We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, solitude and what a sanctuary”
Review of Casa Takywara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Takywara
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serene, solitude and what a sanctuary”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our amazing customer service started before we even landed in Mexico. Marcella was fantastic at communicating with us about our reservations. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, which was simple but tastefully decorated and very large for our needs. The full kitchenette allowed us to cook simple meals to add to our eating experience on the island.

We traveled with two adults and two children (ages 10 and 8) and the room provided everything we needed. We were able to source cold Fantas and beers from Marcella when we checked in, then took advantage of the large mini-fridge for the rest of our stay. Shopping "in town" allows for decent pricing for your own stash of drinks and snacks, but there is a cooler in the room that Marcella will fill with ice for an afternoon on the beach.

Our breakfast was delivered each morning in a delightful "knapsack" and filled with warm bread, butter, jam and assorted fresh fruits.

As I type this review, I am sitting on the veranda (shared with one other room, but never feeling cramped or intrusive) listening to the evening sounds of the seashells hung around the ceiling swaying in the ever present breeze and being serenaded by the nightlife. This stay was peaceful, serene and enjoyable. Even though Casa Takywara was fully booked during our weekend stay (three nights), it almost always felt as though we were the only guests.

The grounds are arranged such that guests can meander around the garden area, read in the screened porch, or sit at one of the many hideaways created for our use.

The beach is just a few steps from the penthouse, Agua and Aire rooms and the Beach Bungalow sits literally ON the beach. There is ample seating on the beach for all Casa Takywara guests and we felt as though the beach had been reserved just for us.

The restaurants in town will deliver food to your room or beachfront, which is a huge benefit if you choose not to rent a golf cart (which can be expensive at $85 USD per 24 hour period). The town is a short and enjoyable 15 minute walk from Casa Takywara and just the perfect distance to get your appetite going and to burn off calories after your dinner! (The main strip of hotels on Holbox is actually farther from downtown Holbox than Casa Takywara is, yet Takywara feels MUCH more remote and exclusive!)

The simplicity of Casa Takywara is subtle, in that everything seems casually placed and situated, however, you know every little detail has been appointed to and cared for by the staff (Marcella, Bertha and the groundskeepers, etc.) but never with an air of anything but utmost attention to the guests. The grounds are unique (stumps turned into planters that have been seated on seashells, hanging baskets of foilage, delightful mobiles fashioned from driftwood and seashells, etc.)

We would love to come back to Holbox and if so, we will definitely stay at Casa Takywara.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Agua room and while it was perfectly fine, you should know that for new guests to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiHattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear friends.
All of you and our staff are the most important thing in Casa Takywara, for this reason everything flows on simplicity and warmth.
This is the place for people in love with life.
A big hug from our hearts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    40
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
201
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Casa Takywara was great. Very clean, friendly and QUIET (which for us, was key). It is a very short walk to the town/restaurants/bars/grocery store, the kitchen was very well suited for cooking. We had trouble making our own ice, but the staff was happy to fill our cooler (which they provide for cold ones on the beach). Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The penthouse is WELL worth the extra money. We didn't run into the no-see-um bugs that are ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank travelpirate4479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear friends
Thank you son much for your comments. We really appreciate your days were very nice in our small hotel.
We hope to see you again.
A big hug from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardolino, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

it was a beautiful vacation ... we were there only 20 days but wished we could stay longer .... the takiwara fantastic hotel clean and staff always helpful and friendly .... we were the last hotel of the beach and we had a creek all to ourselves. We relaxed a lot and we discovered a new world of simplicity. We recommend it to everyone. Ale and Patty

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank patriziazucchelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear friends.
Simplicity as a way of life helps us to focus our efforts on what is essential in life and that is one of the priceless gifts of this island.
Thank you very much for your long holiday with us and living each day with the emotions of the first one.
A big hug from Casa Takywara´s friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just wrapping up a week in paradise and everything was so fantastic that I had to write this before we depart and get sucked away be reality back home. Casa Takywara couldn't have been a better experience. From the outstanding service and support remotely as I fumbled through planning for the trip to the first moments of our arrival and then continued excellence throughout out time here. We first stayed in the bungalow and were just awe struck...Walked most of the beach and didn't see anything like it. Just a magical little place that is perfectly appointed with nothing between you and that magical blue/green ocean. We then moved to one of the first floor suites for a few days and that was also excellent. Though also well done it provided for a much different feel being down in the garden area. And then we spent out last night in the penthouse. We found heaven! The views, the privacy, the constant breeze and larger bed made this room our favorite. Though excellent facilities, Casa Takywara's real magic is the kind, supportive staff. From the cleaning team to the hard working and kind man whom keep the ground looking so great everyday to the managers Bertha and Marcella. They all were amazing. Bertha in particular energized us every time we saw her. She had an amazing genuine interest in our total satisfaction and enjoyment. Casa Takywara is our new home away from home and we will back many more times.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter what room you get since with such amazing beauty just outside your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear friends.
Its so nice your review. Thanks a lot.
This is your home at the Mexican Caribbean. The penthouse will always be waiting you, just remember to reserve with enough time (around 3 months before).
An big hug from Casa Takywara´s friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Casa Takywara has got it all right! 5 quaint comfy rooms, built and operated in respect of nature.
The hotel can arrange your transfers from Cancun airport. It is a two hour road trip in the boonies, followed by a 30 min boat ride to the island. 75 $ ride pp, one way. If ever you get to Chiquita port after 9h20 pm, you will jump onto a small wood boat to get to Holbox, even better !

Holbox is a no car, non paved road, and fairly no night club island North-west of Cancun. We went there to relax, and to enjoy the sun & ocean. We got WAY much more out of our vacation! We felt that we were part of the real Mexican life, seeing school kids walking back home on the beach, fisherman getting back to the village mid morning, community lifestyle at the public place in the village centre, etc.
If you've heard about violence in Mexico, this place is not a concern. The community aspect of Holbox will just make you feel good again with the human kind.

The staff at Casa Takywara is nothing but amazing. Always helpful and smiling, i can't say enough about this great group of genuine people. If they read this post, thanks again for everything!
You will get a bag of fresh fruit, bread, jam and butter every morning at your door, coffee's in the room, and just enjoy it while looking at the turquoise sea.

For lunch, ask the hotel to order you fresh ceviche, with a side of guacamole and chips. The restaurant chef will deliver the food to you on the beach, by is golf cart. If you like hot sauce you will be delighted as he makes his very own! For dinner, a 10 minute walk on the beach, under the stars will bring you to the heart of the village. Foodies, this is your place ! We especially recommend El Chipuli, the "no menu" place. The chef will come to your table, explain the menu of the day, and take your order. Simply amazing.
Also Los Peleones on the second floor, will not win a price for the decoration (as El Chipuli) but who cares when the food is amazing ! Take the seafood tagliatelle, out of this world!

There's a rule on the island that washed up seagrass left on the beach needs to stay there. It is the best barrier against flooding and excessive beach erosion, it's natural, doesn't cost anything, and is very helpful for the wildlife. Don't worry, there's plenty of sand as well!

If you have the chance to get the penthouse or the one beach bungalow, you won't regret it!

Question of clothing, less is best ! Sandals is the word, high heels, yikes... the roads are made out of sand!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear friends.
We appreciate your compliments and informative commentary about the island and its attractions.
How wonderful that you have felt how is the life in this quiet fishing island.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back.
A big hug from all Casa Takywara´s friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just returned from a perfect week at Casa Takywara. The hotel staff -- including Marcella and Bertha--couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful to the guests. They were always available but never intrusive. We had two rooms -- the penthouse and a first floor suite (Arie). Both were nicely decorated and very comfortable. The penthouse views were spectacular -- the sunsets were amazing to behold.

The hotel is located on the western part of the island which is quieter and much less crowded than the "hotel zone" on the other side of town. It is only a 10 minute walk into town for dinner (no need to leave the beach for lunch -- many places deliver and the staff will make all the arrangements for you!).

If you are looking for quiet, rest and relaxation Casa Takywara is just the place. This was our first trip to Holbox but not our last!

Room Tip: The penthouse has amazing views and is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear friends
Thanks, thanks & thanks.
Casa Takywara thanks to you for your choice, your comments, and would like to share with you the song of the wind one more time.
A big hug from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have never felt this welcomed in a hotel! The staff is happy to help you with everything you desire. The location is simply amazing! It takes you 30 seconds to reach the beautiful beaches of Holbox. The "city centre" is also only a few minutes away.
When you stroll down the long beaches of Holbox you will notice that Casa Takywara has the most beautiful beach! It gets cleaned every day, although some algae cannot be removed due to environmental reasons. You will find a little surprise in your room after the cleaning lady is ready. Look forward to an unforgettable stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear friends.
You will always be very welcome in this space designed to take a full rest.
It is a pleasure to care of you and meet your needs.
With love expect to receive you in another opportunity.
A big huge from Casa Takywara´s friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.7 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Takywara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Takywara

Property: Casa Takywara
Address: Paseo Carey sin numero | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Takywara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa Takywara you will be able to enjoy the nature surrounded by mangroves and native vegetation, in the comfort of an ample and calm space with terraces, hammocks and an incomparable view in front of the sea. Full unforgettable moments of encounter with dolphins, pelicans, flamenco and other species. Our small island belongs to a Protected Natural Area call Yum Balam. We participate in communitarian activities for the environmental education and protection of flora and fauna.Casa Takywara is in a calm beach, near the town, without traffic nor tourist agitation and of great privacy.Starred skies, unique sunsets, encounter of colors between the sky and the sea, to walk barefoot, to breathe pure air, all are rewarding experiences that we invite to you to share in our House.We have created a refuge of rescue, rehabilitation and liberation of fauna located within the town and you can visit it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Takywara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing