We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hosts, lovely house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B

The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tepoztlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B
Ranked #25 of 56 Tepoztlan B&B and Inns
Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hosts, lovely house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

The Tower was exactly as advertised and we very much enjoyed our stay. Our hosts were extremely gracious and welcoming, especially Brook and Picassa (the cat). We had a car and found this very convenient for getting back and forth to town.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zlisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

Reasons I Like The Tower House (in no particular order)

- There are often cows grazing in the front yard.
- Brooke and Roger, the hosts, and Sylvia, the housekeeper are genuinely kind and helpful people.
- It is located in the wonderful town of Tepoztlan
- The room is very comfortable, with an extra bed if you need it and a nice bathroom with hot water.
- There is breakfast outside in the yard.
-It is located in a lovely neighborhood, among a confusing sysyem of winding dirt roads- go for a walk there and you might get lost (i mean this in a good way).
- There are 2 cats and a dog there: Ebay (cat)- aloof but not unfriendly. Picasso (cat)- impossibly cute. Zilla (dog)- goofy/enjoys table scraps (sorry Roger).
- It is beautiful and scenic and all those nice sorts of things.

to summarize, go to Tepoztlan immediately and stay with Brooke and Roger at the Tower House. i think youll have a fantastic time

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_formby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

"The Tower" is a wonderful way to experience the magic of Tepoztlan. Located in the countryside, it is removed from the noise and bustle of town, but only a $3 USD taxi ride into town. A wonderful atmosphere, with expansive views of the mountains, and cows wandering by. A purely Mexican setting.
The room is very comfortable, with a very nice bath and comfortable queen bed (especially by Mexican standards). Ample hot water. The grounds are beautiful and we were always greeted warmly by the Zilla and Ebay, the resident dog and cat.
Roger and Brook are wonderful hosts, knowledgeable about Tepoztlan and all it has to offer.
A delightful base from which to explore Tepoz and Mexico City.

Mark, Bainbridge Island, WA

  • Liked — View, location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tepoz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

It was a great place to get away from it all. Room is private and comfortable. Nice bathroom (always something I look for in Mexico). Nice shower with ample hot water. Cell phones get good reception in the room. If you opt for the food, the cooking is excellent! Easy enough access to downtown Tepoztlan and to Mexico City.

I did miss having wireless internet access in my room and you do have to be prepared for the occasional power outages (though this is a widespread problem in the area, and not just of this place in particular).

And if you can, you might want to go at a time when you can rent the entire property. If I could work out the travel details, I myself would do that in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greimocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheriver, manager at The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B, responded to this review, 20 February 2008
Thank you so much for your stay and for your review. I'm writing to let you and future guests now that we have changed the wireless internet range and there now is wireless internet access within the guest room. We hope our guests will enjoy this convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

We prefer to find accommodations that are not totally americanized or too uncomfortablely upscale. This was perfect. We were looking for a clean, quiet place that we could easily tour from. This was a good value and we are looking forward to coming back sometime next year.

The place is utterly charming with its interior garden, fountain and covered patio. A quiet day reading in the lush green ambience of the patio or the garden pavilion was relaxing after our tearing into Mexico City and down to Oahaca. Breakfast was also served on the covered patio by Sylvia, the housekeeper cook. The locals were quite willing to accommodate our lack of Spanish and pick us up in the
“combi” taxis for rides into Tepoztlan, which is a rural town small enough to walk around easily and find cafes or go to the Aztec temple on foot. We signed up for the pair of phones and they worked well so we could call for a taxi or make a dinner reservation.

The room in the Tower on the second floor had a nice queen bed which is important to me since I am a poor sleeper where there is a lumpy mattress, noise or lights. The room itself is well furnished so we had
places to hang and unpack our suitcases. The bathroom had a wonderful huge tub and a great full flowing hot shower. In September when we went the breezes through the windows were as delightful as the views.
(I particularly liked the cows that pass by on their way to pasture.)

Roger and Brook were great hosts.

  • Liked — the ambience with the garden, fountain and pets gamboling about.
  • Disliked — the stairway
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IRS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

We recently were guests of Roger and Brook for 6 days in their “tower” B & B. It couldn’t have been more serene! The views of cows and horses keeping the meadow mowed was on one side of the tower, and a view of the beautiful courtyard/garden with fountain was on the other side. Friendly Mozilla (the dog) and e-bay (one of the cats) are eager to greet us each morning, and whenever we returned in the afternoon. Al fresco dining is the norm on the covered patio. The bed is warm and comfortable. There is no end to the town market and we were kept busy exploring all the town’s quaint side streets. The town people couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful. A short $3.00 USD door-to-door taxi ride will get you to the town square. Brook and Roger saw to all of our needs and their little 3-year old bilingual Daniella was more than delightful.














Kenn and Geri Graham, Camarillo, CA

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kennyg767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tepoztlan hotels
7.7 mi away
Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort
6.2 mi away
Posada Rincon Magico
Posada Rincon Magico
#31 of 56 in Tepoztlan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cabanas El Guarani
Cabanas El Guarani
#24 of 39 in Tepoztlan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Amador
Hotel Casa Amador
#16 of 39 in Tepoztlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tubohotel
Tubohotel
#5 of 56 in Tepoztlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Dona Juana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B

Property: The Tower in Tepoztlan B&B
Address: Tepoztlan 62520 | Col. Huilotepec, Tepoztlan 62520, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tepoztlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in a family-style environment in beautiful Tepoztlan. The guest room in the Tower is on the second floor, with great views, is accessed directly by an exterior spiral stair case, has one double bed & one twin bed, and has a recently remodeled bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing