We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous location, lovely rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I stayed at Golden Paradise Beach Hotel recently during my first trip to Holbox (don't even get me started on how beautiful Holbox is!). I first stayed at Golden Paradise Camping, which has some lovely Caribbean private rooms, but unfortunately was a little loud with the roosters and such--i'm a very light sleeper. When i told Femmy (the owner of GP) that i couldn't sleep there, she immediately returned the money i'd paid her for the week, and offered me a deep discount on the Beach Hotel. And man, what a treat!!

The Beach Hotel is actually a very beautiful house about a kilometer down the beach, with 8 beautifully appointed rooms with fridges, a/c and fans. The house literally touches the sea--it's probably the closest hotel to the sea in Holbox, actually. How could you get any closer? At night the gentle waves sound like they're in one's bedroom...It's incredibly soothing. I couldn't hear anything else but the water and the birds--there really is nothing else very close to it, which is lovely, especially since i was there during Carnavale! Sit on the balcony--if you're lucky enough to get a top room overlooking the sea--and watch the sunset, the pelicans dive for fish, the moon and stars. Truly breathtaking. Wake up in the morning and walk straight into the sea, then relax on a hammock or chaise.

The owners, who are a wonderful Mexican family (most hotels in Holbox seem to be owned by foreigners), do not live at the beach hotel, but there is a young, lovely family who live in a house steps from the beach hotel, and they take care of the place. I knocked on their door whenever i needed something...I don't speak much Spanish (and they speak no English), but i usually got the point across! If you need more, visit Femmy and Gabriel at their hotel in town, where they live. For those of you who need a 24/7, English-speaking manager on site, this place may not be for you, but it's isolation was one of its charms, for me!

I was traveling alone, but felt incredibly safe...Having a bike made things easier, especially traveling back and forth to town, at night. I usually biked on the road instead of the beach, but it's also easy to walk to town via the beach, and takes about 10-15 minutes. Beautiful walk, needless to say.

I can't say enough about Femmy and Gabriel--they are such wonderful, accommodating people, and truly want their guests to be happy. All 3 of their hotels are super clean, designed with love, and high quality, and anytime i needed anything they were prompt and generous. The Beach Hotel helped make my stay on Holbox a wonderful dream--i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank electracat0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Golden Paradise Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Estefania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Zulmajestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walterwhite001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank LauraE9660NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las mejores habitaciones son las que tienen vista a la playa, aunque cobran un adicional.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreasalmeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: les 4 chambres avec vue sur mer sont plus sympa mais les autres sont raisonnables.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#14 of 20 in Holbox Island
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Paradise Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Paseo Carey Con Calle Torito, Holbox Island, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Paradise Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Paradise Beach Our cozy relaxing and comfortable, beach front hotel lacated 1.5 Km. From the town square, invites to fully enjoy the contact with the nature as the wonderful sunset, the song of the native birds, where you can relax and rest. Come to the beach and enjoy the Holbox atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing