We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fading favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Colorines

Los Colorines
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Tepoztlan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grand Beach, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A fading favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Colorines used to be reason enough to travel to Tepoztlan, and has been one of our favorites for years. The food is still good--I like the enchiladas in mole and the chiles en nogada--but the service has turned decidedly perfunctory, almost as though the staff takes for granted the tourists from the US and DF. Colorines is colorful and popular as ever, but some of the fun seems to have gone out of it. (These remarks, incidentally, apply only the to the Colorines in Tepoztlan; haven't been to the one in Cuernavaca lately.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    207
    70
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
647 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Try the Chiles en Nogada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My favorite Mexican dish is Chiles en Nogada and they make an excellent one here at Los Colorines. Great filling, plenty of sauce, and all in a large pasilla chile, this is one of the best I've ever had. The other dish we had, Huanzotle, wasn't so good. This was also a pasilla chile, covered in a brown pepian sauce, but filled with this odd stalky vegetable that was hard to chew. We washed it all down with an excellent margarita.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This restaurant has the spirit of Mexico, is visited by tourists and local people alike. It is full of color, as its name suggests, tiles, large cazuelas of mole, sopas, etc., music on the weekend.
I love to go there, not for the finest, latest cuisine, for good down home Mexican cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 97DianeC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tepoztlan, Mexico
2 reviews
“Wonderful Food and Traditional Mexican Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

One of the best Mexican Food restaurants I have ever been. Prices are very good too. They specialize in Huauzontle, Cecina and Chiles Rellenos. The open 7 days a week and I recomend to have a reservation...It's always packed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galeriaflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent central mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good and relatively cheap traditional central mexican food. The cecina is a traditional, but also their soups are very good. Enjoy with handmade tortillas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BGA_DKMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Colorines also viewed

 
Tepoztlan, Morelos
Tepoztlan, Morelos
 

Been to Los Colorines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing