We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I loved this place! One the best hostels I have ever visited!! I had the most amazing time there! The hostel is close to the beach and the design of the building is very cool. The kitchen is amazing! There is a really nice vibe there and it attracts great people. I would highly recommend doing the quiz night and the other activities! There is a little cinema too if you just want to chill. Trust me you won't regret this stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Nice staff, beautyfull and creative surroundings. Very cheap prices with a lot included. We stayed there for one Night but would for sure go there again. Very close to the beach and a bit further to the center

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Loved tribu hostel so so much. Definitely the best hostel I stayed at in my 4.5 month travels around Mexico and Central America. Loved the atmosphere and the staff! I would stay again in a heart beat :D

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olibya93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for four nights in a dorm. All rooms are cosy and decorated with different colours on the walls. You definitely do not have the "hospital feeling" in this hostel as I've had at other hostels. Kitchen is well-equipped and super clean thanks to the volunteers. There's a roof top terrace with sea view where you can enjoy your own drinks. There's a shaded area with hammocks and free wifi. Every night there's some sort of social event in the bar so this is also a good hostel for solo travellers. We did the "blind dinner" and it was a lot of fun and a good way to get into conversation with other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKstudent88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

One of the best I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed in dozens of hostels).
The staff is really friendly and helpful.
Tidy rooms with nice interior&surroundings.
I stayed at a private room and it was the best deal in the island.
The kitchen is well equipped so you can cook your own meals easily.
The beach is close and roof terraces are awesome. I wish I could have stayed longer.
Don't look any further, you'll love it here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiju_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

First of all, the place looks amazing! You feel like a little kid in a very designed playground... The staff is friendly, the rooms have space, great shower and the beds are very comfy. No breakfast, but a great kitchen. When I stayed we had a quiz game in the evening which was a lot of fun. Great hostel!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank sharon1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights and fell in love with the hostel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hammock chairs are really comfy, the kitchen is huge and the dorm beds are comfortable. There's a bar connected to the hostel, but I wouldn't really classify it as a party hostel - you can just relax if you want to.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range: £17 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribu Hostel was recently opened and there is everything you will need for a relaxing and chill out stay, with some jam session, movie nights, courses and much more going on. There are different types of rooms: 10, 6, 4 beds spacious dorms and private rooms. All of them have private bathroom and a balcony. All of you are going to have a cosy place where to cook your food and to enjoy your meal on a wooden spacious balcony onto the garden. Numerous hammocks in the garden are gonna be perfect to try the so-famous Mexican “siesta”. You can enjoy a roof top terrace where you'll see sunsets, stars and a nice view of the island. Cinema, book exchange, free maps, internet, Jam session in the bar, kite surf lessons, discounts for long stay, : are some of the services that you'll find at Tribu. We want our travellers to feel as a part of a big “Tribe”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing