our tour !
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Memories of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

2nd time I have been on a Puffin Cruise-first time with this Cruise line.It was the first time for my 86 year old Mom and she throughly enjoyed every minute.We stayed in the cabins for 2 nites so we could do some touring of the area.We saw all kinds of birds.Some were nesting, flying around and swimming in the water.There were also Grey Seals in several areas of the tour.

I highly reccommend staying in the cabins.They are very nice with everything you need with the comforts of home.Very friendly family-nice,making you right at home.We rented the double cabin as there was 3 of us-my spouse,myself and my mom.Mother took her little dog with her and she loved it as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Everglade62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    16
    6
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Earlysville VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing bird tour - best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We saw at least two life birds, and maybe three, on this tour which was super exciting and completely unexpected. This is a much better tour than the puffin tour we took in Maine USA last summer. We were able to get very close to the puffins, and were amazed how many there were. We even caught a glimpse of a whale! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonyaseone487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this tour - can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took this tour last year at the end of July, and it was a wonderful experience. We found ourselves in Cape Breton again in June this year and were really excited to go again! The captain, both sons (one each trip), and his wife are all great and friendly. They really make an effort to impart some knowledge to those in attendance and are happy to answer questions and share stories. Most importantly, we saw lots of birds, and they really seem to care about the birds and the customer's experience. We also spent a night in one of the cottages last year, which was comfortable and clean and discounted due to the cable being out. Overall, great tour and I frequently recommend it to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Ga.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable experience on our Nova Scotia vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Our daughter loved the boat ride to the island. The weather was a little rough but we had an enjoyable trip. The Captain was very knowledgeable and his son also. We took the last trip out and since it was late in the day we rented one of their cabins which our daughter thought was really "cool." I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank crpatrick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tons of wildlife to see on our early-June visit. Really enjoyed the knowledge & banter shared by the captain & mate. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bird Island Boat Tour also viewed

Englishtown, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Bird Island Boat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing