We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in any sense”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in any sense”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

One of the best I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed in dozens of hostels).
The staff is really friendly and helpful.
Tidy rooms with nice interior&surroundings.
I stayed at a private room and it was the best deal in the island.
The kitchen is well equipped so you can cook your own meals easily.
The beach is close and roof terraces are awesome. I wish I could have stayed longer.
Don't look any further, you'll love it here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiju_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    81
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
87
121
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karmiel, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

First of all, the place looks amazing! You feel like a little kid in a very designed playground... The staff is friendly, the rooms have space, great shower and the beds are very comfy. No breakfast, but a great kitchen. When I stayed we had a quiz game in the evening which was a lot of fun. Great hostel!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharon1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights and fell in love with the hostel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hammock chairs are really comfy, the kitchen is huge and the dorm beds are comfortable. There's a bar connected to the hostel, but I wouldn't really classify it as a party hostel - you can just relax if you want to.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleve, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My cousin found this hostel. And it is relax and it has a bar with every evening a different activity: Barquiz, Giant Jenga, Body painting, live music, salsa classes, jam night and more. The staff members are friendly, helpfull and give a lot of tips. There Island map is orginal and full with their tips and information. It is worth to go there and enjoy youre time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margarita1198458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

One week awesome stay! Very relaxing environment. Lovely staff, in reception, bar, courses and entertainment. Every night something fun on the program.
The buildings are in different colours and decorated with a lot of nice paintings. Not overkill, you dont feel like walking into a messy hippie village. A lot of hammocks, downstairs and on the roof. Its lovely to lie in the ones on the roof and watch the stars.
The cleaning is good, but its a always sand everywhere. And there is nothing you can do about that, its an island :) Not so much that you feel its in your bed!
If you want to party, thats not a problem. And if you want to go to bed, thats not a problem. The sound is around the bar, not around the rooms.
Only thing that was a "problem" for me, was that they closed the kitchen at 23.00 and did not open before 07.00. I know this is not a commond problem, but Im a earlybird. So when I was standing on the roof 6.30 to see the sunrise I really missed a big, good cup of coffe. Tips, go to the lovely french bakeri that is just around the corner, and be there 2 min before opening. Or else there is a long line :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The owners and the staff really loves this place - and it shows! Loads of attention to details from practicalities, handcrafted signs, wall paintings to reception service.
If I came to Holbox again I would defenitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I endulged by added the extra cost of securing a double room all for myself. With private shower, mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Waldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hostel is friendly, fun, clean and organized. When I went it was not the best time for Holbox, there was seaweed on the beach and the power and water went out. However I still really enjoyed my trip to Holbox because of how great this hostel is!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMurray_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#13 of 19 in Holbox Island
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Property: Tribu Hostel
Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing