We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and music”

Celtic Music Interpretive Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Judique
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mission Statement of the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre is to collect, preserve and promote the traditional Celtic music of Cape Breton Island through Education, Research and Performance.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The CMIC is a real Cape Breton gem. You will find the living traditional Cape Breton music here as well as its history. Cape Breton's finest fiddlers and piano players play here both at lunch and for Sunday ceilidhs. The food is great at a fair price and the service is friendly. I can't imagine a trip down route 19 that doesn't include a stop at the CMIC.

2  Thank 971duncanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you Duncan. It is a pleasure to be part of your vacation. We'll see you soon, and we'll make sure to you have your table stocked with a good view and cool refreshments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were able to catch two ceilidhs, or musical events, at the CMIC and loved it. We were there at the end of the Celtic Colours festival and the venue in Judique was one of the best we saw. The food was very good (great fish cakes) and there was a nice exhibit about Celtic music and local musicians. Do not miss if you are in the area and love music!

1  Thank mistersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We aim to make every visit a memorable one. When you have an experience that includes great food and music, it makes for a great visit. Please do come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Traditional celtic music performed at lunchtime. Accomplished musicians carry on the tradition. I learned more about the traditions. Lunch (also excellent) was served from a menu a la carte.

1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We are glad that we were able to contribute to a positive experience on your trip. Stop in again on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on the way to cheticamp and were delighted to catch some excellent fiddle music. There was a great atmosphere with a small audience ranging from 18 months to over 70. The music lasts from 11.30 to 1 pm and there was a chance to ask questions as well as listen. We got a CD of course.

There was a good savoury choice for lunch including toasties and soups plus amazing chocolate cake for dessert. Don't miss this place it is an essential part of a trip to Cape Breton




Thank Mazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for stopping in. Our food is fast becoming best friends with the quality of music that is available in the area as well. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We knew there was a lunchtime ceilidh at the centre so, feeling hungry, we dropped in. What a serendipitous experience! Great fiddle playing by Rachel Davis* and good food and drink to go with it. The food isn't fancy, but it's freshly cooked and very tasty, just right for lunch. We managed to get one of the last free tables near the stage too.
Staff at the centre were really friendly and helpful and for aspiring musicians, music historians and anyone who really loves Celtic music this is a must-see.

*Davis doesn't sound very Scottish, I hear you muttering - well, the Welsh are Celts too, you know.
And she's certainly a name to look out for.

Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. Rachel was a welcome addition to the staff this season.
We are looking forward to another great season ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celtic Music Interpretive Centre also viewed

Iona, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Celtic Music Interpretive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing