We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Friendly, Great Place to stay!”
Review of Delft Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delft Haus
Ranked #1 of 2 Centreville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Friendly, Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Similar to what other have said we found this B&B by chance and it turned out to be a great experience. The owners are so friendly, and the breakfast was amazing (did not have to eat again till dinner)...the location is so close to Halls Harbour which was nice as one can go and see both the high and the low tides. The room was spacious and clean a great place to stay for the night, we would recommend it to everyone. Deb and Ray were very helpful with dinner spots and local excursions! Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Erin. Thank you for you kind words. It was great to know that you both enjoyed your stay with us as all memories should be good ones. Hope you enjoyed your trip abroad.
Best regards
Ray and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Delft house was found by my son and I by accident as we were looking for a tea room type place for lunch (attached to B and B). The lunch was superb and the hospitality warm and welcoming. We went back to our booked accommodation, cancelled it and moved into the Delft that day. We were then treated with lovely 3 course breakfasts and warm but unobtrusive hospitality. The owners Deb and Ray have great knowledge of the local area and were very helpful with our sightseeing and excursions. I thoroughly recommend the comfort of, "The Rose Room"!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We found this B&B by chance and we really lucked out. The room was large, filled with quality antique furnishing with a impressive four poster bed as well as complete en-suite bathroom.
We had the best breakfast ever. It was a multi coursed gourmet event cooked with fresh ingredients.

The hosts were delightful and entertaining.

Cecilia and John

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orchid Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hi Cecilia and John. Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and guess that we all 'lucked out' when you stayed with us and very much hope to see you again. Our very best regards to you both.
Ray and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at Delft Haus in April 2013 to say the least! Our hosts made sure we had plenty of good food to start each day, including a three-course breakfast, coffee and tea. Our room was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. Overall a very satisfying stay and I'd recommend it to other travellers, particularly couples looking for a weekend away from big city life.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was great seeing you and hope that you settle in quickly in your new life in the beautiful Annapolis Valley. We look forward to seeing you, and your children, again in the near future.

Best regards

Ray and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I found the Delft Haus online through B&B Canada. Rooms were easy to book over the phone. When my boyfriend and I arrived at the Delft Haus, Debra and Ray (the owners/operators) were there to greet us and had many helpful suggestions as to where we could go out to supper. We stayed in the Orchid Room, it was gorgeous! Wonderfully decorated, much like the rest of the house. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts were great as well, three courses, and would suit the appetite of any eater. Debra and Ray also helped point out some of the places we could visit during our stay in the valley and Ray even gave us a map and went over it with us to give us a better idea of where we were going. I would highly recommend this B&B, lovely people, lovely house.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggyelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I showed up at 4:30 in the afternoon and while we only waited for about a half hour, we were surprised that no one was there to receive us.The home was relatively clean as was the bedroom, but to a minimal level.A cleaning bucket and mop etc. were situated at the bottom of the steps across from our room.The breakfast on the following morning was average.Of all the B&B's we stayed at on our 2 week vacation, my wife and I ranked it 2nd. from the bottom. Expensive, when compared to other high ranking B&B's we had stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We remember all our guests and it was certainly a rare occurrence that there was nobody at home to greet you. We were sorry to have kept you waiting on this occasion, even though you assured us at the time that it was only 5 minutes. However, we understand we disappointed you even before your arrival when, due to hygiene reasons, we declined your request to use our kitchen to cook your four live lobsters. Having mentioned that, prior to checking-in, you would go to Kentville in an attempt to find a local restaurant that might allow you to use their kitchen, we unfortunately misjudged your arrival and returned shortly after you had given up your search. We are obviously disappointed that you felt your experience did not match those enjoyed by our previous guests/reviewers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Beautiful old home with gorgeous updates. The owners are friendly and engaging. Breakfast was excellent. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. A short drive to Hals's Harbour and other Bay of Fundy harbors.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickster-n-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centreville
6.1 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
109 reviews
7.4 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
314 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
283 reviews
8.8 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
8.1 mi away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delft Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delft Haus

Property: Delft Haus
Address: 1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > Centreville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Centreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delft Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 1/2 star Victorian (c) 1890 Bed & Breakfast surrounds you with natural wood interiors and period furnishings that offer an unparalleled experience. Our home is located in the Annapolis Valley in beautiful apple orchard countryside, an ideal base to explore Nova Scotia. All rooms have luxurious en-suite faciliteis. A fantastic place to get away and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Delft Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing