We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Paradise Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last July. We got a little room just by the sea-The room was small and clean and had air con- If your are looking for a luxury hotel DONT STAY HERE!...HOWEVER if you want to relax , experience what this island is all about and feel like you are at home then don't think twice. The people looking after the hotel were lovely and made us feel at HOME, we had breakfast in the balcony every morning!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room by the beach and with view to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiVP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This B&B was selected by our fishing guide after a house we had rented fell through. Four of us were here for a week of tarpon fishing. It was still the slow season so other options were available, but we had pre-paid with Paypal, so we stuck it out. Otherwise we would have moved. After reading the reviews I was optimistic this would be a really nice place, but we were rather disappointed. The good: it was clean and beach front. The bad: rooms are quite small, no place to hang clothes, showers were essentially non functional, only dripping water (in both rooms), one sink faucet poured water on the floor from a leak, towel bar broken off in one room, ran out of toilet paper, no way to heat water for coffee, it took 3 days to get any bottled water in the room then only with one glass, it is too far from town to walk so you have to pay a "taxi" every time you go for $5 US each way. Although listed as a B&B, the breakfast part took a significant negotiation to finally arrange. Of course, no wifi or TV at this location. The accommodations in Holbox offer a very wide spectrum of options and locations and it can be challenging to sort these out with information found on the internet. If your hotel doesn't offer full food service, distance from town is critical. Possibly with some maintenance and a better trained "staff" this could be acceptable, but not in it's present status.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmwTN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at Golden Paradise for our first anniversary and had the most wonderful time. Femi, Gabriel, & Juan treated us like family and we felt like we were at home. Femi made us the most wonderful breakfasts and was very attentive to our needs. Gabriel made sure everything was in order and even helped with our transportation back to the airport. Juan kept the property looking beautiful and always had a smile on his face. We decided to stay at the property that is "in town". Absolutely gorgeous-I will post pictures as proof! If you are going to stay anywhere in Holbox, this is IT!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennPush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

The hotel is managed and owned by a Mexican family. When we got from the ferry, we took a taxi to the golden paradise village, where Femmi, one of the owners, was allready waiting for us.
We had a warm welcome,and a few minutes later they brought us with a golf car (local vehicules) to the golden paradise beach hotel.
For me and my wife it was a dream come true. The hotel is located about 2 km from the center. You come out of your room, go down the stairs, and you are on the beach.
The rooms on the beach are very basic (still). They have 2 beds, a little sink, refrigerator, and a bathroom. There is also a table and 2 chairs on the balcony.
When the water is calm, you can easily go 50 m in the water and still be hip deep.
The only thing you have to remember is, when you want to go and eat, you will probably have to walk to the center.From the center you can take a taxi back to the hotel (40 pesos)
You have to make a reservation and tranfer money to confirm.
This is completely normal, and you don't have to worry yourself about this.
If the beach hotel is a little far from the center, you can always go to the village hotel (big room,2beds,bathroom,sink and a television,A/C optional),or the camping area,where they have private rooms and dormetory.
After our stay,we can include this people as our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killroyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

I stayed at Golden Paradise Beach Hotel recently during my first trip to Holbox (don't even get me started on how beautiful Holbox is!). I first stayed at Golden Paradise Camping, which has some lovely Caribbean private rooms, but unfortunately was a little loud with the roosters and such--i'm a very light sleeper. When i told Femmy (the owner of GP) that i couldn't sleep there, she immediately returned the money i'd paid her for the week, and offered me a deep discount on the Beach Hotel. And man, what a treat!!

The Beach Hotel is actually a very beautiful house about a kilometer down the beach, with 8 beautifully appointed rooms with fridges, a/c and fans. The house literally touches the sea--it's probably the closest hotel to the sea in Holbox, actually. How could you get any closer? At night the gentle waves sound like they're in one's bedroom...It's incredibly soothing. I couldn't hear anything else but the water and the birds--there really is nothing else very close to it, which is lovely, especially since i was there during Carnavale! Sit on the balcony--if you're lucky enough to get a top room overlooking the sea--and watch the sunset, the pelicans dive for fish, the moon and stars. Truly breathtaking. Wake up in the morning and walk straight into the sea, then relax on a hammock or chaise.

The owners, who are a wonderful Mexican family (most hotels in Holbox seem to be owned by foreigners), do not live at the beach hotel, but there is a young, lovely family who live in a house steps from the beach hotel, and they take care of the place. I knocked on their door whenever i needed something...I don't speak much Spanish (and they speak no English), but i usually got the point across! If you need more, visit Femmy and Gabriel at their hotel in town, where they live. For those of you who need a 24/7, English-speaking manager on site, this place may not be for you, but it's isolation was one of its charms, for me!

I was traveling alone, but felt incredibly safe...Having a bike made things easier, especially traveling back and forth to town, at night. I usually biked on the road instead of the beach, but it's also easy to walk to town via the beach, and takes about 10-15 minutes. Beautiful walk, needless to say.

I can't say enough about Femmy and Gabriel--they are such wonderful, accommodating people, and truly want their guests to be happy. All 3 of their hotels are super clean, designed with love, and high quality, and anytime i needed anything they were prompt and generous. The Beach Hotel helped make my stay on Holbox a wonderful dream--i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank electracat0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#9 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Paradise Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Paradise Beach Hotel
Address: calle paseo carey con calle torito, Holbox Island, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Paradise Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Paradise Beach Our cozy relaxing and comfortable, beach front hotel lacated 1.5 Km. From the town square, invites to fully enjoy the contact with the nature as the wonderful sunset, the song of the native birds, where you can relax and rest. Come to the beach and enjoy the Holbox atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing