We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique hotel with average spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tepoztlan
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel with average spa.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have never stayed a night at the hotel but I have been two times at the restaurant and four at the spa. The hotel is a fancy adults only. The decoration is beautiful with Budas and Ganesh paintings on the mud walls. They have a very nice meditation salon, gym, a very relaxing garden with beautiful flowers, an awesome view from the Tepozteco and a pool and very few rooms.
The restaurant is great, kids friendly. Delicious mexican food with organic ingredients right from their own garden. Everything is great but the spa. It's not bad either and I haven't found anything better, that's why I keep coming back.
I always like to rate every single detail about a spa. And for the price I pay there, I always expect more:
The cabins are very pretty with mexican decoration, but they are cold at winter and they don't have heat all the times, so you can get cold during the massage. Don't expect bathdrobes or sandals. I asked for a glass of water one time and they told me they didn't have any glasses. They don't have teas, almonds, raisins or anything to eat or drink before or after your massage. They have been a little late two of the four times I've been there. There is an open door jacuzzi right in front of the cabins but I have never seen it work. The same happens with the steam area. Most of the times somebody knocked the door and interrumpted the sesion, and even that it wasn't in a very loud way, I didn't liked that. Sometimes the music is good and sometimes I asked to turn it off. The terapists are average. They even gave me a 10 percent off this last time, because of all this. Again, for a $140 dls massage, I would expect some of these things, but some how it is still a good experience if you want a moment for relax. It worths the visit, but if I find a better one, I will let you know!

By the way, they are about to open a family area in the hotel, separated from the adults only.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCasiopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    31
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
103
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I went to the Buena Vibra last weekend for a retreat and fell in love! The details and the energy there are incredible, the name is perfect! The room is gorgeous as well as the grounds, location, etc... We did temezcal, which at first seemed very pricey to me. I have done several before, but I have to admit, it was worth it. It was very traditional, and refreshing! We would definitely recommend it, well worth every penny! Congratulations to the owners on such a perfect resort!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingkitty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

First, the pros - easy access from Mexico City, beautiful architecture and good environment.
The cons though are:
1. pitifully small breakfast for $ paid
2. spa treatments were not that great - it was freezing in the massage room and the facial was so-so
3. it's far from town - they tell you it's a 10-15 min stroll but it's really more than that to get to anywhere interesting in town. moreover, it's along a freeway for most of the way over (lots of traffic + car exhaust)
4. more importantly, I had an item stolen from my room and after multiple calls/emails to the hotel, they were unresponsive

This place is not worth it and definitely make sure to keep all your valuables with you as they don't provide any security box.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bailarina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Last week, I arranged a meeting with business colleagues from all around Mexico, South, and Central America at this amazing hotel. We had about 20 people and it was a huge success. The hotel is lovely - the gardens are a delight - and the views are just WOW. There was a good space for meetings (including PowerPoint presentations) and the hotel kept us more than amply supplied with coffee, cookies, and other munchies through the day. All my guests were terrifically impressed, as was I. Rooms great (clean, quiet, comfortable). Food delicious (including for my vegetarian colleagues). The town was close by and taxis were plentiful. (Just squeeze in a little extra denture cream before you set out - those roads are bumpy!) Anyway, I can't say enough good about the Buena Vibra which is perfectly named. We were all so sorry to leave! And we will DEFINITELY be back. Thanks to the Witmonds and their staff for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: You aren't going to spend much time in your room as the gardens are stunning. And you'll wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for our aneversart, we rally enjoy it, the location is awsome

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avillarrealp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you very much for your comment, please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a beautiful resort. Spectator grounds and views! The owners and staff were very accommodating and friendly. Even though we were a large group, they managed to serve delicious meals. The owner even arranged our transportation back to the airport with his own car and driver. (thanks Paul). The town of Tepopztlan is lovely and you can find some nice souvenirs at good prices. Would recommend to staying at this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank quebecr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

It is such an amazing location and property. There is a pool, a hot tub, a spa -including huts for massages, steam baths, and a small salon-, and plenty of delightful seating area around the hotel. The landscaping and gardens are worth perusing. In addition, the owners and staff are wonderfully kind people and very accommodating.

The owners are environmentally conscious when it comes to using water and other material usage in the lavatories, and they do ask the guests to be aware of the signs in the facilities. Irons and other materials can be asked for at the front desk, if necessary.

There are farms around the property and guests can hear rosters and dogs while staying at the hotel. I suppose this brings us closer to our roots and nature. There are also wonderful song birds, very colorful and lovely to take pictures of around the gardens.

Carnival was going on in the town of Tepoztlan until mid-week while we were there. We did go into the town with a small group from the hotel during the activities, and we felt very safe. The festivities were spectacular, with lots of music, market kiosks, and dancing.

Once Carnival was finished on Ash Wednesday, the town returned to its quiet humble self. We did walk around without any issues and bought some lovely gifts from the local market vendors that the town hosts.

Lastly, the scenery of the surrounding mountains is almost dreamlike, with lush greens and daring heights. Not far from the hotel property is a trail that can be walked up the mountain side (or jogged if you are in great shape!).

We do recommend a visit to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Student-Canada_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tepoztlan hotels
1.7 mi away
Posada Del Tepozteco
Posada Del Tepozteco
#6 of 20 in Tepoztlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Valle Mistico
Villas Valle Mistico
#8 of 20 in Tepoztlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Teocalli
Hotel Teocalli
#11 of 20 in Tepoztlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Amatlan de Quetzalcoatl
Hotel Amatlan de Quetzalcoatl
#15 of 20 in Tepoztlan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Bugambilia
Casa Bugambilia
#12 of 20 in Tepoztlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Isabella Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa

Property: La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa
Address: San Lorenzo 7 | Valle de Atongo, Tepoztlan 62520, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tepoztlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa Hotel is an enchanting, intimate refuge nestled at the foot of the magical Tepoztlan mountains. Set in a breath-taking natural environment within the Sacred Valley of Atongo, it is rich with history, mythology and charm, creating its very own magical paradise. La Cascada fine dining restaurant and bar, the acclaimed Nirvana spa offering a wide array of personalised services and treatments, the internationally recognised yoga and meditation studios with experienced teachers and lush landscaped gardens to create the perfect setting, makes La Buena Vibra the ideal place for guests to Relax, Reflect, Revitalise and Refocus - providing an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Buena Vibra Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing