We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Holbox !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Nubes De Holbox
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Holbox !”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had a great stay at Las Nubes, everything was perferct for our honeymoon, very quite, nice rooms, terrasse on the sea, food awesome ! The beach is really clean, with towels everywhere...
Not in the hotel area, THE place to relax in Holbox !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    52
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
76
149
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The island is beautiful, no doubt about that, and the place+amenities in "las nubes de holbox" are perfect but the service wasn't good at all...

When we arrived we had to carry our bags into the lobby ourselves, no one said "hi" and apparently everybody was too busy doing nothing... When finally got paid attention to, lobby people were cold and mecanic, after we did the chek-in we were told that one of our rooms wasn't ready yet, not a big deal so we decided to leave out stuff in the room that was ready and have supper meanwhile, on the way to the room the guy from the lobby said that both rooms had kingsize beds (we booked thru expedia and made sure that one room was 2 doublebeds and the other 1 king size) the worst part was that he didn't even try to solve it or offered other option...

Rooms are a bit dark day&night, water pressure when using the shower is great, bed is comfty and having a hamaca inside the room is a great touch.

Food at the restaurant was good, presentation and flavor was excellent, service in the restaurant was perfect and surprisinly fast, the views from the restaurant are great.

If you may need internet during your stay, dont count on it, wi-fi didn't work for over an hour...

At the next day we used the hotel bikes (again no one was at lobby and we had to go en grab'em ourselves), good thing that we have been in the island before and knew where to go... Bikes are old and in very bad shape, but was fun though.

After a ride thru the little town came back to the hotel and decided to use the kayaks, once again nobody showed any interest on helping so we took them ourselves, we were there to have fun so we tried not to paid extra attention to the lousy service...

When came back, again had to do everything ourselves and out the kayaks back on their place.

Had breakfast, which was included and really good, got really and left. Again we had to carry luggage ourselves because the guy from the lobby found extremely hard to offer himself to help.

If you dont mind about service this is a great choice. If you do, go somewhere else (like casa sandra, those guys know their job)

Room Tip: Choose rooms 26 or 27, the best by far (ask first if they have finished the construction next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4dad3sparza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoli
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

No comparison for the location and the service. Restaurant ha an excellent food. Only breakfast is bit cheap. Go for the tiburon balena ....... And go to eat to la cueva del pirata for the best italian food

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vichi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Excellent service and warm reception by all staff members and employees.
The Hotel is beautiful, food is great, amenities and bike and canoeing service an added value.
Sight and delicious breeze at the bar is great.
I highly recommend Las Nubes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wow! I love Hotel Las Nubes. The hotel is the farthest from the town, next to jungle lagoon and goregous, shallow ocean. Raccoons and iguana rome the property. Hotel has bikes to barrow to ride into town on the dirt roads. Service, restaurant and room all fabulous!!! I fell in love with a tamerind margaritta that I could not get enough of. Bring bug spray with you to Holbox, and don't leave hotel without it. You will love Holbox if you love quiet, nature (turtles, whale sharks, flamingoes, iguana and lightning bugs in the jungle) If you are looking for a party, crowds and late nights this is not the place for you. Hotel Las Nubes is rustic luxury at it's best. We also stayed at Hotel Mawimbi, a great place, but if you afford it Las Nubes was by far my favorite. If it is really important to you to stay closer to town Hotel Las Tortugas was a nice place with more of a party atmosphere, I had a great massage there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJVLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Las Nubes de Holbox was an outstanding gem in the treasure of an island that is Holbox. As a teacher I am allowed summers to escape to other worlds outside of my own. A plan was made to take a journey to a mysterious island known as Holbox with my father as my traveling companion and two of his childhood friends. The experience that followed was one that will live in my memories forever. Arriving by ferry seems to be the standard way to the island and we rode two different services to the island and back, both clean with very friendly attendants. You can explore the island by golf cart or a taxi golf cart service is available. Upon our arrival there were many taxis available and the drivers were friendly and very helpful with luggage. We caught a ride from one of the drivers and headed on a tour through the downtown park area and then to the ten minute ride to Las Nubes de Holbox, which is the very last hotel at the end of the island. The road from the downtown to the hotel is almost completely beach front so you can often see sunsets while driving into town. Upon arrival at Las Nubes we were greeted at the door by a very friendly and beautiful staff. Our bags were brought inside and we were given ice cold mango deliciousness to drink. We were a little early and the rooms were not ready yet. We were all a bit hungry from our trip there so we decided to have lunch in the restaurant sit out on the deck, eat amazing, fresh seafood and enjoy the ocean. It was incredible! The greenish, crystal blue waters of the Yucatan with a clean sandy beach and scattering of hundreds of beautiful sea shells. The restaurant's food was amazing ( fresh bread, salads, seafood, steaks, pastas, sandwiches, and soups) and the wait staff were perfectly attentive and friendly in every way. After lunch when our rooms were ready, we walked right by the nearest pool, surrounded by lush tropical plants to numbers 18 & 19. The rooms were spacious, clean and cozy. Perfect for the beach environment, with beautiful tiled floors and very important! Air-conditioning! It can get a little humid/hot in the Yucatan. The bathrooms were fully stocked and carried wonderful organic bath products which my father and I both used throughout our stay. The first evening we were there the hotel provided a wonderful live band for the guests. They performed on the rooftop at a special bar the hotel had set up! What an amazing evening of great music, laughter and stories! We stayed at Las Nubes de Holbox five nights in all and every minute spent there was a once-in-a-lifetime incredible experience. From the silly cocos locos in the bar and watching the Olympics with the very entertaining and fun bar staff, to the excursion of swimming with the whale sharks, shopping in the market square with many different and unique artisan shops, or the endless picture taking opportunities of sunsets, birds, and wildlife that live and make their homes on that beautiful island. I can't believe as I write this that the adventure is over. I wish I could relive those days again and again. Very wholeheartedly I would recommend for anyone to stay with Las Nubes. You will be treated as an honored guest and made to feel very welcome in a place where you should feel extremely lucky every moment to be.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Susannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasNubesHolbox, Director de Recepción at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Susannah,

Thank you very much for your comment. It makes us really happy that you enjoyed your vacation at holbox and at las nubes.

We hope we have the opportunity of having you back in the hotel with your happiness and your smile.

Best regards,

Las Nubes de Holbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I spent a magical week at Las Nubes and cannot wait to go back. We heard about Holbox from a friend who had recently been there and knew that it would be the type of place that we would probably love after we had checked it out on line. Our friend also told us that the most spectacular hotel on the island was Las Nubes and we have to say that she was right (OK this was our first time in Holbox so we haven't stayed at any of the other hotels but we loved Las Nubes so much that we never will stay at another hotel in Holbox.)

Our experience with Las Nubes was perfect from the start - unfortunately our flight got in too late for us to make it to Holbox that night so we had to spend a night in Cancun (as awful as Holbox is wonderful). We arranged with Las Nubes for a transfer the next morning and it was there exactly on time. We got to Chiquila right before a ferry was about to leave and there was a golfcart taxi waiting for us once we arrived in Holbox. 10 minutes later we were in the reception area of Las Nubes checking in and with moments of us being there we were presented with welcome tamarind margaritas (a very nice touch) and then were shown to our very nice room which was in the middle of the spectacular grounds of Las Nubes.

Once we had settled into the room and went outside to get oriented to our new surroundings we were astounded by the beauty of the island and Las Nubes. The grounds of the hotel are really amazing, several small swimming pools (3) and a lovely terrace with stairs right into the water. The water was one of the many truly amazing things we encountered in Holbox. It came in several beautiful shades of Gulf green. It was completely (great for kids) and very warm and the sand bar that is about 75-100 off the beach was amazing - once you get through the waist deep water in the channel you find yourself on a sandbar where the water is only ankle or knee deep depending on the tide.

Back to the hotel - the island is so beautiful and amazing that a hotel probably does not have to do too much and people will still come back but this is not the way things are at Las Nubes. The room was very clean and comfortable, the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a hammock in the room. The staff was from the first person to the last we met outstanding. They were extremely attentive but not obtrusive. Even when my wife and I were the only people at the restaurant there were still three waiters attending to our needs but leaving us alone as we ate. We were really impressed by all of the staff but I feel the need to particularly mention Jose the bar tender - on our first night there we went up to the second floor (1st floor if you're not American) bar (which has an unreal view of the spectacular sunsets there) and all the seats/tables at the rail were taken. I went to the bar and got two margaritas and brought them to my wife and we sat down on a bed in the outside area of the bar and before I knew it Jose was out there with a new table and chairs (and cushions to boot) for us right at the rail in position to get the best view of the coming sunset. It was just a hint of the kind of service we were going to experience for the rest of the week from the entire staff.

From walking up and down the beach in Holbox I would say that Las Nubes definitely has the nicest stretch of beach (for example you don't have to cross the "road" to get to it) and there are beds and enough chaise longues for all who would want them. There are baskets of towels for the guests scattered throughout the grounds and bicycles and kayaks there for guest use. When the bikes were shown to us on our initial tour in the way to our room we were informed that there was no need to lock the bikes anywhere on the island - they would not be stolen - it really is that kind of island.

The restaurant was very good (although more expensive than places in town - but with the hotel surroundings who can complain about that and the offerings were decidedly more upscale than what you'll find in town.) And if you'd rather go into town for dinner they can get you a cab in about 20 minutes which will take you into town for the princely sum of 50 pesos.

All in all this was a truly amazing experience for us. We have been to Mexico a number of times and had liked Zihuatanejo and Playa del Carmen a lot but from now on if we want a beach vacation in Mexico we will go to Holbox and stay at Las Nubes. The other options pale in comparison.

This was a truly magical place and we can't thank everyone at Las Nubes enough for a great stay and we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasNubesHolbox, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Ashley,

It is an honor to read your comments.

I hope we can have you back in holbox and you can enjoy as many sunsets at the bar with Jose as possible.

Best regards,

Las Nubes de Holbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.1 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Nubes De Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes De Holbox

Property: Las Nubes De Holbox
Address: Paseo Kuka s/n | esquina Calle Camaron, Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Nubes De Holbox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Nubes De Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes De Holbox Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing