We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent 2 days at La Palapa. It is truly a small paradise. When we arrived it was raining, but even then we saw how beautiful the hotel was. When we got out of the buggy the staff came out right away to help us with our bags. The staff (Israel) was very friendly. We slept in room nr 8. A beautiful room with nice beds and a great airco. Didn't like the fans because yhey were making more noise than ususal.
The balcony with the hammock was something you can only dream of.

After looking at the beautiful sunset we had dinner in the restaurant. That was fine. We booked several trips through the reception and it was all taken great care of. But even if you just spend time on your balcony or on the beach you can't have a better time. Dreamlocation! We will definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    145
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
106
423
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

La Palapa - Holbox - Mexico
Duration of stay: 3 nights
Cost: €102,22 per night
Including: continental breakfast

OVERALL
Not bad, work to be done on hospitality and F&B. 6/10.

COMPLIMENTS:
- Cleanliness of facilities.
- General friendliness of reception staff.
- Availabity of beds and chairs on beach.
- Vicinity to beach and village centre.
- Size of room, view from room.
- A guest review form was offered upon checkout.

CRITICS:
- Hotel guests were not permitted to consume drinks purchased elsewhere on the hotel beach, guests were asked to move to another property of the same owner 60m further down the beach. This is just not hospitable, despite the slogan "limitless hospitality".
- Not once during 3 days did a waiter ask guests on the beach if they wanted something to drink, guests were supposed to walk to the bar where the staff waited for them.
- Quality of the breakfast: only coffee or tea, orange juice (no choice of juice), toast (low quality bread), a small cake, marmalade, honey and butter, no breakfast menu was offered for extra’s, no fresh fruit included.
- The menu for lunch and dinner was too focussed on Italian cuisine (Italian chef) and should have provided more regional dishes and fresh seafood, as the restaurant is located on the beach and fishermen bring their catch to shore right in front of the restaurant. Prices were too high, dishes lack sophistication and quality, although not distasteful, for the prices asked. 
- Upon arrival, the key to our room was missing, we ended up having to share the last remaining key with housekeeping staff during our stay. 
- Housekeeping cleaned well buy also folded clothes and actually rearranged our belongings in our room. Despite good intentions, this is too much.
- Upon arrival, the water did not work in our room, obviously the room was not properly checked before we arrived.
- The beds in the rooms were quite hard, not sufficiently comfortable.
- When renting a bycicle to see the island, there were no maps of the island available.

ADVICE: 
- During our stay, some of the palm trees had to be trimmed, so to speak, as to prevent dangerous situations from occurring where a coconut could fall on someones head. Good to see safety is seen as important. However, once the coconuts started falling, the workers were given straws so they could drink the coconut juice. Perhaps next time, provide some interaction and service to the guests watching, give them a coconut to enjoy too. Experience is everything. 
- Reduce prices of the bar / restaurant and provide service on the beach, or allow guests to drink their own beverages on the beach. After having had 2 lunches the days before and having purchased several refreshments, from the bar, we were surprised to be told we were not allowed to have two beverages which we had bought at the local supermarket on the third day. We decided to have lunch elsewhere as a consequence and banned use of the bar and restaurant for the remainder of our stay. This policy costs more than it generates. 
- Provide a keychain to the room key, a key without one will easily get lost. 
- In this climate, a luxury hotel should provide a refridgerator in the room. 
- Provide better quality mattrasses, after lying on relatively hard sunbeds all day, one needs a comfortable bed, which should be provided for in a luxury hotel. 
- For breakfast, take the effort to vary juices (or offer a choice), improve the quality of bread, pro-actively offer egg dishes or present a small menu on each table (with a selection of coffees), offer a small amount of fresh fruit with each breakfast: it grows abundantly in this country and therefore costs you very little but adds to the breakkfast experience.
- Management: show yourself! Please respond to the guest review form we filled out and this review. 
- In general, work on creating an experience that sets you apart from the rest, it is rather too mediocre now for the hospitality La Palapa suggests they offer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fixmyservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend were looking for a cute, little island outside the tourist crowded places of Riviera Maya and during our staying at the hotel Hacienda Paradise in Playa del Carmen, we've been informed on the reception of possibility to enjoy part of our city holidays on this beautiful island so far from all the traffic and rush.As they have something like a small chain of hotels and the rates were the same, they didn't even charged us more for the move. And it was a great offer as thanks to that, we could enjoy the best of both words" - city (Playa del Carmen) and Holbox Island with its breathtaking sunsets.

La Palapa is a cute hotel with just a few rooms located right on the beach. There's no swimming pool, but as the water at the sea is warm even in the evenings, we didn't even miss it. The rooms are very simple, decorated with natural materials only. Staff ...uff, they were all super friendly and very welcoming, ready to answer those thousands questions about the things to see and do on Holbox, always ready to help.

Palapa also has an Italian restaurant in it's property and the chef is real Sicilian, so we enjoyed the Italian cousine every night. Simply delicious.

I would recommend this place for those who want's to find peace of mind and really really take rest.

Room Tip: We had a room number 10, which is located on the second floor of the main building and it was was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertS_140281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My friend and I took a short holiday a couple of weeks ago and it was a Fantastic experience. We will definitely go back and stay in the same place. We appreciated a lot the service given by all the owners and the staff. I also wanted to add that I forgot my wallet somewhere in the beach one night and they found it and kept it for me, nothing was missing. The best part was that I could take my dog with me. This is a paradise also for your pets!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite, next to the beach. For eating the main square is just 2 streets away.
We relaxed a lot there, only in the back there was a restaurant with loud music but we didn't hear it from the beach or the room.
The breakfast was very poor, only 2 toasts and a muffin...
We had dinner there once and it was very tasty, though a bit expensive.
They have an ATM in the entrance, only that none in the island had cash during our stay...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angels V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

me and my boyfriend just retourned from a Fantastic holiday in the enchanted island of Holbox.
The island is so beautiful unspoilt and colourful that is hard to stay indoor but our choice of accomodation was so perfect that we really enjoyed our time in as well.
We stayed at La Palapa Ethno Boutique and we only have positive feedback.
From the fabulous location right in front of the ocean to our lovely and cosy room to the charming staff especially Salvador we couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: we stayed in room number 10 on the second floor we had a great view of the beach/sea/coconut trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mici77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at la palapa for a month. So we really got to know the place, the staff and the island. In one word " amazing". We travelled with two kids under 7, and the staff made everything easy. Our room was on the beach so we could watch the kids make sandcastles while we swung on the hammocks. Our daughter turned three on the island and the staff made up the room, and made a cake. It was simply the perfect family holiday.The staff at xperiencehotelsresorts really made the difference. We miss them and the amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Property: Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing