We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food, Felix is a great chef”
Review of Restaurante Bar Zarabanda - CLOSED

Restaurante Bar Zarabanda
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurante Zarabanda se encuentra ubicado en la paradisiaca Isla de Holbox Quintana Roo, nos especializamos en pescados y mariscos. Atencion personalizada del Chef Felix Diaz.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific food, Felix is a great chef”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have had meals prepared by Felix in various restaurants in Isla Holbox over a number of years, always outstanding. We were very happy to find that he now has his own restaurant. (Former owner Leo,now has another restaurant, also very good) We ate at Zarabanda several times during our recent trip and were always really happy with our meal. I always order fish on Holbox, because it is always fresh and Felix has so many fine preparations, a number of them with a Cuban flavor as he is a native of Cuba. You can't go wrong here, especially if you ask Felix what he recommends. Recommended very highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciledb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    24
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely the best meal we had on the island”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

delicious arroz con mariscos. fabulous grouper filet. they were really busy when we went in and the owner(?) was super friendly and apologetic and ended up comping us a round of margaritas (which were also excellent). Search this place out. Far better than the higher profile Rosa Mexicana and the restaurants on the square. highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettenberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great place, great food, great cocktails, great atmosphere! Everybody there is doing his job with passion and love. What else to say?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great chef, repeat visits.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was another of our favorites on Holbox. Great menu, great chef. We had a couple of dinners here & they were all great. Delicious ceviche, great grilled fish, great fish curry. Everything terrifically fresh. Server -- sorry can't remember his name but it was Mayan for frigate bird -- was wonderfully fun. Great tequila selection. Nice little bar open to the street. Friendly town kitty who will take those last little fish bits off your hands. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paamelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had dinner here and were truly impressed. Both starters and main courses were delicious. Fish was fresh and tasty. Totally recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipadeCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Bar Zarabanda also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing