We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place to be on a hot day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Del Tepozteco
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tepoztlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

To get here you have to not be afraid to ride a roller coaster. You go up and down and then up, up - up - and like taking a deep breath of mountain pure fresh air you are finally here. You are sitting at the upper edge and in the middle of a very rugged horseshoe mountain looking down and out over the town and the downward disappearing valley. The view is spectacular from any room or balcony of this hotel. You are at least ten degrees cooler than anything in your view. It is great to be cool when all is hot and bothered. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The restaurant is nice on a rainy day but having a meal here is better enjoyed outside on the patio. You'll have to swallow the wonderful flavors between the breathtaking gulps as you look out over the world below you. If you are reading this and don't come here you will miss a truly pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJancauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

Queremos agradecer sus finos comentarios acerca de su experiencia en Posada Del Tepozteco y compartirlo con los demás viajeros de Trip Advisor.

Es importante que viajeros del buen vivir como ustedes califican de manera tan positiva nuestro establecimiento.

Gracias por confiar en nosotros para pasar importantes momentos en su vida y que haya disfrutado de nuestra vista, de nuestras confortables habitaciones y de nuestro restaurante.

Esperamos tener el gusto de atenderlo nuevamente y de consentirlo en un "Tesoro de México, en Posada Del Tepozteco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the Posada Del Tepozteco during the Meeting Place Mexico Conference June 1-6, 2014. What a pleasure it was!

My room was spacious, clean and with views to die for. From the balcony, you had a perfect view of the town, mountains and 15th century cathedral. If I had any negative comments at all, it would be lack of air conditioning or ceiling fan. However, the weather was not hot and it rained quite a bit, so the air conditioning didn't bother me at all. I would have left the sliding door to the balcony open all night had it not been for the noise from the town and my fear of bugs. And on that note, not ONE bug was to be found in my entire stay.

The staff made all the difference in the world. First class all the way. While I was waiting for my transfer to Mexico City Airport very very early, the night security man made me coffee and packed a lunch for me.. not wanting me to go hungry on my trip!! What a kind and considerate man!

The restaurant was terrific. Fresh orange juice, fruits and quiche for breakfast- some of the best I have had. Good management and great service.

For the area, this is the best positioned hotel in order to walk to town. I don't believe there is another that offers this level of care and service and proximity to the village.

Room Tip: The upper rooms (Carra #16) has a splendid view from two sides. I don't believe any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wired7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

A nombre de todo el personal de Posada Del Tepozteco le queremos agradecer infinitamente la oportunidad que nos brindaron al hospedarse y pasar unos días con nosotros.

Para nosotros sus halagos y comentarios nos alientan a seguir adelante en beneficio de nuestros visitantes. Nuestra vocación es atender satisfactoriamente las necesidades de nuestros huéspedes y nos agrada que ustedes lo perciban así.

Esperamos tener la oportunidad de poderle atender como usted se merece en un futuro, Tepoztlán y nosotros lo esperamos con los brazos abiertos.

Déjese consentir por un "Tesoro de México" en Posada Del Tepozteco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed here a number of times in different seasons and have never been disappointed. It sits above the city with glorious view of the valley and mountains on both sides. The gardens are quite nice to walk around with fountains here and there. The restaurant and terrance outside is simple but again very nice and very traditional Mexican. The menu is varied and we have not had a bad meal...lots of good choices. The service is also good and the staff responds to any request or concern we have. My sister joined us at the last minute and the only room left was a small one off the patio and had no shade for a window and so the light shown in all night. They apologized and tried to correct the problem immediately.
We have stayed in a few different rooms all of which were comfortable. Our favorite, of course, is the suite at the very top. It is very spacious with grand views.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saintjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Saintjack:

A nombre de mis compañeros de Posada Del Tepoztezco le agradezco que comparta con los otros viajeros de TripAdvisor su experiencia en el Pueblo Mágico de Tepoztlán, Morelos y que desde nuestro bello hotel haya disfrutado de la hermosa vista de nuestros jardines, montañas y el valle.
Estamos orgullosos de haberles brindado un buen servicio y que hayamos respondido eficazmente a sus necesidades y que hayan disfrutado de nuestro restaurante El Sibarita y de su bella terraza.
Esperando contar nuevamente con el honor de su visita, le enviamos cordiales saludos!

Sinceramente,

Yuriria Del Castillo Negrete
Gerente de Relaciones Públicas
POSADA DEL TEPOZTECO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have had a travel article from 2004 about staying at Posada Del Tepozteco and vowed that one day I would go there. It finally happened as a three day extension from Mexico City and it matched my expectations. In fact, I can look at the photo above and point to the exact unit my friend and I had. The views with the mountains surrounding us and looking over the city and the church from the 1500s where Cortes passed through was amazing to me. I couldn't get enough of every view from every angle of the amazing, storybook grounds.

The food we had the two times we tried the restaurant was really good - the assortment of sopecitas for breakfast was excellent and the Aztec soup at dinner with the bright red color, not of chiles, but probably of the flower colorine, was delicious and not spicy. Although there with a friend, this could definitely be a honeymoon destination.

Be sure to check out the several colorful downtown ice cream shops with hundreds of flavors.
Also, the church of the Natividad is well worth touring and attached to it on the right as you leave the church is a former monastery and you can tour through the entire structure -extremely interesting. We almost missed seeing that it was there.

Inside the daily market in the area in front of the church is a market with many food stands with families preparing specialties on the comal. I had an amazing quesadilla on a blue corn tortilla piled high with squash blossoms, cheese from Oaxaca, the herb epizote and grilled onions. One of my finest dishes on this trip and very cheap.

Room Tip: We were in room #11. Definitely pay the extra for whatever rooms give you a view over the city. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

No es muy gratificante saber que su estancia en Posada del Tepozteco haya alcanzado sus expectativas y que esperamos contar nuevamente con su visita.

Tepoztlán es un Pueblo Mágico por sus esplendorosas vistas a las montañas labradas, por su Monasterio de la Natividad, Patrimonio Cultural declarado por la UNESCO y nos da gusto que haya disfrutado de nuestra cultura, gastronomía y nuestras deliciosas y tradicionales nieves.

Esperamos contar nuevamente con su visita y le agradecemos que se haya tomado el tiempo de compartirnos sus bellas impresiones.

Vive un "Tesoro de México", en Posada del Tepozteco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel to relax and be well served in Tepoztlan. Very beautiful with an amazing landscape of the main church of this small and warm full city. The staff give you the attention necessary and the foods are great! If you go to Tepoztlan stay at least 3 days in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana-Dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014
Google Translation

Le agradecemos el tiempo que se tomó en imprimir en este medio su experiencia en Posada del Tepozteco, un lugar donde nuestro objetivo es dar el mejor servicio y que nuestros huéspedes se relajen y disfruten de nuestra espectacular vista y de nuestro Restaurante El Sibarita.
Esperamos en un futuro no solo darle la atención necesaria, nos comprometemos a darle la mejor!
Ven a vivir una experiencia única en un "Tesoro de México", en Posada del Tepozteco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I have travelled to Mexico a lot and one of our favorite places to visit is Tepoztlan, due to its unique beauty and location. We have stayed several times at "Posada del Tepozteco", and just got back from a week's stay there. We have friends in nearby Cuernavaca, which is called the city of the "Eternal Springtime", so we would drive there almost daily, an excursion I would recommend. "Posada del Tepozteco" has a breathtaking view, a charming rustic style and a wonderful staff and management that make you feel right at home. My wife and I took a daily swim in the pool with its peaceful setting and warm water. A staff member was very helpful taking his time to explain to us the leyend of Tepoztlan, where a small boy was willing to give his life to a dragon to save his beloved grandfather's life. A fascinating story. My wife and I just love this hotel and plan to return. As I'm a bit of a poet and have published a book, I was inspired to write a few lines dedicated to "Posada del Tepozteco".

If heaven could be somehow divided
Tepoztlan would be a generous slice,
Therein is a mystical treasure
Nestled in a rock fortress paradise.

Yes, Posada del Tepozteco
Is were my heart feels blessed,
A peaceful haven from all stress...
A dreamlike escape for my soul to rest.

This hotel with its enchanting view
Overlooks a quant, magical town,
With its architectural design and beauty
It's a gem on a hilltop crown.

Majestic tall rock cliffs
Are the first sight to be seen,
From the splendor of its gardens
Exotic flowers, peaceful and serene.

The hotel's attentive staff
Smiling at your beck and call,
An atmosphere wonderfully unique
Made my stay the most pleasant of all.

I knew my first visit would not be my last
The inn's magic saw to that,
Fond memories drew me back there
A place I leave worries and care.

J. Bettinger from Texas

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have the best view, but each room is unique in its own way and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnkina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Del Tepozteco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

A nombre del Gerente General y de todo el personal de Posada Del Tepozteco queremos agradecerle su bellísimo poema y nos llena de orgullo que Tepoztlán haya sido fuente de inspiración para crearlo.

Lo hemos compartido en nuestras redes sociales y con gusto lo enmarcamos en nuestra recepción... no nos cansamos de leerlo. Nos halaga saber que Posada del Tepozteco haya bendecido su corazón y que sea un escape de ensueño para el alma.

Nosotros también esperamos que su primera visita no sea la última.

Le enviamos nuestras bendiciones y con gusto lo esperamos nuevamente para vivir un "Tesoro de México" en Posada Del Tepozteco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

lovely hotel in a former monastery, but then i'm a sucker for building's with history – friendly staff, beautiful grounds, nice restaurant though i much preferred to eat in the market 5 minutes down the hill by the zocalo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balaam_Say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tepoztlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amatlan de Quetzalcoatl
Hotel Amatlan de Quetzalcoatl
#15 of 18 in Tepoztlan
35 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villas Valle Mistico
Villas Valle Mistico
#10 of 18 in Tepoztlan
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teocalli
Hotel Teocalli
#11 of 18 in Tepoztlan
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flor de Cera
Flor de Cera
#13 of 18 in Tepoztlan
7 reviews
4 mi away
Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Fernanda Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Tepozteco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Tepozteco

Address: Paraiso #3 Barrio de San Miguel, Tepoztlan 62520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tepoztlan
Price Range: £123 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Del Tepozteco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Tepozteco Hotel is an old mansion of lineage and ancestry, with more than 60 years of tradition, now converted into a beautiful and comfortable hotel in the so-called "Pueblo Magico" in Tepoztlan, Morelos. It is a founding member of quality club "Tesoros Mexico", and has been awarded his distinction for providing services of the highest standars of quality. Due to its location, it is the natural vantage point of the Valley of Tepoztlan offers the visitor a splendid 180° view of the enigmatic mountains and whimsical formations of the Tepozteco National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Del Tepozteco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Tepozteco Cuernavaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing