We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Shark Tour”

Holbox Whale Shark Tours
Ranked #4 of 23 Tours in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holbox Whale Shark Tours offers Both Public & Private VIP Tours to swim with Whale Sharks from both our Original Departure Point "Isla Holbox", as well as our latest departure point "Cancun". We've got a solid 9 year "Safety" record having satisfied 1000's of nature lovers enjoy this experience. Safe for the entire Family! We've got the Best, most comfortable boats & highly experienced Captains & In Water Guides. We are the Tour "Operator" not just a "Ticket Seller". Dont trust just anybody selling tickets to a tour, Go with the Best to satisfy your Whale Shark Dream & to check this off your "Bucket List"!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our trip to see the whale sharks in Holbox. The Whale Shark Daddy tour group was top notch. Alex was an excellent dive lead. And we were always in competent hands with our captain. Everything was first class with this tour group. They picked us up as scheduled outside of the Grand Mayan hotel near Playa del Carmen and transported us to the marina in Cancun. At that point, we had a dive briefing and light breakfast. Then they assisted us with loading our gear on the boat. It took about and hour and a half to reach our dive location. It was easy to spot in the distance because there were at least 50 boats concentrated in a small area with about 100 whale sharks swimming around. After three free dives, we loaded everyone back on the boat and headed to Isla Mujeres for lunch and a swim. Then the captain took us back to the marina in Cancun. The shuttle back to the hotel was quiet because everyone was napping. This excursion was so wonderful that we hope to do it again sometime.

1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Another HAPPY Client who appreciated our 5 Star services. We appreciate the fine comments & comments are personally shared with all crew. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 13 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 13 reviews
"whale shark tour"
in 29 reviews
"ceviche"
in 36 reviews
"these magnificent creatures"
in 5 reviews
"boat ride"
in 8 reviews
"small village"
in 2 reviews
"tour companies"
in 4 reviews
"caribbean sea"
in 2 reviews
"open sea"
in 2 reviews
"cancun airport"
in 6 reviews
"golf cart"
in 2 reviews
"crew"
in 16 reviews
"boats"
in 37 reviews
"hotel"
in 32 reviews
"holbox"
in 51 reviews
"fishing"
in 14 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

I don't even have words to describe how amazing it is to be swimming alongside such graceful, massive, beautiful creatures. It is breathtaking in every way imaginable. To be swimming with a manta ray on one side of you and multiple whale sharks on the other is just one of the most incredible things you could ever experience. The entire day was just awesome, from start to finish! The crew on our boat was exceptional and did everything they could to ensure we got the most out of our experience. Raul, our guide, was so so amazing. While most people were exhausted after 5 minutes of trying to keep up with the sharks, Raul did not get out of the water once- and we were out there for 3 hours! You could tell he cared about the whale sharks and had a lot of interesting information about them. Our Captain Elmer was wonderful at spotting the sharks and letting Raul know where to find the next one. Holbox Whale Shark Tours really takes the protection and conservation of these animals seriously- which is so important.
This is honestly one of my favorite things I have ever done in my life!

2  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

STRONG WORDS.....but obviously real. We welcome the opportunity EACH & EVERY day to provide the High level of Customer service to all of our participants. Our crews & staff work 7 days @ week during the 4 month Summer Whale Shark season. Its VERY HARD work but WE LOVE WHAT WE DO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was an experience of a lifetime. Our captain was very skilled; our guide was brilliant. I am in my mid-sixties and like adventures. My partner has dreamed of swimming with whale sharks for over a decade. She and I were thrilled beyond words. I got the bonus of swimming with a manta ray! Some people may say that the price is expensive. But, for what one gets, it was very, very reasonable. We swam with the whale sharks, snorkelled closer to shore, saw dolphins, purchased lobster at sea from some fishermen, saw pink flamingos, white heron and other birds. All 10 people in our boat were absolutely blown away by the experience. Included: a lit snack at the start (one doesn't want too much food going out to sea); lunch (if you want chicken instead of ham in your sandwich, order in advance); cerviche; snorkelling; lovely bird watching and photo opportunities.

3  Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

THANKS! for this vote of Confidence. We Appreciate the kind comments & I will be sure to SHARE this with our Crews & Ground staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is something we always wanted to do. And we are so glad we did! Holbox Whale Shark Tours provided an amazing experience that will never be forgotten. It was a long boat ride from Isla Holbox out to the deep water where the Whale Sharks can be found. And there were a lot of other boats there when we arrived. It was incredible how many whale sharks we saw - more than I expected.

Each time we got into the water with the whale sharks it was so exciting. These amazing animals mostly ignored all the snorkellers around them as they slowly circled for their food. They swam by so close to me I could have touched them (but did not, since that could be harmful to them). We also saw several very large manta rays in the area. Some of the rays came up out of the water and splashed down hard (possibly to get ride of parasites?). Amazing.

On the way back to Isla Holbox, we stopped twice. Once to snorkel in a shallow area and have a nice light lunch of ceviche and fruit. And once more in a shallow protected inlet where we could get out and stretch our legs. The guides also pointed out the locations where turtles have been laying eggs. You could see the tracks up the sandy shoreline. Mid August is when the turtle eggs will be hatching - I am sorry we will miss seeing that.

This trip was absolutely worth it. If you are going to be in the Cancun area, consider this experience. You will not regret it!

2  Thank HazelHamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

YES The BUCKET LIST! Over the years we've helped numerous Divers & Swimmers from around the World indeed CHECK THIS off their personal BUCKET LISTS. We look forward to doing the same for those willing to allow us to do just that! COME ON DOWN!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a great time with Shark Daddy - excellent crew and a lot of fun to talk to. We saw what must have been hundreds of sharks on a beautiful day. Got in the water 4 times with them with a guide (Alex) who was excellent. Amazing to be surrounded by 3, 4, or 5 sharks at a time, swim deep under them, and see them from the front and back. Food and drink was great with a nice stop at a island for ceviche and music on the way home. Couldn't have been better. Plus the opportunity to get a professionally produced video for us as well. WOULD ABSOLUTELY GO BACK AGAIN.

1  Thank 118timm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Amazing Results from the Top Rated Trip Advisor Tour Provider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holbox Whale Shark Tours also viewed

 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Holbox Whale Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing