We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hideaway”
Review of Casa Takywara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Takywara
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We sprent three nights at the Casa Takywara in december 2011. The rooms were spacious (our group had two), fitted with all the necessities, with built-in smooth concrete furniture and wardrobe, and even a hammock in our room. The bathroom was quite compact but the water pressure very good and all the fixtures carefully chosen and attractive as well as functional. On our first morning we opened the door to find a pretty bag just outside it, with a carton of milk (for the coffee machine in the room's kitchenette), two croissants and a tupperware box with slices of fresh tropical fruit. No tv, but when you are in paradise, do you really need one? An additional attraction was the "cocodrillito" (baby aligator) in the mangrove pond right next to the hotel. Don't get drunk and fall into the pond, but otherwise it was an added attraction! Gladys and Enrique, who run the place for the owner were exceptionally friendly and helpful and full of good advice and anecdotes. Definitely a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Get either the palapa room on the beach or the top floor ifs you must have an uninterrupted sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motovun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

We really appreciate your opinion and your time. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

And very nice management. We really enjoyed our stay here. I would say that if you sleep hot, and it's July, then it's best to ask for an air conditioned room. The Penthouse and the Bungalow were not air conditioned. We were a large group, and we all really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Casa Takywara is a beautiful and private place to stay right on the beach of Holbox. Beautiful stylish rooms with amazing views and air conditioning. The staff is amazing always there to make sure you are having the best service possible. I will definitely be back here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miperoluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My girlfriend and I spent a week at Takywara and were thoroughly satisfied with everything, from the incredibly friendly and helpful owner to our room with it's balcony and two comfy hammocks. I can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We spent 6 days and 4 nights and we had a great relaxing time. If you are looking for somewhere to escape from the city, work and kids, this is the place you are looking for. The inner design of rooms is pretty cool because it's like a fancy tree house, so you reely feel conected to nature. The whole idea of casa takywara is pretty ecologic and that's something you can't find anywhere else.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed in the penthouse at Casa Takywara for a week in January and it was absolutely perfect. The property is very well maintained with a pretty garden and beachfront. The rooms are lovely and well appointed with full kitchenettes (complete with coffee maker). Every morning, the caretaker would come by with a huge selection of fruit, freshly baked bread or croissants, butter and preserves at about 9:00 a.m. We supplemented our breakfast with eggs that we picked up at one of the mini supers in town. Mornings were spent either down on the water or lazing in one of our two hammocks (the penthouse comes with two so you don't have to share). Afternoons we went for long walks down the beach. Evenings were spent in town enjoying delicious seafood (it's about a five minute walk into town - bring a flashlight as only part of it is lit by street lights). Isla Holbox is about my favourite place on earth and I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Takywara.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBumbler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Casa Takywara is an authentic and charming place. The quiet atmosphere makes it so easy to relax and enjoy nature in so many ways. The rooms are as comfortable and spacious as they could be, with a homey feeling and great care put on details. We stayed in the penthouse with an amazing panoramic view of ever changing shades of green and blue.
The hosts - More and Santiago - made this pleasant stay a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yurodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.0 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Takywara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Takywara

Address: Paseo Carey sin numero | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: £70 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Takywara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa Takywara you will be able to enjoy the nature surrounded by mangroves and native vegetation, in the comfort of an ample and calm space with terraces, hammocks and an incomparable view in front of the sea. Full unforgettable moments of encounter with dolphins, pelicans, flamenco and other species. Our small island belongs to a Protected Natural Area call Yum Balam. We participate in communitarian activities for the environmental education and protection of flora and fauna.Casa Takywara is in a calm beach, near the town, without traffic nor tourist agitation and of great privacy.Starred skies, unique sunsets, encounter of colors between the sky and the sea, to walk barefoot, to breathe pure air, all are rewarding experiences that we invite to you to share in our House.We have created a refuge of rescue, rehabilitation and liberation of fauna located within the town and you can visit it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Takywara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing