We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Takywara
Nearby Hotels
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel(Holbox Island)
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Villas Flamingos(Holbox Island)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Las Nubes De Holbox(Holbox Island)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas Delfines(Holbox Island)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa BlatHa(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Xaloc Resort(Holbox Island)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
268
45
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
45
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousewarm breadevery morningfresh fruitin townbeach bungalowten minute walkour home away from homerestaurant recommendationssmall kitchenprivate deckour honeymoonmain buildingair conditioninganimal shelterkayak tourrooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

After staying in the island for a week and visited other hotels nearby - Casa Takywara had the best beach area and privacy surroundings. The rooms were spacious, beautiful and clean. The decoration fantastic. Nice and fun for kids.
The only thing - it will be nice to have someone available at the hotel all day in case of need. Transportation may be an issue if you don't have a way to communicate with anyone.

Perfect vacation - relax and good food as well!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks in December. The rooms are immaculate, decorated with colorful textiles and have well equipped kitchenettes.The built-in subtly shaded concrete furniture provide a very architecturally organic feel along with the interestingly decorated and appointed bathrooms.

Every morning one is greeted with a colorful sack filled with warm bread or croissants, butter, jam and a Tupperware container of fresh ripe tropical fruit. Enjoying these while sitting on the veranda with a cup of freshly brewed coffee or tea, looking through the beautifully landscaped garden out to the beach with the sound of the waves and birds is a fabulous way to start the day. Casa Takywara is far enough from town to provide a peaceful secluded atmosphere but only a short 10 minute walk away from the restaurants and shops

.The great thing about Holbox is that one can make one's stay as lazy and laid back or adventurous as one will: beach combing, shelling, birding, diving, kite surfing, paddling through the mangroves or reading that long novel you never had time for. Don't miss the small cayman that lives in the garden's pond.

We cannot say enough about the Gladys, Enrique and the housekeeping staff. They are very friendly and willing to go to great lengths to make one's stay as pleasant as possible. We have already planned to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karu46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed for almost 3 weeks at Takywara in Feb 2012. This was one of the very best accommodations we've had worldwide, and for being Mexico - the cost is very, very decent.

The rooms are spacious and the kitchenette had everything we needed. Even a blender for those afternoon smoothies:) The bathroom is small but functional. Beds are a bit on the hard side, but spacious. Our 4yr old slept on one of two sofa beds and we were offered a cot for the 2yr old. We also had an extra inflatable bed in the room. There's wifi in the room, but the speed is immensely slow. You cannot download anything exceeding 1-2Mb.

Breakfast is delivered each morning at 8.45 to your door. The bag includes fresh bread, butter, marmalade, fruit and milk for the coffee. Plenty of everything. We stocked up with some extras as eggs and yoghurt. Coffee and tea are refilled daily. The kitchen is good for preparing a simple lunch, but seating is limited. We usually took the lunch with us down to the beach.

Our kids loved the beach which is literary a stone's throw from the room. There's no ocean view from the ground floor rooms, but I never missed it as you're 50 steps away from dipping your toes in the water. We lived on the beach all day. It's very shallow which is great for kids, but less so for adults who wants to go for a swim. You have to walk far our to get above knee depth.

The plaza/village centre is about 10 min walk along the beach. We never missed having a restaurant at the hotel as this kept the place calm, low key and quiet. Fine to take a stroller as the sand is packed hard. are beach bikes with kids seats for rent. Great service however a bit too expensive for a long stay. $10/day/bike.

There is one major drawback and that's the mosquitoes. Not unique to Takywara but a Holbox problem overall. Fortunately Dengue seems to be rare on the island. Bring lots of repellent and plan for staying indoors/close all doors/windows around sunset. It gets a bit better later in the evening, but sitting on the verandah late evenings when the children are asleep is almost impossible without getting all chewed up. We were on the ground floor, and I believe the breeze might make things better on the other floors. Sandflies sometimes hassled us, but not every day.

Another advice for those choosing a room on the ground floor is to take all your belongings into your room at night. We had some things stolen one night, and it's easy for anyone just passing by to grab things as there is no fence in front of the ground floor room.

Things I missed in the room: proper curtains to keep early morning light out, fly swatter,

Gladys & Enrique are excellent hosts who really go out of their way to make sure you're taken care of. We would recommend Casa Takywara to anyone wanting a quiet place to wind down - with or without children.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pelikan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We rented Takywara's beach cabana for 6 nights in February. The interior, the lovely porch, the location and the amenities were all top notch. The little house is super-stylish, with lots of pale poured concrete, and great fabrics everywhere. We loved the bathroom with its sunken, shower, semi-open to the sky - like showering outdoors but with the protection and privacy of indoors. The kitchenette had everything we needed, and there were plenty of different places to string the big, blue hammock. Gladys and Enrique were very friendly (ask them about how to reduce your environmental impact on the island: they are very tuned into the ecology of the place). Our cleaning lady, Terri (?) was also friendly and lovely with our young daughter, 3. It is a shame that there's another cabana coming up, next door (different owners) but I doubt this will spoil the beautiful effect of sea, sky and isolation.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabana! A bit more expensive but steps from the ocean: incomparable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfredglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just got back last night............and were there for a week.Not only is the spot amazing,
rooms quaint and peaceful...........Everyone who works there and run the place,especially Gladys and Enrique are more then accommadating........they will do just about anything to make your stay on their little Island perfect:)Unlike other places on the Island, this one is a bit off the beaten track.but not too far:) You can walk into 'town'. There are bikes to rent on the property and if you want to rent a golf cart.they will set it up easily for you.......Breakfast is amazing ,fruit and delicious home baked breads and marmalade.......We ate dinner at some of the other places or had drinks.......there is NO other place like this one.......We WILL be back! They have done an amazing job!

Room Tip: There are only about 6...........so you can't go wrong:)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmhenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews