We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of Rain in Holbox! and occasional scammer in the restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beware of Rain in Holbox! and occasional scammer in the restaurants”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked 4 nites at this hotel through groupon. We ended up being a group of 11 as we had friends and family who decided last minute to come with us.
When we arrived, the hotel rate offered to our friends was cheaper than our groupon. That was somewhat disappointing. However, the manager was very nice, very gracious and did his best to accomodate us. However, the unit we stayed in had a kitchenette,(reasonably well stocked with dishes, pots etc) The kitchen was immaculate as well as the bathroom and the room.
The downside is we had no view other than out a side window. There was a nice sitting area on the second floor where we could all gather and have a few snacks and drinks in the early evening. The grounds were well maintained and clean.
The manager was gracious and as accomodating as possible. Our groupon included a breakfast.
The breakfast(that was included) was adequate. It included bread, dry toast with butter, coffee, (no fruit, yogurt or eggs). you could order additionally for a moderate cost.
the beach was very nice ...until the rain started.

The rain did not stop. With the additional rain, the town's sewage system appeared to spill over into the ocean. The smell 24 hours a day was pretty bad to say the least. The ocean in front was dark due to run off. Not swimmable in our opinion.
Due to the smell, we decided to leave after only two nites. we requested a taxi to take us from the hotel to the dock( about 1/2 mile) . We had a young child (3 yrs old) and an older person who had a knee problem.
The taxis would not come to pick any of the guests up as it was raining. So the manager kindly gave us garbage bags to wear as rainwear and we walked through knee deep water along the road to the dock.
There are lots of reasonably priced restaurants in Holbox.
We enjoyed several restaurants in our short time there. One was a pizza place which was great. Food was tasty and we had a great waiter.
On our first nite we had supper in a rest. on the ocean. Service was very slow but food decent.
For our last supper we decided to go to Viva Zapata as we had read some good reviews.
F ood was decent but the waiters got greedy and did some double billing. We paid our bill, left a sustantial tip and most of our party returned to our hotel. Two of our group stayed for one more drink. The waiter then approached them and said we owed an additional large amount of money. although the drinks were "half price" according to the bartender and our original bill, the waiter requested and took cash from our two members of the group to pay 8.00 additional USD on every drink that our group had.

Because of this incident, I strongly recommend you go to one of the many other restaurants on the ocean, in the town that are prepared to give you good food, good service and not scam you.
Holbox is a beautiful town, and there were many very nice people we interacted with in our short stay.
Beware of the scammers in the restaurant Viva Zapata and you will likely have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a kitchenette and a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larrnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    145
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
106
427
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our entire experience at La Palapa could not have been better. Our room (#16) boasted a small balcony overlooking the sea and treetop views via two entire sides of windows -- palm trees swaying in the island breezes. Staff was helpful, friendly, and attentive. The food being magnificent (and overseen by chef/owner Beppe) was most definitely an unexpected bonus. The location on the edge of the charming, authentic village was also perfection itself. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barb1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

For the first time ever, we come back to a place and hotel - simply because our last stay was perfect.

My boyfriend and I stayed seven nights at Hotel La Palapa at Holbox February 2013.
We had a fantastic stay there.

The hotel has a cozy, romantic and very homely atmosphere.
The room was very good - the best part is the large balcony with hammock and seaview.

We had dinner three times at hotel restaurant Casa Nostra, and we can highly recommend it. The chef, the waiter and the food is fantastic, and you are overlooking the sea. The breakfast was okay.

The location of the hotel is also perfect - just right on a super gorgeous beach and just a few minutes walk from the most charming small town with brightly colored houses abnd several delicious restaurants.

The service from the staff was also very welcoming and friendly. We had great help with booking tours and transfer.

The only desire of the hotel is that the rooms had a fridge and safety box in the room and fresh fruit for breakfast.

We would highly recommend a stay at Hotel La Palapa and we look very much forward to our next stay. It is one of the cheaper hotels on the island, but in our opinion the best!
A stay at Hotel La Palapa is certainly value for money.

Niels & Trine from Denmark

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in room 11 which is on the top floor. The room was plenty big but it doesn,t have a balcony. All the top floors do not have balconies. However if they did have a balcony you couldn,t see the water anyway because the palm trees obstruct your view. Our friends stayed in room 10 which is on the 2nd floor and there room was much better. A balcony with a view.

The entire staff were very pleasant. Would I stay here again, yes for sure,but I would not stay on the 3rd floor.

We paid 106us a night, tax included

Room Tip: Do not stay in room number 11 or higher if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our holiday was wonderful and in good part to the fabulous staff at La Palapa. I cannot say enough about Israel especially. What an asset he is to this great hotel. His english is amazing and he genuinely cares about the customers of this hotel.
The island is charming and quiet and if you are looking for a holiday off the beaten track with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere where you are not bugged all the time to buy stuff, go here!! We loved it. The selection of restaurants is endless and although the cost varies we found them all to be wonderful from the little local mexican establishments to the larger fancier places with more international menus. Our 2 young children (1 and 3) had a great time on the beach and wandering around town with us. We rented a golf cart one day through the hotel and toured around the island which was fun. I would not recommend the boat tour through the hotel, it was not worth the money as we did not go out for as long or to the locations that was promised when we arranged to go, and the snorkeling was no good. I would say we were pleasantly surprised by how easy it was because everyone spoke some english, some were almost fluent. Also the mosquitos were not as bad as we expected. There are lots of well loved dogs on the island and my 3rd old got a minor dog bite when he petted a little dog he had seen prior. The local ladies who saw it happen were so concerned and the dog owner was very sorry. His hand healed up no problem, but he did bring home a hook worm (cutaneous larva migrans) in the top of his foot that I think we are still battling to get rid of. More of a Health Canada issue getting the medication we need than that the worm is hard to get rid of. Overall great island and great hotel, would stay here again for sure. Awesome value

Room Tip: room with kitchenette was great for kids, our room was super clean and well maintained they were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastBeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

La Palapa Hotel is located not too far from the town plaza and boasts a great view of the ocean partially obstructed by palm trees. Unfortunately, the weather was windy, clouded and raining. Apparently during winter massive amounts of algae cover the beach front and the local government forbids hotels from removing it. That was what the front desk staff said. It was so bad, we did not set foot in the water. Just sat on the wooden chairs or at the restaurant. This is not La Palapa's fault. All the beach is covered in algae this time of year. The hotel was nice and comfortable. It's a great place to stay. Comfortable bed, air conditioning and somewhat stable Wi-Fi. Room 16 on the 1st building top floor is a corner room with a great balcony that overlooks the ocean and a few palm trees. Recommend this room if available.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skyrat1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had a great experience because the service is amazing. Gerardo was our host and he as the rest of the crew, were friendly and make everything to make a great experience.

The rooms are lovely, clean and at a very good price.

Room Tip: Ask for the VIP rooms, they have a great view for a couple dollars more. But either the regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Property: Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing