We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“did not get any sleep because of all night roof top party”
Review of Baktun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baktun Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
chicago,il
2 reviews
“did not get any sleep because of all night roof top party”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The rooms are on the second and third floors. There is a nice rooftop area with a view of the surrounding area and ocean. The problem is that the hotel allowed the use of the rooftop the entire evening for a party and hangout for people that were not even staying at the hotel. Loud music and all night sounds. Even when they turned down the music, we still could hear it and every sound made... walking, dragging furniture used as lounges and beds. Our room was directly below where most of the people were hanging out and every sound echoed in the room. At 4:00 am when some of the loudest revelers were driven home, there still remained a number of people talking and making noise. The hotel asked them to turn down the music, but it did not help. They should not have allowed an all night party to keep the hotel guests from getting any sleep. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone other than those who did not want to get any sleep. Poor management. I would love to hear from hotel elements. When we mentioned the problem as we left, we got a blank stare

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired2travel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

As a solo traveler, I thought Holbox would be an interesting locale to explore since I would be celebrating my 49th birthday on August 1st. The hotel is located one block from the beach and has an amazing view of the ocean from the roof deck. All was perfect until I ate at a small restaurant downtown and became violently ill. The staff and especially the manager Sandra, took such good care of me, checking in with me often to make sure I was OK, and to bring ice, juice and comfort. They were instrumental in helping me to leave the island a day early - no easy task since it's a taxi, ferry and 3 hour drive to the Cancun airport. Thank you Elements Hotel! I would recommend you to everyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I worried with high season rates, but got a good rate relative to other places. A touch out of town, but close and also close to beach (a block, but check out the rooftop lounge for a great view daytime, nighttime, sunset. I was worried about a catch, or poor service due to one review. Instead every employee I have met (5 now) is helpful and great. Booked excursions for me. Nice rooms, good feel to them, clean with wonderful bathroom. Cool air conditioning on the hot days. Wifi a wonder for me, allowing me to stay an extra day. I am impressed and happy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I booked this hotel because of its location, close to beach and zocola. I found the hotel manager(owner) not very useful at all since we asked some questions about the island and he was no help. The room was very nice but we had no wifi signal in our room and we did not even know about the lounge of the roof deck until after we left. IWhen I go back to Holbox I will go somewhere else

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersNY75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2009

First of all, in the midst of the global mass panic concerning Influenza A H1N1 (formerly known as swine and mexican flu respectively), there's definitely no worry about the illness in the whole Yucatan area, so don't be hesitating to come to the peninsula and Isla Hol-Box in particular!

We had a terrific stay at the Elements hotel and although the island as well as the rest of the peninsula is suffering from the backdropped tourism, Maurizio, 'Mau', welcomed us with a well-meant smile. The rooms are very contemporary with a nice hacienda twist and provided us with the best nights of rest since our travel began 2 months ago. The very hospitable staff really thinks along in exploring the island; an excursion to swim with gigantic whale sharks as the ultimate experience! The beach is within reach of a 3-minute walk.

Summarizing the following words apply to the Elements hotel:
* Very friendly, hospitable staff;
* Nice, clean rooms;
* Great service;
* Really good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We showed up at the hotel with an extra person, and the staff had no problem upgrading us to a double room for 200 pesos (about 16.50 USD) the place is very clean and has the best view on the island. the staff was great, and very helpful. we will stay here the next for sure

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tparment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Puebla
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

well, my girlfriend and me remain two day and one night and we spend it very well, very calm, the staff was very attentive and obliging, the rooms are excellent, In conclusion I recommend this hotel to 100% , there was no misadventure.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafa_Castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zomay Hotel Holbox
Zomay Hotel Holbox
#13 of 34 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baktun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baktun Hotel

Property: Baktun Hotel
Address: Paseo Kuka, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Elements Holbox)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baktun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at just 300 feet from one of the most beautiful beaches of the island and 15 minutes walking distance from downtown, Elements Holbox offers 16 comfortable rooms. Just a few steps from a beautiful beach and 15 minutes walking distance from downtown, Elements Holbox offers 16 comfortable rooms equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fan and private bathroom (shower) with hot water; it also offers wireless Internet (in Lobby and restaurant). With its Basic Contemporary concept and Mexican Rustic Style, is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature and a personalized service that makes Elements Holbox a true vacation experience and a best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baktun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing