We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sitio Sagrado(Tepoztlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bugambilia(Tepoztlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amomoxtli(Tepoztlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Mexicana(Tlayacapan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Sarita(Tepoztlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
122
58
13
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
58
13
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdalai lamafew kilometerssmall townamazing placeamazing experiencetwo nightsshamanlabyrinthmeditationpoolsfacilitiesfacialretreatweekendmountainsnaturemexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you're looking for a very relaxing experience, this is the perfect place! With an outstanding view, beautiful well kept premises and good services, this is the place to go in Tepoztlan. Just keep in mind that it's on the way to Amatlán, so it's a bit far from downtown Tepoztlan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuzRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were staying in this hotel on Dicember 8 for night, weekend escape from City. This hotel was recommended by my friend who used to write about travel in Mexico. This hotel is surrounded by mountain, so which has beautiful view and fresh air. The hotel staff were mostly friendly, and kind. In the room, there is not TV and internet connection as well. Which mean, you have to escape from reality( that I thought) but don't worry, for people who need to be connected, there is the area you can connect your smart phone or iphone, PC.
They have varieties of activities even for weekend. I will recommend several class for people who want to have "Holystcit".
I strongly recommend to take " Temazcal", which is harbal Mexican sauna, which we missed to do it this time. Also I recommend to take a session of Chi-kohn which is similar to Tai chi, but difference is Chi-kohn is for cure, while Taichi is for defence. The instructor who teach Chi-kohn is really lovely middle age lady. Also meditation is good to get calm.
About the foods that someone in other comments was mentioned was not bad in my opinion. The foods are local Mexican cuisine. If you are not big fun of Mexican foods, I won't recommend to stay there. They have several drink opstions like beer and cocktels.
They have hot tab and pool in outside.
How to get there is a little complecated. Someone who don't speak spanish or not familiar to drive in Mexico, taxi is good option from Mexico City. It is depend on traffic, but minimum 50 minutes maximum 2 hours from Mexico City.
I rate only 3 because I am so dissapointed about spa. The therapists me and my husband had definitely not professionals. I hope they should be trained, due to their name of hotel.
Otherwise, this hotel is nice to place to escape from City and relax with nature. We will come back without spa...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oralpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I truly recommend Hostal de la Luz to take a break from your every day life and retreat in this gorgeous resort to connect with nature or yourself in a beautiful and spiritual ambiance. A place that lives up to the holistic claim.
The hotel is built so that almost everywhere in it you are faced with the amazing Tepozteco mountains, you´re just constantly in awe with the view.
There are many nice and unique areas, whether it´s the cenote pool, the labyrinth, the shiva terrace, the ashram etc., where you can tell all details were carefully thought and are there to help you relax, meditate, practice yoga, read a book or simply lay back and enjoy the moment.
I went there as part of a weekend workshop, so we had many activities and guided meditations. Don´t miss the temazcal experience with a chaman, a must!
The Spa is very nice too, with many massages and treatments to choose.
The rooms are big, comfortable and clean.
The service is great and the food is good.
It is in a small and secluded town called Amatlán, only 45 mins. from Mexico city and 10 mins. from Tepoztlán.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A friend and I stayed at this lovely retreat last spring and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the opportunity to meditate. We stayed up all night having drinks and swinging on one of their swing chairs with nothing but the silence and stars to keep us company. There's definitely something magical about Tepotzlan, and this place encompasses that. All rooms have great views and the pool area is lovely. It's a place to find peace - a quick and great escape from the hustle and bustle of Mexico City - and you won't be overwhelmed by people. Spa services are also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy one of the BEST Temazcal sessions offered in Mexico (prehistoric mexican sauna experience) this is definitely the place to go!
This boutique hotel is gorgeous and is located 10 minutes away from Tepoztlan, Morelos (50-60 minutes away from Mexico City) the place is surrounded by amazing nature and has an amazing view to the Tepozteco peak.

The spa is awesome as well and it offers different exotic and energetic activities in their facilities. Service is fantastic! I highly recommend to visit the place, have been there twice with friends and would for sure go back soon! The jacuzzi was one of the places that I most enjoyed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaPRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews