We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience!”

Celtic Music Interpretive Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Judique
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mission Statement of the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre is to collect, preserve and promote the traditional Celtic music of Cape Breton Island through Education, Research and Performance.
Stanwood, Michigan
1 review
“A Great Experience!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We enjoyed an excellent lunch but the violin and piano players' fine quality Celtic music was a happy surprise. Expressive and toe-tapping for sure! You could even get a fiddle or step-dancing lesson! This was a highlight of our tour. Lila and Art

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelodyMaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you Lila and Art. We hope you come back and show us your steps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Drove out of our way to visit. Glad we did because it was worth every extra mile! Great Celtic fiddle music during lunch hour (no attraction fee), rather large portions of really good food and very friendly folks all in an attractive venue.

Janette and Dave

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for including us your travel schedule and taking the time to submit a review. It is important that we make every visit an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch, and beautiful Celtic music - doesn't get any better!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

11:30 to 1 pm during the week - do stop in and have lunch listening to the sweet harmonies of various accomplished violin and piano players; one day we even had the good luck to hear lovely melodies played by a most accomplished chap from Moscow, Russia! And the lunch menu offers a good variety and excellent quality! Service is very professional and friendly - well done, Judique!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotiaTollerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Live music and good food are a great combination. Sharing it with friends from far and wide is part of the experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are interested in Celtic music, this is a must-see”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Center. The small museum offers an excellent introduction to Celtic music and the major current Cape Breton musicians (as well as giants from earlier years). You can listen to the various forms (jig, reel etc.) of Celtic music and even get a quick lesson in the violin (with real violins and bows available to try out) or some of the dance steps. The restaurant serves simple but high quality food at quite reasonable prices, and the live music at lunch is first rate. Also offers a huge selection of Cape Breton CDs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for visiting the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre. We are happy you had a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip !”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Our family stopped by the Celtic Music Interpretive Center for a Sunday Ceilidh of music and dance, and it was a fantastic visit at a great price. It also turned out to be a chance to meet and speak with friendly locals more than willing to share their culture with us. My wife was invited out onto the floor to step dance for a few fiddle songs! The ladies at the front desk were extremely pleasant and even let me dial a few local campgrounds looking for lodging for the evening. A great stop along your tour of Cape Breton Island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hilmawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for the detailed description of your visit. We hope that everyone who visits with us gets to experience the music and dance in the same way that you were able to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celtic Music Interpretive Centre also viewed

 

Been to Celtic Music Interpretive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing