We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, On the Beach, Pleasant Staff...Wonderful Location”
Review of Casa Maya Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Maya Holbox
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
“Comfortable, On the Beach, Pleasant Staff...Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Casa Maya was wonderful, although it took me a few days to become comfortable with the set-up. The rooms are located off of a central living area and kitchen which is shared by the staff. The rooms are kept very clean by a wonderful woman (who also did my laundry) and the air-conditioning was refreshing after a long day in the heat. I was also permitted to use their computer and internet access in lieu of visiting the local internet cafe. Jose Lima was especially gracious and his staff presented me with a bottle of wine to enjoy during my stay there. Casa Maya is right on the beach and within a very short walking distance to the square. The perfect spot for someone who is not expecting a five-star hotel, but is instead looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaLaverdure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
43
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I believe in being very candid when I write a review. How else am I going to help a future traveler? Here's the deal. If you're looking for a Marriott this is not the place for you. Of course if you're looking for a chain hotel Isla Holbox is not for you either. So we have that out of the way. I traveled to Holbox last year with some family and my only request this year was "let's find a place with Air Conditioning". My mother made the reservations at Casa Maya and so I went into a bit blind. The set up is interesting. It's almost like a big home. There is a central eating area with a large table, refrigerators etc. Jose Lima made us very welcome. He even offered to lend us books on history/art etc from the region. The rooms are modest, but then it is Mexico. The AC worked great! After a day in Holbox AC is NICE! Also there were two large ceiling fans that really helped the circulation. As long as you're there for a clean room (cleaned every day and they even did our laundry!) you can't go wrong. Plus if you're a beach person you're just steps away from the beach plus you're close to the center of town. Make sure you pet the dog in the yard next door. (He's a sweetheart)! Feel free to check out www.realthinktank.com for my pictures from Holbox.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casinotank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This hotel is right next door to several hotels, one much more expensive, the other similarly priced...I would recommend this hotel highly except for the fact that when the owner isn't present (which was the case for our first 3 days) the common kitchen and living room were very dirty. It is a combination hotel/camping facility and as such has a nice kitchen, two refrigerators and a lovely little living room with television and wifi. Unfortunatly, it was always occupied by 2-3 teenage Mexican boys watching old movies at high decibels. We never felt comfortable using the space. The beach is a working beach and has one palapa with two hammocks...no beach chairs. It is a good price, but only about $5 dollar per night cheaper than others that have nicer beaches (lounge chairs, etc.). The kitchen is a plus, and the rooms were fine...decent beds. Jose showed up after 3 days and the boys worked furiously to clean the living area, kitchen, throw out spoiled food etc. If you are pretty chill this will work for you. Isla Holbox rocks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertHillsOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford,Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We have been staying at Jose' Lima's resort's for the last 12 years.
His original resort on Isla Mujere's is where we first stayed and began our relationship (you just don't stay here,you become friends).This new resort on Holbox is equally as charming and remote.It is like stepping back in time to a simpilar relaxing life.
Mr. Lima is the most gracious and intelletual host you could ask for (I could sit and talk with him for hours).It has been a great pleasure to have the opportunity to meet and get to know Mr. Lima & his family.Our children now 10 & 11 have grown up coming here every year and beg us to keep coming back.They refer to Mr. Lima as their Mexican Grandfather and he returns the same by greeting them as his American Grandchildren.If you are looking for a wonderful stress free relaxing vacation in a turn of the century environment ,this is the place to come to.It is completely save for you,your children & your posessions as we have always been treated with the most respect (no need for locks)
If you like the ocean and ocean life, this is one of the best places to go fishing,whale,dolphin & wildlife watching.On our last trip we went deep sea fishing with a local fisherman and also went swimming with the Whale Sharks (very incredible) even both of our children were thrilled with these events.I would highly recommend staying with Mr. Jose' Lima at his Casa Maya Resort as you will not be dissapointed.PS - Jose, we will see you soon. Best Wishes from the Russell's - David, Amy, Aryel & Jerod (your American grandchildren)

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cptguy440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuweiba, sinai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Casa Maya is right on the beach. Tent costs only $ 10.-/night. Extremely friendly staff. Only thing not so good: toilets and showers in the shared bathroom for campers don't give much privacy. They have curtains instead of doors and they just fly with the wind.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuweibatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

This is a great place to stay as long as it's not during a holiday day. They have a kitchen you can cook in (minimally) and great rooms. Wonderful staff. The only problem is that there's a bar next door and when they make noise, they make noise. We had to use earplugs. However, that doesn't happen very often it seems. We were there New Years and for the anniversary party for the bar, so...

Still, the staff is the absolute best. They do all kinds of things for you, and even did our wash for free (expected a tip). You don't usually get that kind of treatment.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank stuyvesant74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucatan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I stayed at Casa Maya Hotel this summer and it was a wonderful experience. The rate was great find. I found an excellent promotion on yucatantoday.com and decided to visit the island. It was a great surprise to find the hotel located right on the beach and next to the piers where I took my tours. I do recommend this hotel: the room was very clean and the AC worked wonderfully.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YucatanMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maya Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Holbox

Property: Casa Maya Holbox
Address: Calle Sierra and Paseo Carey, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Maya Holbox 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbox Hotel Casa Maya in Holbox, is an excellent hotel for people who like exploring exotic places, for the ones who appreciate the beauty of the sea, lush vegetation and a fantastic wildlife in a relaxed atmosphere of relaxation and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Maya Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing