We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View, and relaxing travel”
Review of Villas Flamingos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Flamingos
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best View, and relaxing travel”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This little hotel in the Holbox Island, is the one of the best hothels in the island, i love this hotel, becouse all the rooms have top view sea, and the sound of the sea is soo relaxing you can live there for ever, this little island is the best, you can walk every where and have a great time, eat lobser pizza and swing to the near island, is really beutiful, and the best thing of this hotel is the rooms, just love it, and is perfect for couples or fot people want to relax and forget what happend in the world, a little bora bora in holbox jeje and the most important thing of the hotel, all the charming people is atending you. I recomend 100% go for it and you can see al kind of animal´s, swing whit the wale shark, and see all kind of bird and iguanas, just great

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    110
    24
    26
    20
See reviews for
120
385
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This is a great simple hotel, an awesome get-away-and-forget-about-everything spot! The staff is incredible and the view is the best. It its a great place to relax and have fun with friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOREDf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My partner and I travelled to Mexico, Holbox Island late April. We are both usually quite active and normally the thought of staying in one spot for too long would drive us crazy, however as I was 27 weeks pregnant and in need of some down time before the baby arrived, this seemed like just the spot. We both heavily rely on trip advisor for recommendations and faults and spend hours scrolling through pages and pages of images before deciding, and after much swotting up Flamingos came up top.

I will try and bullet point this, as I have a habit of waffling.

1. Holbox Island is a beautiful, peaceful hideaway, Cancun it is not.
2. The locals are friendly, and there is little or no crime, as far as I was aware.
3. The Island is 2 hrs from Cancun. Flamingos arranged for us to be picked up and bought to the hotel. The taxi was air conditioned and comfortable, although there was little conversing due to both our inabilities to speak the others language, so don't expect a guided tour. All of the towns you pass through have never been touched by the commercial wand, so again don't let that put you off, this is real Mexico.
4. Once we reached the port it was a quick 20 mins across the water , where we were personally met by Jose Maria, the manager of our resort. Whilst he scooted ahead we were taken by golf buggy to the hotel.
5. The hotel is wonderfully positioned (for us anyway) about a 15 minute walk along the beach to town, and away from the fishing boats that moor up in front of some of the other hotels. It is enclosed by a small wall, so that you feel that you belong to somewhere rather than being completely exposed on the beach like some of the other places. There are a choice of single sun beds or luxurious double day beds, all with umbrellas.or shelters.
6. The pool is clean, and due to its closeness to the beach, you get a real feel that you are in one big stretch of water.
7. Staff are hugely friendly, will attend to your needs whether on a sun bed or in the restaurant, and are very helpful whatever the question. Jose Maria in particular went out of his way to accommodate me and my continual questioning, and always did it with a smile..or a joke!
8. Rooms are clean and serviced daily, no theft, no bother. Being an eco friendly resort toilets are au natural though, so don't expect a flush - although I am unsure if they are looking into changing this.
9. Other recommendations, the whale sharks (if in season), to eat - Los Pelicanos and La Parilla de Juan (this place doesn't get enough hype, it was great!) Las Nubes and Case La Tortugas hotel and bar to get a feel for the other hotels, but def base yourself at Flamingos, they won't disappoint!
10. Expect gekos, igunanas, dogs running free, beautiful birds, incredible sea life, great tours, local living, but best of all lots of peace and sunshine.

ENJOY!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydayz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2010

It was my first time at Holbox and we really loved it. Villa Flamingos is a great hotel. The people there is warm and really tries to make you feel comfortable. The pool, the beach are great to spend most of the time. You can even enjoy the walk to downtown to eat or just walk around.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Villas Flamingos is a charming little hotel, with everything you need for a perfect beach vacation. I went to Holbox with two friends for a relaxing spring break, and it's perfect for couples and families as well. The service at Villas Flamingos was amazing! As soon as I inquired about rooms, the manager, Jose Maria was in touch with us every step of the way. He arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport, helped us rent a golf cart once we arrived, and offered to arrange any number of activities for us during our stay (although we liked the hotel so much that mostly we just sat there all day on lounge chairs!) Even though it rained one day, we had a blast just holed up in our cozy bungalow reading and playing cards, and ordering tasty drinks and food. The service was great, everyone was so friendly. They have an adorable palapa bar with swings, right on the beach, and a hammock is never more than ten steps away. It's an easy walk along the beach, or a short golf cart ride into the village of Holbox, where you can find funky, artsy stores, restaurants, and bars. I would recommend Villas Flamingos to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbersWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

With a stunning location on a most pristine beach, Villas Flamingo exceeded all our expectations. The staff and management are dedicated and personable, they get to know you by name and make all of our intentions easy and effortless. We did not have to worry about anything! The rooms are spacious and charming, and the little touchs of the cleaning staff always brought a smile to our face. Small enough to be friendly and familiar, the breakfasts were a time to meet and speak with other guests from all over the world. A short walk on the beach brings you to the village of Holbox, with some of the best restaurants I've ever been to, and I live in a world famous resort area. The residents are friendly and helpful, I have met several with whom we still communicate on a regular basis. I could not give Villas Flamingo any higher recommendation. The proof of this is that this was our third visit, and we are already planning a return next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

If you have never been to Holbox and you want the best experience possible you definitely want to stay at Villas Flamingos. The 'resort' is located away from the hustle of everything but close enough to walk to and from the town square. The rooms are clean, cool, and thoughtfully decorated. Staff was incredible and very accommodating; they even helped us arrange a 3 island fishing/site-seeing boat tour. Love Villas Flamingos and cannot wait to go back this summer for the whale sharks!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanie2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Flamingos

Property: Villas Flamingos
Address: Calle Paso Kuka s/n Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Flamingos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property features 29 beautifully decorated bungalows; all of them with a stunning ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island
Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing