We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfection”
Review of Casa Takywara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Takywara
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Casa Takywara 5 nights in late December.
Pros: 1.gorgeous tropical garden only steps away from the rooms and leading directly to the beach, 2.huge room with two beds and kitchenette, 3.great host Bertha always smiling and ready to help anytime it's necessary, 4.located in quiet southern end of the island ten minutes away by pleasant walk from the island's center, 5.calm sea with table flat water petfect to swim and play for kids.
Cons (minor though): 1.breakfast could be a bit more varied, 2.beach could be better if not covered with seaweeds (not really hotel's fault).
Thank you Bertha, Lupe and rest of the team for making us invite New Year in this special place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowe_rozdanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear friends.
It was really nice to meet you.
We appreciate a lot your comments and we are taking account your kind suggestions.
Thanks for spending your vacations with us.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again to your Mexican home.
A big hug for you and a big kiss for your smiling baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
196
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We just got back from Holbox and staying at Casa Takywara. This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. We booked the Luna cabin. It was the perfect spot for our honeymoon. We would never want to stay anywhere else. Every morning there is fresh fruit, bread, butter and jam brought to your door. The beach is a little more secluded and doesn't have as much traffic as some of the other hotels a little closer to the island center/plaza. Bertha is so sweet and accommodating. We love this place and hope it never changes. Can't wait to get back there and relax. Thank you for another amazing trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Luna, which is the cabin right in front of the beach. Awesome, Awesome place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear friends.
Thanks a lot for your preference and your comments. It is very nice you have spent your honeymoon at our hotel.Casa Takywara always will be here four you and your family.
A big hug from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were a family of four and found the beach bungalow to be perfect for us. Customer service was great as were breakfasts. Ideal to be right on the water. Easy access to swimming for the kids and the long shallow beach is ideal for them. Issues out of the hotel's control were the amount of water on the island causing flooded roads and more traffic than typical on the beachfront. Other than that things were great. 8 min walk to pier. A few bugs with all the water but that is Holbox. I would say that if you had a negative view of this place then you likely should avoid Holbox and stick to more predictable resort areas. It was super relaxing and clean and the service was great.

Room Tip: If you have a family then the bungalow is great...kitchenette and they have blow up beds for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPermMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Casa Takywara´s friends.
It was a pleasure to meet you. Thanks a lot for your opinion. We really appreciate it.
Casa Takywara will be always waiting you.
Best Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was only three days, but I did not feel very well, I was hoping better at this hotel.
The rooms are close to the beach, but now with foul-smelling algae, and dirt horses neighbors, the environment is not pleasant.
we also got little attention from the service, as customers,
and our rooms, on the second day, did not have a proper cleaning.
Breakfast is good, we also dined out at restaurants in the pueblo, great fish and lobsters.
The walk to the hotel at night is a little bit complicated, and not illuminated.
Many holes of water in the streets of sand, with many mosquitoes after sunset.
The island of Holbox is very characteristic and still primitive, quite a step back,
A wild yet relaxing, fishing with local maya, and shopping artesania.
We will return, but also will visit or contact other hotels on the beach.
thanks Takiara Staff.


Inviato da iPad

Room Tip: Problems with insects, for the Rooms on the Higher floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Google Translation
Por la importancia de este comentario, he preferido responder en mi lengua materna. Tripavisor nos garantiza el servicio de la traducción.
He revisado cada una de las reservas e emails y no sé a qué reserva corresponde este comentario, el cual agradecemos por el tiempo (recurso importante y vital) empleado en su redacción.
Es muy triste para Casa Takywara, recibir estas opiniones cuando el huésped no nos demuestra su inconformidad. La claridad evita el dolor, y estamos seguros que le hubiéramos ayudado a encontrar un lugar apetecible a sus necesidades con la correspondiente devolución de su dinero, para que el disfrute de Holbox hubiese resultado pleno. En Casa Takywara solo nos preocupamos por hacerles sentir bien, de una manera discreta y llena de sencillos detalles. Trabajamos con mucho amor para ustedes, pero la comunicación es un factor esencial para lograrlo.
En esta temporada donde el mal tiempo llena de algas nuestras playas solo defensores y amantes de la naturaleza comprenderán la necesidad de respetar los procesos naturales que garantizarán: la existencia de hermosas playas, la magia de la bioluminiscencia, la presencia de especies marinas y aves, y una larga vida para esta isla que tanto tiene que regalar al mundo.
Si, nuestra playa también se llenó se sargazo, pero es reconocible el trabajo de la persona que se encarga del mantenimiento del hotel, creando caminitos para que nuestros huéspedes puedan pasar a la playa sin dificultad.
Afortunadamente este año el sargazo no ha desprendido ese olor desagradable (que para conocimiento de todos es muy saludable), lo cual ha permitido que nuestros huéspedes continúen tomando el sol en nuestra playa sin necesidad de buscar otros sitios.
Tenemos a los caballos a 250 o 300 m de Casa Takywara, nunca el hotel ha estado, ni estará afectado por eso. Incluso el estiércol del caballo lo recogen y es utilizado como abono en muchos de los jardines de Holbox. Los caballos, serán máximo 6, solo permanecen de día en este lugar para realizar las excursiones, en la noche no duermen ahí y jamás pasan por la playa de Casa Takywara. Si el camino a Casa Takywara pasando cerca de los caballos le era molesto, todavía está la opción deliciosa de caminar por la orilla del mar.
Que haya existido un día donde la habitación no se haya limpiado correctamente es nuestra responsabilidad y tomaremos las medidas necesarias en cuanto a eso. Por favor, indíquenos que días de noviembre permaneció en el hotel y a nombre de quien estuvo su reserva.
Que la atención a usted no fue lo que esperaba, con mucho gusto aceptamos sus sugerencias. En Casa Takywara siempre ronda esa pregunta: Cómo le haríamos sentir mejor.
Casa Takywara es un espacio especial, donde la naturaleza holboxeña es la reina del lugar, y si esto amerita la categoría de salvaje, entonces… bienvenido el calificativo. Hay que sentirse parte de la naturaleza y estar en armonía con ella para visitar Casa Takywara.
Nuevamente gracias por sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This boutique hotel was everything promised. The location of our bungalow/casita was absolutely pefect for our needs. Just steps from the Gulf of Mexico, we were on our "porch" each day for sunrise and our first cup of coffee. Every morning of our eight day stay breakfast arrived on schedule, with yummy fresh baked bread and vine ripened papaya and bananas. Casa Takywara is just a short walk to town, and an even shorter cab (golf cart) ride, and an amazing array of excellent restaurants. The fresh fish and seafood...ahhhh...words fail me. The people of the island were the friendliest you will find anywhere, and absolutely no badgering. But, the staff of Casa Takywara were above even this high standard. The grounds were immaculate and the gardener had been working overtime to keep it that way. No easy task, as a very strong "norte', an especially strong cold front, rain, and high tide combined to cause oceanfront properties a major headache. As for Bertha; well, there are not enough superlatives to describe what her sunny nature and beauty contributed to our stay. Bill observed how she was out every morning reviewing and adjusting, and I adored receiving her handmade remembrances each day. One with a portion of Tennyson's "In Memorium" I am passing on to our daughter for Christmas. We are fairly independent travelers and don"t require a lot of hand holding, but I feel certain that if you want the "white glove" treatment, she would cheerfully provide that. I would definitely recommend this peaceful oasis to other independent souls who truly want the "vacate" experience on their vacation. Leave you laptops, smartphones, and tablets turned off, or better yet left at home, and sink into the amazing "1950's" experience.

Room Tip: Bungalow/casita can't be beat.Oceanfront. Also, less prone to a major bug problem, the only draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiesta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear and lovely friends.
I am smiling while reading your comments remind me yours happy every morning greeting. It was wonderful meeting you and sharing these days where Holbox gaves you sunny days and the occasional bad weather.
Thanks a lot and "Be near Casa Takywara always"
A warm huge from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Casa Takywara is a great place for people who want to relax in a very quaint environment. The hotel is close enough to town (about 10-15 minutes walk) but far enough that you feel you are on your own little Island. The rooms are very nice. They are simple and clean and the service is great.

Bertha was very gracious and quickly helped us resolve an issue we had upon our arrival. I would highly recommend Casa Takywara to anyone who is looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaronZ772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear friends.
Thanks a lot for your comments. In Casa Takywara you will always feel the confidence to express any problem, and the assurance that we can understand and help you.
Our guests are close friends we received with the greatest desire to make them feel at home.
We hope to see you again.
Warm regards from Holbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This could go on for a while as I am totally in love with Casa Takywara, from the moment we arrived, Bertha made us feel so welcome, she has a peaceful aura surrounding her and really makes Casa Takywara feel like your home. The location is perfect, a very short walk from the centre of Holbox but far enough to feel totally relaxed as if you are on a deserted island. The little notes we received each day almost brought a tear to my eye and the breakfast we received, bring hung on our door was an added little extra that was much welcomed.

The rooms are perfect, with everything you could need, love the decor and we spent many an hour lying on our hammocks on the balcony as we are surrounded by ghekos, frogs and other little creatures. The bunglow is beautiful and sits on the sea front with lots of hammocks and sun beds along the shoreline also for relaxing or topping up your suntan.

Bertha also organised a transfer for us which made the route so much easier and we organised a boat trip also which was lovely and again without any hassle. All the other staff members we encountered were so friendly and always had a smile for us which makes me think it's probably as amazing to work there as it is for those of us lucky enough to stay.

There is not enough words I could say about Casa Takywara to describe how much I think of this place, I travel a lot of this is one place I will definately return to one day. I would recommend it to anyone going to Holbox if you are looking for a beautiful home away from home with a totally relaxed atmosphere and wonderful host :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Click-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much dear Casa Takywara's friend.
It was delicious to read your comments. It is an award when our little family is enhanced by the arrival of friends like you.
Thanks for loving our environment and enjoy the coexistence with nature.
A very warm hug and an invitation to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Takywara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Takywara

Property: Casa Takywara
Address: Paseo Carey sin numero | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Takywara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa Takywara you will be able to enjoy the nature surrounded by mangroves and native vegetation, in the comfort of an ample and calm space with terraces, hammocks and an incomparable view in front of the sea. Full unforgettable moments of encounter with dolphins, pelicans, flamenco and other species. Our small island belongs to a Protected Natural Area call Yum Balam. We participate in communitarian activities for the environmental education and protection of flora and fauna.Casa Takywara is in a calm beach, near the town, without traffic nor tourist agitation and of great privacy.Starred skies, unique sunsets, encounter of colors between the sky and the sea, to walk barefoot, to breathe pure air, all are rewarding experiences that we invite to you to share in our House.We have created a refuge of rescue, rehabilitation and liberation of fauna located within the town and you can visit it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Takywara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing