We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Xochiquetzal Hotel
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view. Services was excelent. The continental breakfast was so good and for few pesos you can have eggs and delicious "quesadillas". The hotel is located very close to the center of tepoztlan so you can walk to the market, stores and, famous ice cream place!. This was a family trip that we really enjoyed. The Villa oaxaca were we stayed (part of the hotel) was very confortable had 2 rooms, a living room, terrace, and a small dining room. From the room you are able to see the Tepozteco Pyramid on top of the mountain.... The mannager is very personable and helpful...plus she speaks English! since she lived in the states for a while. We recomend Villas Xochiquetzal. We will stay again in this place next time we visit Mexico. Enjoy Mexico, beautiful people wonderful service!
Sincerely,
Tyler and Alexandra DuMars.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
samantha m
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Surrounded by the amazing mountains of Tepoztlan,this hotel is in the perfect location (two blocks from centre of town), just enough out to be quite at night. Beautiful pool and spa area with cable tv (also in rooms)in communial area. ROOMS ARE HUGE with big comfortable beds and nice clean modern bathrooms. The Staff is the nicest and accomodating family i have ever stayed with. It feels like your staying in a home not a hotel. I would definetly reccomend staying in this beautiful get a way and to experience authentic mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthasamanthaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If this is your first time visiting Tepoztlan, you may find it difficult to information on hotels/villas in the city - even online. We happen to come across Villas Xochiquetzal and were able to book a room. Much like the village itself, the drive to Tepoztlan is a beautiful one.

Tepoztlan is a magical and beautiful place. The ride itself is something to be savored. The staff and management were nothing short of hospitable. They are Friendly, courteous, warm and welcoming. It was as if we were staying with family. And the view? You cannot beat it. A perfect view of the town, and perfect view of the mountains. Try your best and book the "Jalisco" room. That was where we spent our first night and it was absolutely stunning. However, no matter where you room is located, you will not be disappointed, as all of the rooms are spacious, and decorated beautifully. The location is top notch. Tepotzlian is a small village. If you want quiet, you are a about a block away from the main street. If you want to be near the hustle and bustle, again, you are a mere block away from the main street ;-) it is a win/win situation.

If you…

Want to go somewhere where they speak mainly English
Want to visit a place that is a little more “westernized”
Want to stay at a four seasons, Hilton, or any other hotel chain
Want to party at senor frogs
Are not interested in experiencing real culture

...then enjoy your vacation on a cruise ship or a resort with like-minded individuals!

HOWEVER, if you...

Are looking for something a little more authentic
Want to be amongst locals
Want to seriously practice your Spanish
Be amazed by the scenery
Eat some great food
Get your chakra read
Want a great work out by climbing up a serious mountain

…then Come here and truly enjoy! you'll want to come back again and again.

Room Tip: any room on the top floor of the main building - views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and have not one complaint. Staff and Manager are gracious hosts. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and original. The view is AMAZING. It is a short walk to anywhere in the town and very safe. If you are looking for an authentic experience, this is the place. If you are looking for a "chain" style hotel with english speaking staff, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

When planning a recent trip to Tepoztlan, I could not find many reviews of nice places to stay at a reasonable price, around 100 dollars a night. So I relied on what I saw on the hotels' web pages. This one, Villas Xochiquetzal, looked lovely.
http://www.villasxochiquetzal.com.mx/ingles/index.php
You can request a reservation online, but since I speak Spanish, and I wanted to be able to choose a room or villa, I called. They told me which ones were available, I checked the photos online, and selected Villa Tlaxcala:
http://www.villasxochiquetzal.com.mx/ingles/v_tlaxcala2.html

The hotel is very much like the photos on their website. It spans three small buildings spread out on the multi-level property. It's located about 4-5 short blocks from the plaza on cobblestoned streets. The exterior does not reveal it's a hotel. There's a white and wood paneled door, with a small plaque on the side announcing "Casa Xochitlquetzal". We were greeted by a friendly staff that immediately helped us with our luggage and assigned us our room, the one we had requested. There are several sitting rooms in the open air "lobby", all tastefully decorated. Our room/villa was just like in the photos. Large, with a sitting area, large bedroom, king-size bed, big closet under the stairway, pretty bathroom, and a terrace off the bedroom overlooking the building in the back (with 2 more rooms) and the garden. There's a swimming pool that is cleaned every day, at least 3 fountains, and several other sitting areas in the garden. At night, it was quiet! A welcome change after our downtown stays in Puebla and Cuernavaca before arriving to Tepoztlan.
The property overlooks the famous El Tepozteco mountain, a view we enjoyed every morning from our breakfast table. I was even able to take a closeup of the pyramid on top of the mountain from my chair. Breakfast was included, and was good an plentiful: fresh fruit, yogurt, trail mix, then your choice of eggs or quesadillas. This is a weekend town. We were there during the week, and were the only guests during our two-day stay.
My impression is that this place caters mostly to Mexican tourists, and probably not to families with small children because most of their rooms only seem to have king-size beds. But I can see an extended family booking several rooms. That would work well because of its small and enclosed environment.
Overall, a very pleasant stay, lovely place. Cost was 1200 pesos, or 100 dollars.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texmexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tepoztlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada Del Tepozteco
Posada Del Tepozteco
#6 of 20 in Tepoztlan
133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villas Valle Mistico
Villas Valle Mistico
#8 of 20 in Tepoztlan
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teocalli
Hotel Teocalli
#11 of 20 in Tepoztlan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hostal Ventana del Cielo
Hostal Ventana del Cielo
#15 of 56 in Tepoztlan
21 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort
0.8 mi away
Tubohotel
Tubohotel
#5 of 56 in Tepoztlan
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Xochiquetzal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Xochiquetzal Hotel

Property: Villas Xochiquetzal Hotel
Address: Calle Del Nino Artillero 27 | Barrio de San Miguel, Tepoztlan 62520, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Tepoztlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Villas to enjoy the Magic of Tepoztlan, Morelos. Most of our villas have a terrace with view to Tepozteco Mountain; we are located 2 blocks away from Downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing