We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not well maintained”
Review of Villas Flamingos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas Flamingos
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not well maintained”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Although staff is friendly and welcoming, this is not enough to feel comfortable
Hotel is in poor condition, one step ahead and you may call it dirty
Some lizards do fall from ceiling of the room (don’t be afraid, they are small). Surprising enough when this happens during night…
The roof leaks and in case of heavy rain, mind your personnal belongings, they could get wet (specially your expansive camera)
Plumbing system is out of time, and towels are changed every 3 days.
Internet was not available in the room, and with difficulties in the lobby (if it may be called like this)
Do not expect brilliant breakfast, there is no buffet and service is very slow
OK, we are on a small island, far from civilization, and all these annoyance can be accepted as part of the Holbox dream. But some hotels nearby have a much better service

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank world_decidela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holbox1, Manager at Villas Flamingos, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
On the part of Villas Flamingos, I would like to respond to the previous comment.

Holbox Island is a nature reserve and as such is home to a wide variety of animals. The only thing which separates the hotel from the ecological reserve is a ten meter wide sand street. In fact, we are situated right between the Caribbean Ocean and the ecological reserve. This makes our location between these two ecosystems very privileged indeed.

This is just one of the many attractions of Villas Flamingos, as many different species of flora and fauna can be observed. Of course, to be so immersed in the natural environment also has its consequences, such as insects and small lizards which can be found all over. In this sense, it is important to remember that we are within their natural habitat.

In order to avoid that our guests feel bothered by certain types of insects, we fumigate the hotel on a regular basis. As a result of the fumigation, the insects sometimes fall down from their hiding places. I apologize to our guests for this inconvenience, as it is likely that we fumigated the day before.

On the other hand, there are many positive aspects of our location within a nature reserve, such as the visits of the different bird species to catch a drink of water, the raccoons who show up for evening dinner, many of which become a sort of pet for our guests during their stay, or—one of the hotel´s main characteristics—the many iguanas that live on the property.

As for the roof, in order to conserve the Caribbean style of the houses of the island, all of the roofs are indeed thatched. When there are strong winds, it is possible that small holes no bigger than 5 to 8 centimeters in diameter appear. If it rains, water can leak in from these holes. However, we always correct these problems as soon as they are detected. And because we know this can sometimes occur, that is why all the rooms have safe boxes where the guests can guard their valuables, such as cameras or any other object that should be protected.

Villas Flamingos is a hotel that seeks to promote and protect the ecology. We try to create a consciousness within our guests as to the importance of protecting the environment. One of the aspects in which we try to do our part, for instance, is to only change out the towels every other day. Nevertheless, if a guest at any time wishes to change their towel all they have to do is approach the reception and they will gladly be given fresh ones.

Villas Flamingos is a boutique hotel with 17 rooms. As such, there is no need for a big lobby. In fact, our intention is to offer a more intimate and welcoming environment for our guests, who always receive very personal and cordial attention. In this sense, this is also why we do not offer a buffet style breakfast. Nevertheless, we do offer juice, coffee, fruit and diverse breakfast options such as eggs cooked according to the guests wishes, pancakes, quesadillas, burritos, yoghurt, chilaquiles as well as toast with butter and jelly.

It is fair to say that the internet connection at the hotel is slow. Nevertheless, it is slow throughout the island. To this end, the different hotel operators on the island are working together with the local service provider to find a solution for all of our guests.

nine moyhs ago Villas Flamingos remodel 80% of rooms and the main reception area, which includes the restaurant, the kitchen and the reception, as well the swimming pool and common areas. by the end of this year we are going to remodel the 20 % of the other rooms so the hotel will be 100% new. Indeed, we will continue to renovate and maintain our installations while at the same time conserving the name and concept that guests have come to expect and enjoy from Villas Flamingos over the last ten years.

Finally, I would like to offer an apology for not having met the expectations that you had for us. Please know that such comments help us detect and correct any errors. We put all our effort in achieving total excellence and hope to be able to provide you with an enjoyable stay during your next trip to Holbox Island.
Alejandro Canedo
General Manager
Hotel Villas Flamingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    108
    24
    26
    20
See reviews for
117
381
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I know that word is overused, but this truly was paradise. After a long trip all through Mexico, which was amazing, exhausting and exciting, it was so wonderful to relax in this gorgeous place. The people went out of their way to make me comfortable. I truely enjoyed every minute of it. Wish I was back there now...

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dontleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

It was such a wonderful place. Peaceful and quiet. I enjoyed every minut. Especially the wonderfull sunset. The house was charming and right at the beach with a very nice few over the enless sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb1087420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

After a roundtrip of 11 days through Mexico, we found our paradise on Isla Holbox. This is a very relaxing beautiful place on earth and the hotel made it even more wonderful.
The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a beautiful new decorated superior room, shower from a tree, and wonderful ocean view.
The restaurant served a delicious breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlseMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We have recently returned from our fourth consecutive vacation at Villas Flamingos and plan on returning next year. For us to return to the same resort year after year says a lot for that resort. We have had the opportunity to check out other resorts in the area, and consider other areas, but Villas Flamingos always comes out on top. We knew they were in the process of remodeling the rooms, and we were a little nervous about what to expect. Our fears were totally unfounded. They have a more european motif while still keeping the rustic feel, very stylish! The windows were substancially enlarged and fold completely out of the way allowing for a greater air flow within the room. There is air conditioning if you wish, however we never used it. We would open the three large, screened windows and sleep very well with the sounds of the ocean and chittering palm fronds to lull us to sleep. We had the best sleep of our lives here! The restaurant has been upgraded, and chef Marco put food togather in the most astheticly pleasing and wonderfully tasteful ways. There were always small touches that made the dinner an event.

The town of Holbox has a few new attractions, a plaza with several new restaurants, a bakery to die for, and all the regular wonderful restaurants. Our favorites were Zarabanda's and Pelicanos.

Villas Flamingos is still on the top of our lists, and I you want to ask me questions personally, come to Holbox in March 2012; we'll be there.

P.S. Whoever thought of hammocks IN the water, kudos!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falun, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

perfect holiday. nice staff. cabo catotche interesting

Room Tip: please install refreidge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gunilla189855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I just returned from my fourth visit to Villas Flamingos, and I plan to go back again and again. Here you are just a few feet from the beach and the spectacular blues of the gulf. The resort is near the end of the developed beach with easy access to the long sand bar that stretches for miles--a great place for walking. The simple rooms are recently refurbished with artfully designed decor and a front porch with hammock and table and chairs. There is AC if you want to use it, but we didn't need it and fell asleep listening to the waves. The composting toilet worked fine and had no odor at all. The grounds are lovely and carefully maintained around a pool with a deck that has a great sunset view over the gulf. There are many comfortable places to lounge in the sun or shade. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. We always got prompt service for anything we needed. They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We were content to spend our time relaxing, reading and walking, but the staff can arrange tours as well. It is easy to walk to town on the beach (probably 15-20 minutes) and we walked in most nights for dinner, although we had several very good meals at Villas Flamingos. The breakfast is substantial and excellent and is served in the restaurant/porch that looks out over the pool and view. If you are looking for simplicity, beauty, tranquility, and excellent service, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciledb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holbox1, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Flamingos, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
It`s a real pleasure fot us to have you here each year, and of course we try to be better everyday. See you next year and thank you for your nice comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.9 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Flamingos

Property: Villas Flamingos
Address: Calle Paso Kuka s/n Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Flamingos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property features 29 beautifully decorated bungalows; all of them with a stunning ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island
Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing